We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a room with two queen beds. The room was clean, just a little bit on the small side - it would probably have been a bit of a tight squeeze for more than two people. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Enjoyed the breakfast - regular selection of hot and cold food but all nice and fresh. The Manager and ktchen staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were able to drive to DC and back without any problems.
Checked in was swift and painless. Sorry, forgot her name, but lady who checked us in was super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaCS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn and Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir. I’m sorry nobody has responded to your review until now. The new team in place takes great pride in providing great service.
If you are ever in Alexandria, VA. Please let me know. I would like to make your next visit outstanding. 703-619-7026.
Sincerely,
Jeremy R. Conroy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    220
    71
    23
    15
See reviews for
368
163
22
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

There is no hot tub in the pool area and the swimming pool was too cold for us to enjoy. Management of the pool is outsourced to a third party, and the employee present at the pool (lifeguard) stated that although guests have complained about the cold pool for a month, nothing is done. Children shivering with blue lips and pool empty of any guests as a result. Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olive52346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of our pool. We will work with the 3rd party in attempts to get this corrected on a permanent basis. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Seeking a safe haven from Hurricane Sandy, we stayed at the Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon in Alexandria, VA. As soon as we walked into their lobby, we were warmly greeted by several staff members. Checking in was easy and friendly. We were invited to participate in their pumpkin carving. A hot meal (lasagna, potato salad, sandwiches, Halloween cookies, etc) was provided, as well as, large pumpkins and carving tools. Everyone was having fun. You couldn't tell there was a dangerous storm outside! Our room was large and very clean. We got a good night's sleep and no worries about the storm. In the morning, a warm breakfast with happy hotel guests, reinforced our idea that we made the right selection in seeking refuge during this dangerous storm. Kudos to the hotel staff who made every effort (successfully!) to make us feel safe and happy!!

Room Tip: We requested a suite with a king bed and sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmas2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn and Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir. I’m sorry nobody has responded to your review until now. The new team in place takes great pride in providing great service.
If you are ever in Alexandria, VA. Please let me know. I would like to make your next visit outstanding. 703-619-7026.
Sincerely,
Jeremy R. Conroy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This nice hotel, I'm sorry to say, has bed bugs. My room and bedding looking nice and clean. However, when I woke up at 2:30 am to use the bathroom I noticed about 10 reddish-brown bugs of various sizes in between the sheets and under my pillow. I reported the problem to the manager in the morning when I checked out. We both went into the room so I could show him the bugs and he said they looked like bed bugs and would contact the exterminator. Other than that, the hotel and staff were fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeRByrd, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so we could take immediate action to resolve the problem. You have our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences incurred. Steritech, our licensed exterminator, resolved the problem you encountered shortly after it was reported.

Once you notified us of the issue we immediately closed your room and the rooms on either side, below, and above your room. Steritech then inspected the aforementioned rooms and found evidence of pests in only the one room; the one in which you stayed. Next, the exterminator treated the room with a chemical agent. After that, all the furnishings in the room were heated to nearly 130 degrees for several hours to ensure a 100% mortality rate.

Unfortunately, these pests occasionally hitchhike in the luggage of domestic or international travelers and find their way into even the nicest hotels. Once again; you have our sincerest apologies. On your next visit to the area; please, consider staying with us again so we may show you how much you mean to us. Complete guest satisfaction is our highest priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a wedding, as did my daughter and her SO. The rooms were average. We had a small plumbing problem, but my daughter's failed completely. There were indicators that the room cleaning between guests was not a thorough as it could be. Several of us had problems reserving rooms at the block rate as the sales staff had not well communicated with the front desk. The breakfast scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever had. Was it all bad? No, the hotel is serviceable, but management needs to start paying attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. We want you to know that we have addressed both our housekeeping and maintenance teams in regards to your stay. We have also looked into the reason you had difficulty making your room reservations and found that it was an online booking and the rooms were set to be made by the original contact via a rooming list. Once we were notified of the situation our sales team took over the booking and made sure that the reservation were secured at the property level. We sincerely apologize again and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This stay was for a standard room. Cost was below Government per diem. Location is very close to Fort Belvoir and Mount Vernon. Also provide access to the George Washington Parkway for a stress free drive to Old Town Alexander. Not too far from Metro (parking required).

Standard hotel room. Refrigerator and microwave provided. Good walk in dual head shower. Good size bathroom. Free breakfast includes many choices including waffles, oatmeal, cereal fruit, etc.

To go south on Route 1 or to Mount Vernon a U-turn is required.

I had difficulty with the bathroom light (some kind of a touch sensitive device) but that may have been me.

I would stay here again..

Room Tip: I stayed in a low number room 101, 201, etc and had no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn and Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir. I’m sorry nobody has responded to your review until now. The new team in place takes great pride in providing great service.
If you are ever in Alexandria, VA. Please let me know. I would like to make your next visit outstanding. 703-619-7026.
Sincerely,
Jeremy R. Conroy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
307 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The motel was clean, well maintained and smelled good. The staff was helpful and friendly. It's easy to find, but depending on the direction you're going and traffic, it could be difficult to get into. Our room was large and clean. The highlight of the room was the large work table that was on wheels and pulled out from under a narrow credenza. (We used it as a table to eat sandwiches on.) There was a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker, but we had to turn off the refrigerator due to a loud whining noise. The AC was also loud and kept turning off an on and we could hear people in the hallway. The beds were comfortable, but they creaked when we turned over. There were 35+ TV channels. The bath was clean. It was large and had a high sink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn and Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir. I’m sorry nobody has responded to your review until now. The new team in place takes great pride in providing great service.
If you are ever in Alexandria, VA. Please let me know. I would like to make your next visit outstanding. 703-619-7026.
Sincerely,
Jeremy R. Conroy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Address: 8843 Richmond Hwy, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites(R) Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate, the main gate of Fort Belvoir Military base, historic Old Town Alexandria, and downtown Washington, D.C.. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing supervised indoor pool (limited pool hours), 24-hour business center, meeting space, and a complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing