We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in this new hotel. The accommadations were wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in this new hotel. The accommadations were wonderful”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I with another couple stayed 4 nights in this new hotel. It is close to the Metro and they provided shuttles for us anytime of the day. It's a great place to stay if you want to
do some sightseeing in the Capitol area.
The bed and the pillows provided a wonderful nights rest after a very filled day.
Breakfast was good with a large variety. Hot coffee served night and day.
We especially liked the garage that we parked in. It is safe, well-lit and was great on
rainy and snowy days.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful to both couples.
When we come to the D.C. area again, it will be my headquarters!
Roger Van Dyke

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    138
    35
    19
    4
See reviews for
209
69
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

A nice, clean, contemporary hotel that offers spacious rooms with partitioned work/living area. Pleasantly surprised at the good value. Good location to access 95/Beltway and to get into DC or other areas. Ample breakfast in lobby area - expect it's a hit for those with kids.

Room Tip: Lobby entrance is on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCO-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your compliments in relation to our modern decor, amenities, and convenient location. We hope that you will visit with us again soon. Looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at this Springhill for three separate stays each stays 4 consecutive nights. The evening and day staffs are both accomodating, courtesous, friendly and professional. Staff is dressed in suit and tie, too formal for me but that's what set them apart. They will address you "Mr." and youll have to say that Mr. so so is my father to get them to stop doing it. All Springhills have the same layout and this is no exception. Rooms are clean, almost too clean. They always replace used towels, even if you hang them. Marriot beds are always comfortable and they have plenty of pillows, too many in my mind. The sofa with chaise is firm and not sagging. The TV is an LG 40-ish inch with so many channels (up to channel 148 but some are skipped) you find yourself clicking rather than watching. Don't have any reason to complain about.

Read on if you want to know more about the hotel itself. Please bear in mind that I'm an easy going guy.

The hotel location gives you quick access to a lot of places. Grocery stores, restaurants and train stations are not walking distance but only minutes by car. The traffic light to get on to Richmond Hwy from the hotel is a little long but you can blame that on the Hwy dept. There is no left turn lane into the property from the Hwy but you can always make a U-turn 1/4 mile down the road. Again, not something you can take against the hotel but maybe worth knowing for some people.

The pool is big enough to keep kids busy and there is a lifeguard (its not big for doing laps - didnt want to get your hopes up). The hot tub is a nice feature. Their exercise room has 2 elliptical machines, 2 threadmills, 2 stationary bikes, a set of dumbell weights and a weight machine station. Towels and a water cooler are also provided in the exercise room. The room is not big, probably good for 4 or 5 people before they bump into each other but I havent seen more than 3 in the room at any one time so it hasn't been a problem for me.

The breakfast staples are bagels, muffins, egg, oatmeal, cereals (even granola), waffle (you have to make it), yogourt, coffee and three juices (orange, cranberry, apple). They will either have sausage or bacon (yum). If there was sliced cheese, can make yourself a McMuffin but oh well. What they serve is probably better than what we eat anyway.

Overall - you can't go wrong staying at this hotel. I prefer staying at this hotel than the Courtyard a couple of miles away or the HI next door. Its not a resort hotel and I think they are reasonably priced for what they offer. Hope this helps. Happy Trails.

Room Tip: I always choose the top floor so I dont have to hear the noise from above, true with any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Our entire staff is committed to creating memorable experiences for each guest and are more than willing to accommodate in any way possible. All of your kind words regarding our staff members, complimentary amenities, and convenient location are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will visit with us again and look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed 29 days at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, we felt at home . The overall service was exceptional. The hotel is clean, quiet, and offers a superior service. I recommend this hotel to professionals, businessmen, and tourists. I cant recall everyone name but all employees have done a good job.
The most notable staff person , as my wife and I recall, is Danielle of the day shift, she has a wonderful personality, accommodating, always come go the extra mile. Thank you All.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khalaf60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We genuinely appreciate all of your kind words in relation to our staff and suites. It is always a pleasure to know that we were able to meet the needs of our guests. Please visit with us again. We look forward to seeing you and your wife soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I spent three nights in a king suite. The room had modern decor, was well laid out, and had the amenities I needed (microwave, mini-fridge, LCD HD TV). The hotel is down a hill from the road, so my room on the third floor (the lobby and front entrance are the 2nd floor) was level with and facing the busy road. Although there was some traffic noise, I had no problem sleeping on the comfortable bed. Everything was clean. The breakfast was adequate (with hot scrambled eggs and link sausage), and was not busy when I was there (about 7am). There is a nice exercise room and clean pool. I especially liked the chaise lounge end of the couch, it made watching TV quite comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awcolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words regarding our modern decor and amenities. We hope to see you for your next visit soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The lobby is in order with a snacks for purchase area. Staff there was neither rude nor friendly to us. The breakfast was not abundant and one waffle iron made getting one nearly impossible, but it was free. The room is quite narrow. The space between the beds and the opposite wall is about 3'. There is no in-room safe. The storage was very limited, 3 small drawers total. I read reviews about this and brought hangers. The pull-out bed was not cleaned after the last guest and had food and lego in it. A staff member came to the room to inspect it and was sincerely apologetic. We also had an odd call fom the front desk asking about noise as someone had complained. We had only arrived in our room a few minutes before the call. The hotel was quiet. Our room, 307, was insanely hot without the heat on. The water was hot and the shower was strong. We had to ask for more towels daily as only 3 are stocked and we were 5. There are tons of restaurants and shopping further down the highway within 5mins of the hotel. The parking is free. The pool is small and has a lifeguard. The gym looked adaquate. The shuttle to and from the metro was seamless and friendly. The metro ride into DC is an easy 20mins. However, the price of your ride home may be higher than you expected depending on the time ofbday and distance travelled and if this happens, you will have to be more money into the exit machine before you can leave. I feel this hotel was acceptable for the rate we paid even with a few glitches. No bedbugs.

Room Tip: floor one is the pool and floor 2 is the lobby. If you are looking for a quiet room, ask forbone fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank payingitforward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Each staff member here at Springhll Suites is dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all guests and are please to have met your needs satisfactorily. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff members, modern decor suites, and complimentary amenities. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced throughout your stay as we are currently in the process of making improvements. Please visit with us again soon. We are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our hockey team stayed at the SHS for a travel weekend. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. They even provided us an empty conference room where the boys could hang out without disturbing other guests. They helped us with restaurant recommendations and delivery services in the area and even let us eat together as a group in the lobby. Only down side was no free breakfast...otherwise a very good experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you and your teammates enjoyed your stay. All of your compliments regarding our modern decor, staff, and amenities are greatly appreciated. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay as we are in the process of making improvements. Hope to see all of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Property: SpringHill Suites Alexandria
Address: 6065 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing