We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Washington. The hotel is on a main road in Alexandria but backs onto woods.It's minutes away from the Old Town and the metro station to take you into the heart of DC.We had a room at the back and it was very quiet but we had family staying at the front and they had no comnplaints re noise. The rooms are modern, very clean, spacious and have everything you need. It's a mini suite with an opaque glass partition where the desk is located. There's a comfy sofa/chaise longue and kitchenette with fridge,sink, microwave and coffee maker. Bed was very comfy, bathroom clean and funtional. Great morror over the washbasin! The hotel gives a complimentary hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, toast,pastries, cereal etc. There's a gym, small pool and jacuzzi and my only minor gripes are related to that. No showers/changing room at the pool and pool only open evenings at weekdays and from 10am weekends which meant I couldn't have my early morning swim before breakfast. There's small selection of food and drink for sale by reception and it was very reasonable priced. Staff were efficient,friendly and helpful. This is agreat place to stay if visiting DC/Alexandria and Mt. Vernin is 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the staff, modern decor, convenient location, and amenities throughout your stay. We appreciate all of your compliments. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is dedicated to providing quality service to each guest and we would like to aplogize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again soon. We're looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    134
    31
    18
    4
See reviews for
205
62
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was very clean and everything seemed new. The free breakfast was wonderful, and the kitchenette in the room was a nice touch. If you arrive at this hotel after 4PM, there is no parking in the front. The majority of the parking for this hotel is at the rear of the building, down a hill, with an expanse of dark woods surrounding it. As a female, I was NOT comfortable parking down there, and one night I actually sat in my car in the loading area at the front of the hotel until someone parked up front left. The side exit door outside my room was full of spiders. My hotel room stank from the down pillows on the bed, and when I complained of this, I was told by the rude front desk attendant that there should be foam pillows on the bed. Whoever told him that was mistaken, they were all down pillows. The thermostat was just inside the door, and the AC unit was in front of the window on the opposite side of the room. The distance caused it to turn on and off frequently. The unit itself was very loud, and at night it woke me up each time it turned on. The hotels website, and even documentation in the room states that complimentary coffee is available throughout the day into the evening. There was no coffee, and the front desk attendant told me that they dont do that anymore. They wanted $6 for a Starbucks coffee from the little snack area at the front desk (HA!) The coffee maker in the room was junk, and the cups that fit in it are really small. The hotel was nice in appearance, but all the little irksome things combined made for a bad experience for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VACalcSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I regret that your stay with us was not a problem-free one. After reviewing your comments, I am disappointed to find so many issues with your past stay that could have been avoided. Moving forward, I have coordinated with my front desk staff and housekeeping supervisor on the issue of the pillows in the room, so that they will be no mistake as to the layout in the rooms in the future. Furthermore, the in room documentations are in the process of being updated to abide to our new policies regarding coffee. I am also looking into the issue of the $6 Starbucks coffee. Our Starbucks Frappuccino coffees are actually $3.I will review our front desk scanners to make sure they maintain accurate amounts of our marketplace items. In conclusion, I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. We here at the SpringHill Suites are proud to provide a product that will have guests return to stay with us again. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to servicing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We found SpringHill while on the road, searching for a hotel. We were accommodated very quickly. Our room was very modern and clean, we were amazed by the space! We were all in the same room without being jammed together!
The beds were very comfortable, even the pullout!
The breakfast had a lot of choices! Everyone was happy!
This stay showed us again that you can ALWAYS trust a Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryBellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would absolutely agree that our Spring Hill Suites by Marriott location can always be trusted as well as enjoyed. Our staff, convenient location, modern decor, and amenities aid in making each stay memorable. We hope that you will visit us again soon and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just stayed at this SpringHill Suites and it was great. It was a short drive to/from DC. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. It was perfect for a family of 5. The staff was very nice. The free breakfast was good. The kids liked the waffle maker. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words in relation to our staff, modern decor, and amenities. We hpe that you will visit with us again soon and look forward to seeing you. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good
1. Clean, well designed new hotel. Modern decor and well outfitted rooms with a nice work space area and a comfortable sitting area. Bed/bedding very clean and on the whole comfortable. Really pleasant helpful staff (when they aren't swamped... see below)
2. Parking/internet/shuttle service are all free
3. Rates on the weekend were less than 80/night
4. Easy access to and from I-95 (its my half way spot from LI to NC) and on the whole the area is nice. With a great running path along the creek. Actually saw a couple of deer down by the water two days ago.
5. Full Sunday papers! Washington Post, NY Times couldn't believe it..... I can't remember the last time I saw this at ANY hotel.

Not as Good:
1. Breakfast is adequate (barely) just the typical scrambled eggs, greasy turkey patties, cereal etc
2. Rates during the week are almost twice as much as the weekend
3. Kinda of a mob scene at the breakfast
4. Either no one or not enough people at the front desk. I have stayed here several times and I can't count how many times I have gone by the front desk and there was no one there.
5. The check in/front desk is on the second floor, which requires walking up some stairs with your bags or waiting on what has to be the world's slowest elevator to come down to the ground floor. This isn't really a problem but it does seem a bit odd....

So all in all I would rate this place as above average and definitely a deal on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncfreqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your compliments regarding our modern decor, amenities, and convenient location. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are currently in the process of making improvements to these areas. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is committed to creating memorable experiences for each guest and hope that you will visit with us again soon so that you may enjoy more of what our hotel has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel staff are very warm and helpful. Bed and other facilities were clean and beautiful. Our only complaint was that the bath sink area does not have a door, so when another uses the light is bright over the bed and is very disturbing to others in the room. Really bad design.

The breakfast is not that great compared to other hotels. Overall I would think about staying again, if in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunchgirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. All of your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as we are in the process of making improvements. Please visit with us again soon to enjoy more of our complimentary amenities. Thank you for staying with us we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Like Eric L. SpringHill Suites Alexandria is the place to stay while in the DC area. Can't say enough about the great staff. Room was comfortable and quiet despite being on the side of the highway. Only complaint from the kids was the intermittent cable TV signal. Pool could've been larger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNpeacekeepertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and modern decor and appreciate your kind words. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay as we are currently in the process of making enhancements. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Address: 6065 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing