We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very clean, great breakfast, helpful staff, comfy beds and pillows, easy to get to Metro with parking for cars, right around the corner from George Washington's Distillery---a very interesting place to visit! (only complaint is the air conditioner cycles off and on constantly and is very noisy)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Betty D from St. Louis,

Thank you for your feed back about our property, We are glad that you had a positive experience at our hotel. I was also glad to see tha you were able to visit George Washington's Gristmill. We hope that you will be back soon to visit more of Historic Mt. Vernon don't forget fall is just right around the corner and the and the colors of the season is something not to be missed. Intil we see you again I hope you have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 935 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

the hotel forgot what it promised to do when I booked the reservation with regard to comps and or upgrades, don't promise what you can't deliver. When gifts went missing from the brides room all we got was a wall of denial and our employee's don't steal. SAhamme on you Hampton

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies. Any time guests leave our hotel and are not 100% satisfied, we haven’t lived up to the expectations we put forward for ourselves. Our goal is to make your life easier, especially when planning for a special occasion like a wedding, and clearly we were not successful. In terms of the upgrades you were promised, I will personally look into where the breakdown in communication happened so we can improve for the future. In regards to the lost items, please know that we take your feedback very seriously. We did have some items left behind in the rooms, which were recorded in our lost and found and picked up at the front desk. Please contact me directly if there are any additional concerns or questions regarding this issue. Again, I want to personally apologize for the problems you experienced and thank you for sharing your feedback so we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Positives: Very helpful front desk, good customer service, clean rooms. Negatives: extremely noisy air conditioning unit, with only on/off selection; off the beaten path in undesirable neighborhood; overpriced -----all things considered.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and family friendly. Close to Mount Vernon. The breakfast was a great way to start our day.The employee in the breakfast area was amazing. She was very efficient and kind to the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Alan B,

I want to thank you so much for loving our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and was shared with all of our staff members. We look forward to having you visit us again real soon.


Sincerely,


Tracey Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Hampton Inn & Suites in Alexandria, VA is an excellent hotel. The rooms are wonderful, clean, and comfortable. The staff members were wonderful, checking in and out was fast and easy. The continental breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi Cheryl V,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review telling us about your positive experience while you were on business travel at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to taking care of your future business trip needs when you come back to the VA/DC area. Again, thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The only thing that prevented a 4 was that the A.C. wasn't working properly: seemed to be thermostat kept it COLD (better than not blowing cold at all!). We were only here one night, so I reported it in the morning and it sounded like they would get right on it, but of course too late for us after sleep was interrupted trying to get the temp right. Also seemed somewhat high priced for a Hampton. We generally are very happy with Hilton properties and choose them first if one is in an area, but sorry to say for us this was a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Seems to be the luck of the draw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougiefresh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide you with a quiet guestroom while you were here for the one night. We strive to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us and I am sorry that we failed you. We have notified the maintenance team of the HVAC issues and have corrected the problem.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Tracey Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Room was comfy and hotel is well-kept. Good variety for complimentary breakfast selection. Some staff were helpful. However, we reported that phones in our room were not working and they were not repaired during our 3 night stay.
Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Also, close to hospital for visitors.

Room Tip: Pool is on second floor so third floor was more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_beez_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear the_beez_md,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I was so glad you enjoyed your stay and your found a good variety on our complimentary breakfast, you found the rooms comfy and well kept and we are close to Mt. Vernon Hospital. Please let us know when you visit us again if you encounter the challenge with the phone as you mentioned. Myself and the entire staff are here to assist you. We all look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.


Sincerely,


Tracey Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
6.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
7.3 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Hwy, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $99 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites(R) Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate, the main gate of Fort Belvoir Military base, historic Old Town Alexandria, and downtown Washington, D.C.. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing supervised indoor pool (limited pool hours), 24-hour business center, meeting space, and a complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing