We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers in Old Town”
Review of The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint
Ranked #258 of 755 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Business Insider. Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Washingtonian Magazine. Voted "Best Burger Patty" by Washington Post. BGR The Burger Joint is helping lead the better burger market with a menu designed around our commitment to using only the highest quality ingredients. BGR's menu is designed around an exclusive blend of Prime, Dry-aged burgers, grilled over an open flame. Menu offerings include burgers, veggie burger, grilled chicken, turkey burger, lamb burger, ahi tuna burger, hot dog, kids meals, regular fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings, asparagus, handspun shakes, side salads, lettuce wraps, salad bowls and beer/wine and other seasonal specialties. Gluten Free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
896 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Old Town”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Many tourists miss this place since it's not on King St. That's regrettable, since the burgers are a huge cut above any others in the area. Top quality meat cooked to perfection. Strongly recommended for burger lovers who want top quality fast food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
454 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Special”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

They offer a lunch special "The Box Set" which includes a burger, fries and drink. Good deal for a good price. They offer a decent burger and fries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“BGR stands for Below Grade Restaurant”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

A significant disappointment this time. Been here before and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Guess the quality and staff has slipped significantly since then. No jalapeños so one of the featured burgers was not available - of course it was the one I was looking forward to ordering. No beer. No iced tea. New soda machine out of about 50% out of the offering. Too bad the manager declined to refill the machine because she couldn't be bothered until I asked if we wanted to cancel our order. Burgers were ultimately good but the service and staff attitude was terrible. The negatives brought down the entire experience. Too bad as I had been looking forward to coming here again. Music too loud. Would have to think twice before a repeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The results are in! Byrons (UK) Vs. The Burger Joint (DC)”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Which burger was better (was the question) when we returned to "The Burger Joint" in Alexandria or "Byron's" In the UK. Your memory of what is really good can sometimes play tricks on you but clearly the burger was as good as I remembered. We relived the last visit of when we were headed to National Geographic and went down in the Metro Station getting tickets when we smell the aroma from The Burger Joint. So we hunted it down and had a wonderful burger "The Wellington". We had the same thing happen in London while shopping and the smell haunted us all the way down Northcote Road. It was wonderful as well. We ended up going to the Byron's in Cambridge 3 days later.

The Black Truffle that they put on "The Wellington" is a lot of it. I think if it was on cardboard it would be good. The burger at Byron's is pure Scottish Hamburger and is outstanding.

So to judge it fairly I will have to order the plain burger next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threekittyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey & Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I ate at The Burger Joint 3 nights in a row while in Alexandria for business. The burgers are cooked to order on the grill in front of you and are delicious. My favorite is The Wellington. It's a bit pricey, but that's to be expected in a tourist area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank south_jerseygirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing