We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret Airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret Airport hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel isn't necessarily advertised as an airport hotel serving Reagan National Airport (DCA), however its the best deal if you plan on staying before/after you fly. Other airport hotels offer free shuttle services to/from the airport, but they fail to let you know up front they charge anywhere from $15-20 a day for parking. Parking at the airport can run you over $20 a day. After quite a bit of research, my boyfriend and I found out that this hotel offers free parking - you don't even have to give them your license plate number or get a parking window sticker. They do NOT have a free shuttle however, they will arrange to have a taxi-cab pick you up to drive you to the airport. The taxi will run you $20-25 bucks each way, but this is significantly less than if you were staying at an airport hotel that charges just that PER DAY for parking. If you are away for a week, you will spend $100+ in parking at an airport hotel or the airport, but only $50 here. The cab ride is 15 minutes max. Plus this hotel is very quiet and not crowded, and your car will be very safe compared to the airport parking lot, or a busier airport hotel. There is a Mariott next door that has the same deal, free parking and you get a taxi to DCA. Also something to keep in mind, if you are trying to stay on points or rewards, this hotel is only 15,000 whereas closer Priority Club hotels that are "airport" are much more - and you pay more for parking.

The check-in/out process was excellent, and the room is top notch. Significantly more room than the Mariott next door, and much more luxurious. Also, if you are an elite Priority club member, checkin is a breeze because they already have your room keys made up and have free water waiting for you. When we checked in, we let them know we were traveling to the airport early the next morning, and went ahead and called to arrange a taxi for us. The Mariott next door will arrange it for you also, however they wait until the morning of the flight to call the taxi, whereas the Holiday sets it up in advance (much less wait time).

Only negative thing I have to say is the outlets built into the lamps don't work when the light switch is off, so if you are trying to charge your phone overnight, plug it into the outlet in the bathroom or next to the microwave. We found this out the hard way, and woke up with dead phones.

Room Tip: King Bed preference gets you much more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for placing such a wonderful review. We are a year old hotel and now people are finding us from the AIrport. We value your input and really appreciate you placing such nice comments. We hope that the next time you are in Alexandria, we will be your hotel of choice.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    119
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
166
72
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Danette, Phill, Antwon, David, Edrick, and Chandu were all fabulous. I could not ask for nicer people and better service. The facility is well kept and everyone went out of their way to ascertain a pleasant stay for my family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very nice hotel with friendly staff, especially Danette at the front desk, who all ensured that we were accommodated well. We were pleasantly surprised. The complimentary breakfast was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel. Quiet and allowed us to enjoy a restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you so much for placing this nice review.

Please let us know that next time you are in Alexandria.


Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in a king feature suite with a whirlpool tub--a great way to relax after a long drive! The suite was spacious and very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Instead of having to leave the hotel when we got hungry in the evening, we were able to buy snacks in the little shop next to the front desk and had a great chat with Danette. She's a hoot! The complimentary breakfast was a bit disappointing. The scrambled eggs were pretty flavorless and the bacon tasted strange, but the cinnamon bun was outstanding. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSD_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We want to personally thank you for taking time to write a nice review about the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Alexandria.



Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived late friday night and were well received by Edric at the front desk. He allowed us to inspect 2 rooms before settling in, gave us extra room keys with no problems and at 2AM he didn't hesitate to open up the breakfast pantry and give me 2 containers of milk for my son. Even giving me the choice of whole or skim!! It's the little details that make the difference.

The next day we took the shuttle to the train station to DC for the day. Getting caught up, we realized at 7:40 we had 20 minutes to take a 30 minute trip back before the shuttle service cut out at 8. When i called the desk i was told it would be no problem, the driver would wait. But then the trains screwed up and all said and done we got back to the metro station at 8:45...........and there was the driver waiting for us, stepstool and all. wow. just wow.

We left the next day and were told we could come back later in the day, leave our car in their lot and use the shuttle to and from DC, even after we checked out!! who offers that?? Even the worker cleaning up let me in the closet to fill up a bowl of cereal after breakfast was OVER for 20 minutes and everything had been put away. I've been turned away at other places before 20 min BEFORE breakfast is over. Absolutely fantastic customer service all around.

The only negative was that the pancake machine wasn't working either day and just kept saying to replace the bag..... I was really looking forward to pancakes or waffles..... but the cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon and even biscuits with gravy made up for it...

Room Tip: Bottom floor actually has easier access to the rear parking lot which coincidentally has more/closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS_GS_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to write this informative review. I apologize for the pancake machine not working. We have it back up and running as of today. I'm glad to hear that Edric went the extra mile by opening the kitchen to provide milk. Please let us know if you are back in our area so we can make a reservation for you.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We recently went on vacation to Myrtle Beach, and on our way back home to Montreal, we visited the Washington DC area. We had arrived in town much later than expected, and were trying to find a nice, clean, economical hotel for the night. The hotel we had just lived in for 2 weeks was nice and we wanted to keep the good feelings going.

Our original plan was to only stay the night, and then leave the next day first thing in the morning.

After visiting a couple of hotels that were not very clean, we drove by the Holiday Inn Express on Richmond highway. We had stayed in some Holiday Inns many years ago, and those were not as nice as we would have wanted.

However, it was late, we were tired, and figured we would take a chance as the outside of the hotel was exceptionally well groomed and fresh.

The young gentleman at the front desk greeted us with a welcoming smile, and found us a room. There was a large convention in town, and we got hte last room available. After spending 2 weeks in a resort town, where the hotel staff are "supposed" to cater to their guests, it was quite a refreshing change to meet Phil, with his sparkling personality, and great attitude. He made us feel at home, and gave us a lot of great ideas to visit the city the next day (not originally part of our plan). Phil, gave us suggestions on bus tours, using the metro to get into DC, offered us the hotel's shuttle service, and even offered to keep our luggage during the day while we visited. Although we really wanted to stay another night, there was simply no rooms available. Phil even tried to find us a room at their sister hotel, but with no luck. He really went the extra mile, and has completely changed our view of the Holiday Inn Express hotels……..so much so, that for the next three nights, when staying in hotels, we specifically looked for only Holiday Inns or Crowne Plazas.

The hotel itself was absolutely stunning….probably one of the nicest rooms we have stayed at in years. My wife loved the gym (with those cool aerobic machines with the TV sets built in). Our bed was so comfortable, we just went mattress shopping to try to get the same feeling, and have decided to remodel our bedroom after the room we stayed in. Quite an impact, I must say.

Breakfast was much better than we expected, especially the scrambled eggs….so fluffy.

All in all, our stay at this hotel FAR EXCEEDED any expectations we ever had, and really helped make our vacation that much more enjoyable.

Thanks again for the hospitality……thanks again to Phil for making a big difference for our family…..and we will come back and see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_from_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
John,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive everday to exceed our guests expectations. To actually see this in writing puts a smile on all of our faces. Glad to hear you enjoyed our eggs and the fitness room. We are a fairly new hotel so to hear that the condition is brand new makes our housekeeping staff feel very special. We hope that when you travel to DC again you will select our hotel. Keep in touch.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is the newest property within the area and has always been affordable and available. The front desk staff is very professional and I really enjoy when Danette isworking, her smiles are very welcomed after a hard travel day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to post a great review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#16 of 54 in Alexandria
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing