We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel near Fort Belvoir this is literally about 5 minutes away. Rooms are great the only thing I did not like about it is the shower since you can't really regulate if temperature, its either too cold or too hot. Other than that the hotel is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    198
    68
    23
    14
See reviews for
338
139
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were here for a family member military promotion who lived at Fort Belvoir. This was a great hotel in close proximity to them. Employees were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. Stay was very relaxing and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great location for Fort Belvoir families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calera, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the absolute best Hotel I have stayed in a while. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great location and easy drive to Metro. Rooms were clean and updated and the breakfast was great and very well served. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

My step mom was staying here for business for a few weeks so we came down and stayed a night with her in this hotel. The lobby is modern but a nice modern. Not too sleek, but still modernly elegant. The halls are very clean, new like the hotel. The rooms are spacious for a place closer to a big city. The bedspread is so comfortable and there are many extras in the room. Nice TVs. They do provide a microwave and a fridge. The bathroom is very nice- it made me feel like I was at home. There's a good amount of space in it as well. Something that is greatly appreciated is the lighting. There are lamps next to the bed, one in the entrance of the room, one on the wall next to the TV, and one on the desk. The pool area and fittness center were like any other hotel, but they were again very clean. The breakfast eating area was very nice. A wonderful continental breakfast. Eggs, oatmeal, home fries or sausage, cereal, coffee, milk, juice, waffles, muffins, danishes, bagels, and more. The staff that work breakfast are overjoyed to have guests stay there. The woman working that day, Georgina, is a spanish speaker. I asked her what kind of danishes they were and she responded in spanish. I do look a little mexican, so i didnt mind. I speak spanish as well. So she asked me if i wanted a strawberry danish and i said i guess. She automatically went and got me two fresh strawberry danishes. It was such a kind gesture. When we were finished I asked her, in Spanish, about her job and everything. She said she loves her job and how she can be so close to Washington and how it is a really beautiful city. Ms. Georgina should be thanked for everything she does. The staff at Hampton Inn and Suites is so kind and outgoing. Excellent hotel. Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were pleasantly suprised at the size of our suite - #342. Althought it's a bit far from the elevators, the room was very accomodating for 2 adults and 4 teens. The beds were very comfortable and the linens crisp.This room is also above the pool. We took the stairs to the floor below to get to the pool and to exit to the parking lot. The room and the hotel were very clean. The staff is very welcoming and accomodating - offering suggestions to local attractions and acitivities. The breakfast area was extremely clean and under constant supervision by an attendant. The food options were plentiful and tasty. We are planning to return in a couple of months.

Room Tip: Room #342 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_in_Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I was here for 4 weeks due to work. The hotel is pretty much like most Hampton Inns I've stayed at, although they don't keep the breakfast area open for snacks throughout the day. The room lighting is sufficient for lounging but not for working. The gym is nice. I didn't use the pool. The area around the hotel on Rt 1 is a bit sketchy, so I'd recommend going to Old Town Alexandria, Kingstown, or Potomac Mills for dinner, shopping, and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ng0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed over Thanksgiving weekend, and we enjoyed this hotel. The room was really nice! We had one of the king rooms in the middle of the hall that had a sofa bed. It had plenty of room! We also liked how the vanity area is outside of the room with the tub and toilet. My only criticisms of the room were the VERY thin walls (we could hear the people next door cough!), and the pillows. Hampton seems to have gone to the non-fluffy, feather-type pillows, and we just hate them!

Breakfast was good, and the staff kept the food replenished. Coffee was always very hot! The room was also large enough to accommodate a crowd.

Room Tip: The king rooms in the middle of each floor are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Address: 8843 Richmond Hwy, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites(R) Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate, the main gate of Fort Belvoir Military base, historic Old Town Alexandria, and downtown Washington, D.C.. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing supervised indoor pool (limited pool hours), 24-hour business center, meeting space, and a complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing