We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Firehouse

Columbia Firehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a family dinner.
Burgers were excellent! Salmon was delicious!
Liked the Atmosphere.
Lesya our waitress was great!
Nice wine and beer selection.
Had a very good and relaxing time
Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenioFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    145
    77
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent bang for your buck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

As a member of the group that includes Vermillion in Old Town the quality and freshness of the many locally produced ingredients shines. The brunch menu offered on the weekends offers a nice variety of meat, seafood,and traditional egg options. ( the hanger steak is to die for ) Sam tends the bar and mixes a wonderful bloody Mary along with attentive service. The atrium is cheery and bright,even on a gloomy day.
I would have offered an "excellent" rating if not for having so many young parents with very distracting crying / noisy infants and toddlers. Perhaps if management placed those outside the atrium,the dining experience would be really excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sucefredto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First visit - can't wait to go back.
There were so many enticing items on the menu - tough to choose.
Homemade Onion Rings were a hit. Also had the Fried Oysters for an appetizer. Delicious.
Mussels / Scallops/ Chopped Salad were very tasty.
There were really so many items that sounded really good.
We were happy w/ our choices!
Service great.
It's a 10...give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food small portions service fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My mother and I had dinner here. The food was excellent...we had the scallops and fried oyster appitizer. Service was slow, but friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mama2sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The experience here was terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went here for dinner for a large group (30+), which was pre-planned, and it took forever to receive the food (1.5 + hours). When we did receive the food the hamburger tasted weird and came out with only ketchup on the side. The salad was horrible and the asparagus soup had too much oil in it. With this being such a large group we only had a limited menu to choose from so we could not believe how long it took. I recommend against going to this location based on the extremely long wait time and the less than stellar food. One of the WORST dining experiences of my life if I could give this place "no stars" I would.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyL013175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing