We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great evening meal”
Review of Columbia Firehouse

Columbia Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great evening meal”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant felt authentic from the moment we walked in the door. The food and service were excellent and the menus choice was varied.

I loved the setting and being surrounded by soft lighting and candles. Really atmospheric.

I had a salad which was fresh and tasty but the rest of my party went for burgers which were stacked high, cooked as ordered and very tasty.

A great dining experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chezcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    149
    77
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality food and excellent drafts”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ere there for a lunch. They serve a limited menu for lunch but the quality was excellent. Service and draft beers were very satisfactory, too. We will visit it again for dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiziltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored building.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our son lives in Alexandria and this is his favorite restaurant. The building has been beautifully restored, the staff is helpful and the food is creative, fresh, local but not pretentious. Outside seating in a shaded courtyard is perfect for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a five-star but ok”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Service was very good, but menu is limited. "No deliveries on Sunday so out of chicken and hanger steak". Ended up with a burger which was good but not 5-star. Tables next to us had oysters which seemed to be very popular. Probably not a return restaurant, especially on Sunday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mtarmygriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice dining experience.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Another great restaurant in Alexandria. The menu selections were diverse with old world (American) cheese, sausages, fish, steaks, and other meats. I was particularly tempted by the dry aged NY steak they offered however I chose the mussels along with the hangar steak. Neither disappointed.
The setting in one of the most historic towns in the US and ambience was cool. The bar and dining area has beautifully finished wood and is reminiscent of an old tavern or pub. The atrium area is well done also with very high windowed ceiling. Our waitress knew her menu as we drilled her with questions and she was very friendly. Ill be going back when I visit our capital next time. You cannot go wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing