We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like this hotel . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I like this hotel . . .”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last ten years and have always enjoyed the experience. It is far nicer than most other hotels farther into Fairfax County that I am aware of. The bar and restaurant serve very good food at reasonable prices and are open late which is important to me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    455
    232
    139
    93
See reviews for
307
238
114
637
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
447 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 799 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I spent one night at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center prior to a morning meeting at the Mark Center. Logistically this was ideal as the hotel is located directly across the road from where my meeting was held, so easily within in walking distance (seriously, it was like walking a long, dog-leg par 4 from the hotel exit to the entrance to the Mark Center.

In addition to the location being ideal, the hotel was very nice and had everything I needed for the one night. The hotel personnel who I dealt with was all very friendly and helpful. I had reserved a standard king-bed room, but was given a corner king room, on an upper floor, so I had a little more space and a very nice view with DC in the distance.

The room had all the amenities (more than I used for the one night): ironing board and iron (that I did use), coffee maker (that I never use); there was a hairdryer and all the usual soaps and shampoos plus plenty of towels. There is also an in room safe that is very handy. The room was clean and comfortable. It took me a little while to find the temperature controls, but once I did, I was able to get the setting to a cooler temperature so that I could get a good night’s sleep.

I requested a late checkout as my meeting ran until after the standard noon checkout time and I wanted to change out of my suit for the trip home. No issues at all as they nice young lady at the front desk extended my checkout to 2:30 (note that she had to get a special room key programmed and the standard keys become inactive at the normal checkout time). Anyway, that worked out well for me as I could leave by luggage in the room and was able to change back into my comfy clothes for the trip home.

I ate at the hotel restaurant twice during my stay; dinner on arrival night and lunch before departing. I went with the small-plate menu for dinner and tried the club sandwich which was quite tasty and for lunch I opted for the crabcake sandwich, another very good choice. They were offering a lunch buffet that looked very good, but was just what I was in the mood for (the price for the buffet was $12.95 without drink, but had a nice variety of selections including desserts, but the crabcake just sound too good to pass up). Service at the restaurant was outstanding during both dinner and lunch and the food was great, so a good deal all around.

There was no business center, but there were computers in the lobby that were open for use for printing boarding passes or checking the web and email. There was also a small store (snacks and personal items) adjacent to the main desk. I also noticed a rental car office and a barber shop in the lobby. There is bar in the lobby, but it seemed to be closed the evening that I was there. The lobby was nicely appointed and had plenty of space to hang-out, plus there were several TVs in the lobby so that you could catch up on the news or watch the current sporting event. Overall it was a very nice setting.

Bottom line is that I would certainly stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Room 2415 is a corner king room that faces more or less east; nice view of DC and I had a nice sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went home to DC for a weekend stay, and didn't want to stay in the City. This was a perfect location. The rooms where clean and the view of the city was a nice addition. The Bar downstairs was great. I must say, if you want to throw an event there is plenty of space. The was an indoor pool and and outdoor pool. Nice and clean Fitness Center as Well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our most recent experience at this hotel was perfect. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our dinner at the Finn and Porter restaurant (which is connected to this hotel) was absolutely perfect as well! This is one of our favorite restaurants to dine at when in Alexandria; they have excellent steaks and seafood and their sushi is awesome as well. The food, service, and atmosphere were all top notch. Our server, Lula, was absolutely wonderful and very personable/friendly. We will definitely be requesting her by name whenever we dine there in the future. Great job Hilton Alexandria staff, well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Please watch you security Deposit that they hold for you. If you are using a credit card they charged my card $50.00 a day and I had two rooms for a total stay 5 nights. By the time I checked out the totals were very high and wrong. So after they "Fixed it" now I must wait 7-10 for the credit card company to release the "extra charges" Also was told at check in that my parking fee would be 9.50 a day. When the bill came to the room why was it $24.00 a day. Never again will I go to this Hilton. Please watch out for your hard earn money because they don't care! Period

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and observations.. I assure you that my team and I are working very hard to provide all of our guests with the products and services that will allow us to exceed your expectations. Your comments indicate that you had an issue with your credit card hold, for which I sincerely apologize. Please understand that when guests use a debit card, the bank puts a $50.00 hold on your funds to cover incidental expenses. We do not actually charge the card until a guest charges an item to their room. The hold is controlled by the banks and many times when we request the hold to be released, it takes them days to free up the funds. We do have signage on our front desk explaining how financial institutions handle debit cards.
Again, thank you for sharing your observations and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely

Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Road-Tripping Family
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Recently spent two nights at the Mark Center.

Overall, a very comfortable stay but we were there during a very quiet time. Hotel was at low capacity, so there were zero issues with elevator delays, restaurant service, etc.

Rate was extremely inexpensive which is part of the 4* rating. Otherwise, it would have been 3* average.

Room was nicely decorated but showing its age. Wallpaper was starting to peel near one bed (also bubbling along the seams in different parts of the hallway), grout was nasty in several areas of the bathroom, and the carpet had quite a few stains. Bed was comfortable, however - killer pillows. Room ran hot but was easily adjusted.

Bathroom lighting was AMAZING. I've never looked so good! No fan so our room got steamy after showers (there were 3 of us in a 2Q room).

Hallways and common areas were VERY clean and kept quite neat. Very comfortable seating in the lobby area. Lots of chairs, sofas, etc. to pick from.

Front desk service was friendly and efficient, no complaints.

Parking garage was about only 1/4 full, so good spots were easy to find. Received a discount rate; otherwise, it would have been WAY overpriced at $24/day. WIFI was given to us free of charge. Couldn't believe that they otherwise would have charged $10/day. Ridiculous.

Restaurant service was very efficient but a little bored. We got a quick take-out a couple times. Food was OK for the price charged. Calamari = yummy! Bacon in the turkey club was nasty and hard - disappointing.

No coffee bar! Had to run to Starbucks down the street, boo.

Overall, a pleasant stay. I might stay again here depending on the packages offered with discounted parking, WIFI, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEVikingsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plns.NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center over Thanksgiving vacation 2013.The hotel is very clean, comfortable beds, and provides a shuttle to the airport which came in handy, The hotel is convenient to downtown DC and the food was very good quality.The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Very pleased we stayed at this Hilton during our stay to the Virginia area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,323 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
724 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Property: Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing