We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All Good but the Service”
Review of Villa d'Este - CLOSED

Villa d'Este
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's All Good but the Service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On a Saturday evening in early November, with the restaurant about two thirds full, the food was excellent and reasonably priced, the ambience very pleasant and not loud, but the service was slow. Dinner for four took two hours which is the norm in Italy but not in Alexandria. It was ten minutes before the waiter even came buy to ask for drinks, there was a long wait between each of the courses, the entrees were brought out one plate at a time, so that by the time the last plate came, the first was was not hot. Our elderly Asian waiter (in an Italian restaurant - LOL), whose English was hard to understand, has worked here for years and has been better in the past. The other waiter was much more on the ball. We'll come back for sure because we love the food, but will ask for a different waiter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a large family dinner here. Maria helped us plan a lovely buffet dinner menu. The food was very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The food was boring diner-quality impressions of Italian classics. The sticky plastic place mats and menu, combined with the flies and noisy climate system definitely did not portend to a classy dining experience. The kicker was that we were chased down by the hostess after paying our meal because they realized they forgot to charge us for our pre-dinner cocktails. An overpriced meal became even more absurd when we paid a second bill - $11 for a beer and a soda. This place must only survive on the unadventurous hotel guests from across the street. Alexandria has so much more to offer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larchmonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth the trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I went there for dinner early on a Sunday night. Very few people there when we arrived, but a few more people came as we dined. Served a tasty bread, but wish they had offered olive oil either in addition or instead of butter. My wife had the prix-fixe menu, which had limited choice. She had the spinach soup, which was tasty and a healthy amount, but not what we would call unusual. She also had salmon in a cream sauce, which she enjoyed but would have preferred less sauce and she also had tiramisu, which was very good. I had Pollo alla Parmigiana which also include eggplant and a side of angel hair pasta. For desert I had a dark chocolate mousse cake which was very good. The restaurant is located about 8 blocks from Old Town Alexandria, across from a hotel and thus parking was easy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StarVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice folks, good food, diverse menu”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My first time here, visiting for business, it was very near the hotel. The service was good, the quality of the food was very good, and the portions were generous. I'd come here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa d'Este also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing