We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional staff, free shuttle to Metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my 13 y.o. daughter, 5 y.o. son and husband. The beds were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff and shuttle drivers were very kind and helpful. We used the free shuttle to the Metro every day during our stay. Sometimes we had to stay on the shuttle while it stopped at the airport on the return trip from the Metro to the hotel. My only complaint about this hotel is the lax standards for housekeeping. The tub tile was moldy when we checked in. The furniture was in need of a thorough polishing/cleaning. For some reason, the outdoor half of the pool was clean, but the inside pool seemed dirty around the filters at the bottom of the pool. There was a lifeguard on duty at all times when we used the pool. We checked out early because our plans changed and we were refunded the full amount for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_girl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. We were very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. I was sorry to learn that you experienced some cleanliness issues during your stay - play accept our sincere apologies. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team, so that improvements can be made.
We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,425 - 1,431 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

My trip was business and my family came along for leisure. We stayed four nights. I received a very low rate off an online booking site, and of course the negative reviews here stick out, so I was a bit cautioned choosing this hotel. But, again, the rate was wonderful so I thought I would take a chance. Well, I was very pleased with our room. Our room was very clean. Room service was always prompt whether it was breakfast or dinner. The shuttle service was convenient and a money-saver for my family that used it each day to get to the metrorail.

It was difficult to get an elevator in the a.m. One day I did walk down from the 10th floor. There was also a weekend conference going on so parking was difficult. The spaces are very small, and even though I was able to find a space to park my van, it was usually on the bottom floor of the parking structure. I was going to ask for at least one day of parking be credited due to the overcrowding, but when our final bill came we weren't charged for parking at all. I'm guessing others must have complained also. In-room wifi was very reliable.

Overall, I was pleased and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganAmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff - I will certainly share them.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Hilton used to be a grand name, but it isn't too grand at this one. The hotel rents out space for a gift shop and a "Business Center", but you better not count on doing much business in this place. I'm guessing the company that rents out that space does payday loans as well. At least they were prepared for the 6 hour power outage (they had flashlights), but it didn't really matter in the hallways, because they didn't seem to be air conditioned anyway. It was convenient to where our trial was, but for us the location was the best quality about this place, and that was probably due to an accidental siting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTRSpringfield_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that your visit was not a more pleasant one. While storms caused much of the area to be without power for more than 24 hours, we were fortunate to get our power back after 6 hours. During the outage emergency generators powered our life safety systems and emergency lights, but unfortunately not air conditioning.
We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again when the weather is more cooperative!

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have to say that this could be a nice hotel if they would revamp the whole thing. Coming in from the Parking Area should give you an idea - the carpet was filthy and needed replaced years ago. The bed was horrible in our room. It was a clean room, but just very outdated. I was disappointed because the rate dictates that this should have been a much cleaner hotel. Hilton needs to get on the ball at this hotel lest they become the next "Holiday Inn"...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kjf325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that your visit was not a more pleasant one. I was glad to read that although you were disappointed in the condition of the hotel, that you found it to be clean.

We are in the final stages of design review, and will begin a comprehensive renovation in the winter which will surely address all of the issues that you noted.

Thanks again for the opportunity to address your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center for two weeks in July on business with the government. Prior to arriving, I had requested a room accommodation for an HDMI input, and received an email confirming same from the Manager, Charlie Banta, that I was upgraded to the 29th floor. The hotel was very nice, upon arriving a bit earlier than check in time, I grabbed a beer at bar and only had to wait around 25 minutes until the room was ready. The room was great, clean, large with a view, a very nice TV and a bed which rivaled my tempurpedic at home. Wireless internet is available, and it is fast enough to support a PS3. If you have a problem, the hotel staff are on it in less than 15 minutes from your call.

I ate at the restaurant, Finn & Porter, about 5-6 times during my stay for dinner, once for breakfast, and twice or so for lunch. I note that there is also a sushi chef at the restaurant who makes tasty rolls. All the meals were good, and the wait staff will gladly modify your order should you have any special requests. Also to note, as I did not have a car, the concierge maintains an extensive list of delivery joint menus to consider.

I ordered room service once for breakfast, picking a delivery window 6:00 to 6:30. The food was delivered by 6:10, and it was good, with a more than ample coffee supply (it's essential).

Since it was an extended stay, I used the in-hotel laundry and dry cleaning service and a same-day turnaround was standard. During the day, there are usually a few cabs in the lot to take you places, or the concierge will call one for you. The shuttle to Pentagon City and Ronald Reagan was also appreciated.

The hotel, as a whole, was very nice place. Unfortunately, without a car, I could not explore the area proper, but the staff will assist you as much as possible to make you comfortable.

There were also an interesting bunch of public conferences occurring during my stay. Visiting those was also an fun way to fill in the non-business hours.

The prices are what I would expect, and what I have experienced for metropolitan areas (New Orleans, NYC, Houston). Keeping that in context, the hotel was a great place to stay, and if you have a vehicle, it's wonderful. Parking was only $9 a day, when I have paid in excess of $35 to keep a vehicle in New Orleans in the past.

I recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff - I will certainly share them.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Let me start by saying that this is the first time that I have ever written a hotel review. I'm writing to warn everyone out there to stay away from this hotel! This hotel was the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in; I would have been happier had I stayed in a run-down motel and saved the money over this place. I stayed here for two weeks, and from day one, my experience was horrible. I couldn't leave this hotel though due to the fact that my employer made the reservations, and got a special rate. The other people attending the business training had similar experiences to me regarding this hotel as well.

Not to bore you with details, my main issue regarding this hotel was its staff. No one, with the exception of one lone bell hop, was nice, friendly, or accomodating. In fact, they were probably some of the rudest people I have ever encountered. Case in point: At the beginning of week 2 of my stay, I was eating take-out in my room at night, and I noticed my room getting hotter (the temperature outside was in the mid-90s the entire 2 weeks we were there). After a few hours of noticing the fan running but no cool air coming into my room, I called the front desk to inquire. It was about 9:30 at night, and I am also 7 months pregnant. When she answered the phone, I informed her of my room number, and said, "i think my ac is broken." She replied, "the main AC unit is broken; someone is fixing it now." I said, "oh good. I thought it was just my room that was getting hot." (Given that I am a 7-month pregnant female, alone, at 9:30 at night, I wasn't looking forward to the possibility of having a repair man in my hotel room at that time, nor was i looking forward to the possibility of changing rooms.) the front desk clerk replied, "well, it's just as hot down here as it is in your room. What else do you want us to do about it?" I was shocked beyond belief that a customer service representative would respond to a paying customer that way!!!! Besides the fact that she didn't have to sleep in a sweltering room, and that she wasn't paying $180/night to sleep in a hot room, she shouldn't have talked that way!

Another example: when I checked out, the hotel had me listed as staying there for extra days. I asked for my final bill at the time of check-out, but i was leery given the *stellar* employees that i had encoutered during my stay. A few days later, while i was submitting my travel expenses to my company, I called to make sure the bill i had received was my final bill. When I called, I spoke to another front desk employee, and asked if he could fax or email my final bill to me. He replied, "didn't you get one at check-out?" and i said yes, but I wanted to verify that the amount listed was correct, since the hotel had me checking out on a different day. He said, "well, you got your final bill when you checked out; what's the problem and why do you need another copy now?" EXCUSE me??

Other than the rudeness of the staff, the cleaning service left much to be desired. Everyday, they would miss something: no new coffee bags; didn't take old towels; forgot to leave new towels; left refrigerator door open; forgot a number of times to take the trash; didn't vacuum; etc.

Obviously, I could go on and on. The city of DC was wonderful, and everyone in the city was extremely hospitable and accomodating. Too bad this hotel wasn't.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not a more enjoyable one. I have shared your comments with our staff. We hope you will give us another opportunity to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facilities.
Sincerely,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel was a great location and price for us, traveling with a teenage son. Room choices were 2 doubles or 1 king with a roll out (extra $15/day). We chose the king with rollout, corner room which is a little bigger. We had great views of the city. Room was very quiet. Hotel staff friendly and responsive. The sushi bar was amazingly great, beyond anything we expected from a hotel restaurant. The restaurant in general was excellent. Our room came with complimentary breakfast buffet which included made-to-order omelets. Shuttle service was dependable, taking us to the Pentagon City Metro terminal for easy access to Washington DC sites. There was a very minimal learning curve to using the metro service (subway). People everywhere were always quick to offer advice or direct us as needed. We had a great trip, tried to see it all but that was impossible for only 4 full days so I'm sure we'll be back & I would definitely consider staying at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center. Also, they have free evening shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria so we got to visit that area and enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Fish Market Restaurant on King Street. Washington DC definitely has a "foodie" aspect that was especially fun for our family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJTravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff - I will certainly share them.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,551 reviews
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
887 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $98 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing