We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Neighborhood Northern Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa d'Este - CLOSED

Villa d'Este
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Neighborhood Northern Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

It's a small place, nice décor but a little outdated, waiters in their black and white with bow ties, candle on table, Northern Italian menu, so don't look for a lot of red sauce items. They have seafood and their Piccata's are good as are clam sauce. The food is good and the service is good. If you live in the neighborhood definitely give them a try and patronize them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAPE CORAL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our party of four decided to eat here at last minute and when we walked into empty restaurant they asked if we had reservations. It never filled more than 1/2 way between 6PM & 8PM on Sat night. Table cloths but old, wobbly chairs. Limited dinner menu selection for Italian restaurant. Pricy particularly since it is not close to "Old Town" Alexandria. Service slow even though not many patrons. Rude service. On one occasion, It was particularly annoying when we asked for lemon in our water and the waiter rolled his eyes like it was too much trouble.
On top of all this I got sick that night (which never happens to me) and I believe it was something I ate there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
314 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We are local and continue to enjoy dining at Villa d'Este on a regular basis. They are always willing to do whatever they can to be sure your dining experience is excellent. They customize their meals to meet your personal tastes - I love the way they let me create my own combination o meals!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

service was good, food was good, choices were okay, typical neighborhood type of restaurant, did not need a reservation for Friday night at six

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, NC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, wine & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great place, with a wide variety of authentic, original dishes...great service, great variet on the menu...unbelievable seafood the night I was there and very good wine recommendations.

The personal service was the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haroldg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa d'Este also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing