We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You could park your car in the room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“You could park your car in the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wow. Huge. Space galore. Fridge. Microwave. Toilet/shower separate from sink. Only one TV!? It did swivel. Was adequate for a standard room, but not this oversized room. Would hace expected two set ups. Room 111 too close to pool - hallway smells of chlorine but did not penetrate to room. Check-in clerk seemed nervous and overwhelmed. First set of keys did not work, had to go back to lobby. Breakfast was typical. Coffee was decent. Probably would return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We were happy to hear you loved our suties and hope to see you again. also we would like to apologize for the strong chlorine smell this is something we will definitely look into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    129
    29
    17
    3
See reviews for
197
61
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great choice for families who want to experience Washington DC without paying a big price. The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hot and plentiful with a variety of choices. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to the metro station. Our driver's were prompt and very informative. We were fortunate to have Fred as our driver. He was courteous and you can tell he enjoys his job. Overall, I can't complain about anything about our experience at this Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a pleasent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX Hook 'em Horns!
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We waited almost too late to book our spring break trip so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have found this hotel. Free Internet and breakfast make this a huge draw for someone like me traveling with kids. The room was plenty big for me and my two kids, and having the fridge and microwave was nice so we could have drinks and snacks without going downstairs and paying the high prices in the snack shop. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and grocery stores. Having a free shuttle to the metro was nice too, and the driver was always prompt and courteous. The front desk staff was superb, extremely friendly and professional. Free guest laundry was a huge bonus! Our room faced Richmond Highway and I suppose the traffic could get loud, but we always travel with a white noise machine so the noise was never an issue.

A couple of drawbacks (though these would not keep me from staying here again):

* the pool is small and opens at 5:00 pm during the week. This is probably fine due to the fact that most folks are out touring the city, but it would be nice to have the pool available on a rainy morning. There were two lifeguards- one allowed the kids to stick their feet in the hot tub, the other one didn't and was extremely rude about it. I don't know why kids aren't allowed in the hot tub anyway but this guy was awful about it.
* my key never worked in the exterior doors, even after being rekeyed any number of times. Not a huge deal but sort of inconvenient when you're parked around back.

All-in-all, a wonderful stay at a wonderful property. We're already looking ahead to another stay this summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to you coming to stay with us this summer. Also thank you for the time you took to send us a rewiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great choice for families who want to visit Washington DC. This hotel is at the end of the Yellow Metro line, with a free shuttle service operating during the day until around 9 pm. Worked great for us. The Huntington Station is nearby and shuttle was always quick both ways. Trip to The Mall was about 45 minutes, which is not too bad. We would catch the subway usually just after 9:30 am to avoid the extra $1/trip peak time charge and get to our museum of choice around 10:30 am or so. For our 4 day visit, just paying for paper tickets for each trip worked out ok. For longer stays the 7 day pass might be an ok deal. In retrospect, the electronic card ticket probably would have saved us a few $'s ... if you are going to make more than 5 trips then this starts to save you some money. Overall the subway was fine but still lots of walking since there are limited subway options around The Mall.

In terms of the hotel, free parking, free internet and free breakfast were all big draws for us. As well, the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very good for us ... many options including hot items, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. Also an exercise room with treadmill, etc.

The rooms were very nice ... clean and well laid-out with 2 Queen sized beds.

The only minor drawback is a very small pool, but you can't get everything and that is the standard now for new hotels.

We really have no complaints. Staff were very nice, clean, new hotel, close to subway, etc.

For someone who does not want to deal with the stress of driving/parking/etc in Washington DC I think it is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

very nice, centrally located property on Richmond Hwy - close to everything. all suite rooms, very large and accomodating. They have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink area in the room. great separate desk workspace. The only drawback is there are only 2 teeny drawers if you have clothes that do not get hung, it makes it a little cramped. Metro station right across the street for quick trip into DC. adequate meeting rooms. The breakfast is your standard continental bar - bagels, cereal, waffle making, muffins. coffee is good - all free with stay. Rooms are reasonably priced for the area, one of the best properties if you need to be in the city but don't want the DC prices. Staff is very gracious, service is excellent overall. the indoor pool and exercise room are adequate. Free wifi is a bonus - and they have hardwire connections in room as well, which is good for travelers whose companies will not grant them wifi access on their secure computers. Overall, would def recommend this property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay . We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The staff here were all very hospitable, and anxious to be of help--we had help with dining suggestions and directions, Metro to the city, being sure we were in a quiet area of the property since they had a high school group in house, etc. Everyone seemed anxious to make you happy. The shuttle to the Metro was very prompt and helpful. Our room was very clean and nice, and the beds great. I would LOVE to have the same shower head here at home--it was so soft and yet plenty of pressure. The free breakfast was great--plenty of choices. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for the time you took to write this review we always try to be as hositable as can be and we are glad to know it made a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel in Old Town Alexandria. We stayed her for a conference and had a great stay. Staff was great and gave us lots of options for food and entertainment. The hotel is a bit hard to find without a GPS but there's plenty of parking and a parking garage. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was great with good options and plenty of places to sit. The rooms are very nice and spacious. Great, modern and sleek decor. I like that the toilet is separate from the sink and shower. All for under $90! You're right down the street (about 3 min drive) from restaurants, movie theatre and the I-95 connector. Also, they have a shuttle that will take you there if you don't drive; and they'll take you to the nearest metro train station. Great choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your time durring your conference hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Address: 6065 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing