We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family vacation---expensive hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is "mostly" clean, and well located close to D.C. as well as Arlington. When I say "mostly" I mean that the hotel is up to date and modern, but could use a little more attention to detail in the housekeeping department. Case in point(s): Gave a family of four only 2 towels when replacing 4; pile of tic tacs on floor next to vending area (and subsequent hallway) have been there for over 36 hours now. NO WAY they could have been missed by the staff unless they were blind. Issue brought to the attention of the front desk moments ago............we'll see if area is cleaned up by tomorrow morning.
Hotels in D.C. are pricey by the way. Expect to pay anywhere from 50-60% more than you would in another metro area for a hotel. An example would be about $109 for a comperable Holiday Inn Express in the metro Atlanta area. Here around D.C. expect $150+ for the same hotel. Price of doing business I guess.?.
No pool at this hotel. You have to go next door to their sister hotel (Staybridge Suites) and use their pool. This hotel does have a hot tub though!

Room Tip: No real trick to this. Hotel is laid out pretty much standard-----elevators in the middle---rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

We do apologize for your experience at our hotel. We strive to met and exceed our guests goal and if we fall in some categories we meet and discuss ways to make it better. We have met and dicussed your review, and deeply apologize for the lack of effort. We do hope that if you return to Alexandria we can make it right. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Have a wonderful summer.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 396 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. When we arrived, this is what we found; long hairs all over the bedding, food stuck to the pillow on our sofa and rusty mold in the shower. Pretty gross. I walked over to the vending area to get a snack. As soon as I walked in, I noticed a pile of either white pills or Tic-Tacs all over the floor next to the soda machine. Very odd. I put money in the vending machine and couldn't get my item out because the door was jammed. A guy from the front desk happened to be walking down our floor. I asked him if he could help me out with the vending machine. He couldn't get the door unjammed. Then, I noticed a broken hanger laying on the floor next to the side of the vending machine. Evidently someone had broken it with that. The point of this little story is to acknowledge that from Friday night until we left on Sunday, the pills/mints and broken hanger remained on the floor in the vending area. We even watched a member of housekeeping walk in there and walk out, not even giving it a second thought. Crazy. Lack of cleanliness aside, the worst part of this stay was the air conditioning system. It was bananas. We live in NYC next to the Lincoln Tunnel. We are used to noise. This, however, was absolutely ridiculous. It was as if a leaf blower was being used next to the bed. We tried to sleep without the air on, but it got stuffy in the room very fast. On the plus side, the hotel was in a good location for us, the room was very big and the rate was good. They really need to clean the place up though and do something about the a/c noise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyH861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest

We apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We all discussed this tic-tac issue as a team. We all have committed to pay attention to detail and now have a lobby scout that will monitor the eintire hotel each shift so this situation will not occur again. We hope that you will give us another try to make it right. We apologize again and hope to see you back. Have a wonderful day.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay very much a great new hotel with a good breakfast and very clean rooms

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nv4i73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I had to make travel arrangements for several out of town baby shower guests, Antwane and David were very helpful, patience, knowledgable, and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Alexandria-Fort Belvoir for 30 days and I must say that I got the best front desk service in the last 10 years. Teresa and Phill were absolutely outstanding. Their professionalism along with their great attitude made me feel like being home. The older guy that drove the van on the weekends was also outstanding, friendly and always ready to help.
Tony

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while showing our fourteen year old grandson the sights of Washington. We chose the Alexandrai location as a cheaper alternative to staying in DC. We got a great rate thru one of the big name booking companies($95/night). This property offers free shuttle service to the metro and makes gettting in and out of DC painless. The desk staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and served a typical HIE breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gridley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria-Fort Belvoir the last weekend in March. We were in town for a wedding, and to see the monuments in DC. We chose this hotel for its location, based on reviews on trip advisor, and the reasonable price. We were not disappointed. Upon arrival, we were checked in with ease, and offered bottled water because we are Priority Club members. Usually we ask for the highest floor available, but the man at the front desk told us that there was a school group there that night and they were taking up the top floor. He wanted to make sure that we were as far away from them as possible! Good call!
The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean as well, just as expected. The large flat screen TV is always a plus when you stay at a Holiday Inn Express.
The complimentary breakfast had more of a selection than previous HIE's where we have stayed. The only complaints about the breakfast were the watered-down juices, and the sausage patty (it did not taste good!)
One night we called the front desk to request that they call us a cab. When the cab was a few minutes late, the man at the front desk apologized and seemed genuinely concerned. The man at the front desk was very helpful during the entirety of our stay and is one of the main reasons that we would consider staying there again.
Other than the questionable motel next door, I wasn't concerned about the neighborhood. I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CycloneMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Belvoir Alexandria South
4.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $104 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing