We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Visiting DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here 3/21 - 3/24. Convenient to the Metro station. Rooms, halls, reception area were all spotless. Free breakfast was always well stocked and clean. Front desk was always friendly and helpful. We will probably come back to DC again soon and this will be the place we will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are excited to learn that you will be staying with us again in the future. Thank you for all of your kind words in relation to our convenient location, modern decor, and complimentary amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early evening after long day of driving. Room had air purifier running and window opened. Smelled like someone had smoked in the room. This was disappointing. Other than that, room was clean, bathroom showing age but clean and pool was fine. Breakfast was okay too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We had no intentions of renting the room you stayed in that evening but because you were sent from the courtyard we tryed to do our best to accommodate you as it was our last room available that evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just want to say how nice the hotel was. It was remarkably clean and wonderful staff. Estela, Audrey, and Tori were especially wonderful to us they made us feel over comfortable. The beds are to die for and the rooms are wonderful. ne of the nicest hotels ive been in and will be going back to stay when im there. tommy and Debbie branagan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommybranagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are so pleased you ejoyed your stay. We always stirive to be as hospitable as can be and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wow. Huge. Space galore. Fridge. Microwave. Toilet/shower separate from sink. Only one TV!? It did swivel. Was adequate for a standard room, but not this oversized room. Would hace expected two set ups. Room 111 too close to pool - hallway smells of chlorine but did not penetrate to room. Check-in clerk seemed nervous and overwhelmed. First set of keys did not work, had to go back to lobby. Breakfast was typical. Coffee was decent. Probably would return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We were happy to hear you loved our suties and hope to see you again. also we would like to apologize for the strong chlorine smell this is something we will definitely look into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great choice for families who want to experience Washington DC without paying a big price. The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hot and plentiful with a variety of choices. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to the metro station. Our driver's were prompt and very informative. We were fortunate to have Fred as our driver. He was courteous and you can tell he enjoys his job. Overall, I can't complain about anything about our experience at this Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a pleasent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We waited almost too late to book our spring break trip so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have found this hotel. Free Internet and breakfast make this a huge draw for someone like me traveling with kids. The room was plenty big for me and my two kids, and having the fridge and microwave was nice so we could have drinks and snacks without going downstairs and paying the high prices in the snack shop. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and grocery stores. Having a free shuttle to the metro was nice too, and the driver was always prompt and courteous. The front desk staff was superb, extremely friendly and professional. Free guest laundry was a huge bonus! Our room faced Richmond Highway and I suppose the traffic could get loud, but we always travel with a white noise machine so the noise was never an issue.

A couple of drawbacks (though these would not keep me from staying here again):

* the pool is small and opens at 5:00 pm during the week. This is probably fine due to the fact that most folks are out touring the city, but it would be nice to have the pool available on a rainy morning. There were two lifeguards- one allowed the kids to stick their feet in the hot tub, the other one didn't and was extremely rude about it. I don't know why kids aren't allowed in the hot tub anyway but this guy was awful about it.
* my key never worked in the exterior doors, even after being rekeyed any number of times. Not a huge deal but sort of inconvenient when you're parked around back.

All-in-all, a wonderful stay at a wonderful property. We're already looking ahead to another stay this summer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are so glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to you coming to stay with us this summer. Also thank you for the time you took to send us a rewiew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great choice for families who want to visit Washington DC. This hotel is at the end of the Yellow Metro line, with a free shuttle service operating during the day until around 9 pm. Worked great for us. The Huntington Station is nearby and shuttle was always quick both ways. Trip to The Mall was about 45 minutes, which is not too bad. We would catch the subway usually just after 9:30 am to avoid the extra $1/trip peak time charge and get to our museum of choice around 10:30 am or so. For our 4 day visit, just paying for paper tickets for each trip worked out ok. For longer stays the 7 day pass might be an ok deal. In retrospect, the electronic card ticket probably would have saved us a few $'s ... if you are going to make more than 5 trips then this starts to save you some money. Overall the subway was fine but still lots of walking since there are limited subway options around The Mall.

In terms of the hotel, free parking, free internet and free breakfast were all big draws for us. As well, the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very good for us ... many options including hot items, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. Also an exercise room with treadmill, etc.

The rooms were very nice ... clean and well laid-out with 2 Queen sized beds.

The only minor drawback is a very small pool, but you can't get everything and that is the standard now for new hotels.

We really have no complaints. Staff were very nice, clean, new hotel, close to subway, etc.

For someone who does not want to deal with the stress of driving/parking/etc in Washington DC I think it is a very good option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
805 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $96 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who says you can't enjoy great style for an affordable price? The SpringHill Suites Alexandria delivers both - as well as a prime location just minutes from Old Town Alexandria. The staff at our all-suite Alexandria, Virginia hotel is dedicated to making your extended stay with us as restful as possible. Each suite includes ample space for working and relaxing, as well as a fridge and a microwave to satisfy your hunger pangs, night or day. We hope you'll still make time for our complimentary breakfast buffet and start your morning off right. Keep fit with a visit to our indoor pool, whirlpool (for guests 16 years+) and fitness center; stay connected with free wired and wireless Internet throughout the hotel, or make use of our onsite business center, next time you're in town. And with our free shuttle to the convenient Huntington Metro Center, you'll have no trouble exploring the many things to do and see in Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing