We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice staff; problems with movies and phones” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Lorton, United States
1 review
“nice staff; problems with movies and phones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overall nice stay! Staff was very helpful, but moved to various rooms trying to find a TV with movies. Phones did not work in those rooms. Disappointed that charged for internet when it is free at so many other places; parking was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    398
    210
    120
    79
See reviews for
262
205
96
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The rooms were very nice, the service was very nice, the bar and sushi area was very nice. We only stayed here one night but it was vey nice and it's easy access to Old Town Alexandria. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirlDraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Great:
Comfortable beds
Location, in a nice neighborhood, relatively close to DC.

The Good:
Spacious rooms
The pool is nice and warm
The Shuttle Service. Although there should be more info on what is available. When we checked in , the service was not even mentioned. Even after we asked about parking a rental car on site and were told about only pay parking.

OK:

Food in the restaurant. Not bad, not good, just ok.
Staff: Very business like, but, not very welcoming or friendly either. Nothing negative here, but nothing really positive either.

Ugly:
Room Cleanliness
* The condenser above the entrance to our bathroom was dripping, more like leaking. Discovered when I stepped in a sopping wet patch of carpet underneath while wearing socks that I just put on. When we called the front desk, the person at the desk informed us that they were already aware of the issue and offered to move us. WHAT?!?!? Why did you put us there in the first place?

* The deck/balcony outside and ottoman inside the room had lots of bird poop.
* There were a dozen cigarette butts on the balcony... in a non-smoking room.
* The area we were in reaked of a recent fire.

Lack of luggage carts. Very few.

Guest Parking. There is none at a reasonable price.

Overall, Just ok for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near any receptions. There was a wedding reception next to ours and it kept us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captkirk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for his business trip. Nicely located in the downtown of Alexandria, the hotel offers a lot of conferences and banquets facilities. As for the standard rooms, they need some improvement, like microwaves and no air circulation. Other than that pretty and nice service, the restaurant is pricy, but friendly and fast servers. Mostly satisfied with our stay there. Plus they have complimentary bus to the metro. Metro is really nice. Our son loved riding metro train!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinator6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations and experience. We are pleased that we met many of your your expectations. Your comments indicate that you had an issue with your room not having a microwave for which I sincerely apologize. We do have microwaves that are available upon request in our tower rooms. Most of our retreat rooms are a little larger than the tower rooms and have microwaves and refrigerators built in.
Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you're looking fora hotel with shuttle near the airport this hotel works very well. As far as location goes, the fact that it is too far to walk to the metro works against it. For our purposes this hotel worked. The room was very nice with a great view. We liked the contemporary update of the room as well. Very high quality room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel and close to everything. We enjoyed our long weekend. The restaurant and bar was great to relax and enjoy. We enjoyed the valet parking. We looked at other hotels and they charged extra for children and parking. This hotel had a package deal and included children at no additional cost. We had the opportunity to see the sites in DC and the waterfront in Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkcsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference last year and loved the facilities. The metro shuttle is the best part. Views from the rooms are outstanding and breathtaking. Beautifully decorated and very clean. The restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Property: Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing