We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good not great..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good not great..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

looked for a nice place (marriott) that would accommodate 4 people, serve breakfast and be reasonably priced.. employees were very good.. friendly and helpful including front desk and shuttle driver. room was next to elevator and when i called the front desk to ask them to ask the family upstairs from us to ask their kids to stop jumping from bed to bed.. the phone ringing at the front desk sounded like it was ringing in my room. the next morning i could hear the people walking down the hall to get and eat their breakfast. asking for another room they gave us a couple of choices and moved us down the hall. this room had a bed that felt like it was carved out in the middle.. i was told that they'd 'take a look at the bed' but if they did. nothing was done. the bed the night before was perfect. this one was defective. tv was in a wierd place.. it gets shared with bedroom and office area.. best view of tv was from desk chair.. not a great view from either bed. plus you have no control of speed of fan. when the a/c went on the noise was loud and it blew on the bed closest to the window. wish fan could have lowered. furniture quality reminded me of ikea with almost no drawer space. .breakfast was very good. lines at waffle maker/ would have liked fruit salad instead of choice of apple or banana. closed promptly at 9:30.. coffee ran out/ eggs are ?? microwaved and kept in water in a chafing dish?

Room Tip: away from the elevator. front rooms don't hear road noise (hotel is kind of below the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always excited to hear that our guests are pleased with the staff and genuinely appreciate your compliments. Spring Hill Suites values each guest and any concerns they may have as it allows the entire staff the opportunity to enhance the quality of service we offer. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and are currently in the process of making improvements in all of these areas. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    129
    29
    17
    3
See reviews for
197
61
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This particular hotel receives an excellent rating from our family. From the moment we arrived, everyone was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. It is hard to find great customer service and they had it here. Tori and Estela at the front desk provided service with a smile and did anything they could to help with our stay, it was done. David and Fred also did the same by making sure we ate at the right restaurants, used the correct Metro line to get back and forth into DC, and simply some good conversation whenever they saw my family. So ask for Tori, Estela, Fred, and David....They will answer any questions you may have to enjoy your stay!! The rooms were great...spacious, clean, and can not mention spacious enough...especially when you have a family of four. The gym was good enough for working out while traveling, they have dumbbells that go up to 50lbs, two very good tread mills, one elliptical, and two stationary bikes. The indoor pool was clean and adequate, I did not use the whirlpool only because we chose to utilize the pool. We would definitely stay here again simply because of the staff mentioned above.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and the place was very, very, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianS718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern decor suites and complimentary amenities. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is always eager to assist any guest in anyway they can and we all appreciate your compliments. It is always exciting to find that are guests enjoyed their stay and would visit with us again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on family trip to Washington DC. Despite being first given a room that had not yet been cleaned, we had a pleasant stay. Large room, free transportation to the Metro, good varied breakfast that appealed to children and adults. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEHfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our suites and amenities and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival. We are currently in the process of making improvements to enhance the quality of service we offer to each guest. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room (Studio, 2 Queen, Sofa-bed) was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a divider between the sitting area and the beds. There were five fluffy pillows on each bed. The sitting area had a fridge, coffee maker with one reg and one decaf packet, and a microwave.

There are snacks, wine, soda and beer available for purchase in the lobby.

The continental breakfast was fine with bacon, eggs, and oatmeal as the hot items. We hit breakfast during the last hour peak and there were only a few scraps of bacon bits left when we were at the counter. The eggs were scrambled and had been cooked into round shapes, apparently cooked in a cup-shaped device. Everyone loved the oatmeal.

Our only problem was with the thin walls, being able to hear conversations in the next room. This may be a problem for any light sleeper, as it was for one in our party.

For the price this hotel is an excellent choice. But the thin walls may have us staying elsewhere when in town the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeInPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feeback. Our modern decor, complimentary amenities and convenient location are just some of the perks we have to offer and are pleased that were able to enjoy a few. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are currently in the process of making improvements. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fred, one of the drivers of a van to transport guest to and from the Metro, was always on time to take and pick us up. He opened the doors, helped us with suitcases, really helpful. Fred gave us information about the area, how and where to purchase the Metro Pass-to make traveling around DC with out needing a car. It was great!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeaB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you in anything you may have needed and we take great pride in the lengths reached to provide our guests with the accomodations they desire. With the improvements we're in the process of making, the entire staff is eager to provide each guest with an enhanced quality of service throughout each visit. We hope to see you again soon so that you may enjoy another memorable experience with Spring Hill Suites. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here 3/21 - 3/24. Convenient to the Metro station. Rooms, halls, reception area were all spotless. Free breakfast was always well stocked and clean. Front desk was always friendly and helpful. We will probably come back to DC again soon and this will be the place we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are excited to learn that you will be staying with us again in the future. Thank you for all of your kind words in relation to our convenient location, modern decor, and complimentary amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early evening after long day of driving. Room had air purifier running and window opened. Smelled like someone had smoked in the room. This was disappointing. Other than that, room was clean, bathroom showing age but clean and pool was fine. Breakfast was okay too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We had no intentions of renting the room you stayed in that evening but because you were sent from the courtyard we tryed to do our best to accommodate you as it was our last room available that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Address: 6065 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing