We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was busy and fast paced, but professional and service focused. The parking fee was a bit much, but the shuttle to the metro made it less painful. The room was clean and comfortable, but my only comment is the TV lineup was less than expected. Great service throughout stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funeraltraveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our room with a balcony overlooking DC. The room was well appointed and very clean. However the parking ramp was a bit inconvenient and we were charged $24.00 to park even though we were not advised of this cost until we checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Martin H

We are very pleased that we met your expectations at the Hilton Mark Center. We try very hard to make every guests stay memorable. I am sorry you did not know that there is a charge for parking. We do have this information posted on our website for future reference.

Thank you for staying with us and please know we appreciate your business

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Poor service throughout, at check-in we were sent to an occupied room, amenities not replenished consistenly once with all decaf coffee, balcony had no furniture, floor was filthy. The lobby escalator was down 4 days. Bar personnel were rude to customers. Business office equipment was not working causing lines at the one printer that worked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear David K

We’re sorry we did not meet the level of service you expected. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

hotel was great value, for an advance reservation site prepaid weekend rate. access to metro was tedious, with the shuttle service not being completely reliable. the accommodations were very clean - elevators were excruciatingly slow. in room accommodations included refrigerator and coffee maker. beds were a bit too firm. overall stay enjoyable with only real inconvenience distance to metro not very walkable. should have researched that better. loyal Hilton brand guy and

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here during a week long conference. Elevators are very slow and there are not enough of them to support the number of people that the hotel accommodates. We had to wait in line each time we needed to use one. The up escalator from the lower lobby where meeting rooms are was not working the entire week we were there, fortunately in order to save time,I was able to climb the steps with no problem go back and forth between meeting rooms. Our room was nice and was cleaned ok each day. A small refrigerator made it convenient for us to bring in a few snacks since the restaurant was expensive and service was horrible. I blame hotel management for this though; knowing that there were conferences, family reunions and a huge number of other guests they should have brought in extra staff to handle the restaurant and bar area. We learned to ask for our check as soon as our food arrived, since we never saw the server again. Probably an ok place to stay if you are just there to tour area, but would not recommend for large groups who plan to use hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This facility would be nice if it were better maintained and the staff were interested in welcoming and caring for customers. I had consistently unresponsive and poor hotel staff service, the up escalator from the lower level never worked the entire week I was there for a conference and the elevators were ridiculously slow to move people (seemed like only 2 of four were working). The food in the restaurant was very good but the older hostess was rude and unpleasant. There are no stores within walking distance (except for a 7-11 about half a mile walk). I would suggest choosing another hotel, there are many to choose from in that area. I paid about $160/night

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Brenda B
Thank you for sharing your observations and experience. We are sorry that the escalator was not working during your visit. We had to wait over a week for the correct parts to arrive and it is now is being fixed.

I am sorry for your experience in the restaurant and I will share this information with the restaurant manager who is sure to take corrective action.

Please know we value your business and wish to be your host in the future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

had a great room with a great view of the city to the South. Wanted a room facing North but the room was not ready when we arrived. We could have waited but I had missed up on my schedule and the train was 5 hours late which required us to be on the train for 28 hours. We were tired and needed a shower ASAP. We were hoping to get out and see the city, but just too tired. Oh by the way they have a shuddle service. Good information to have and we did not, paid for a taxi to get to the hotel. We only found this out when we were ready to check out and requested a taxi. We were told by the front desk to be in the lobby at this time and were would get to the train on time. Well that did not happen, the driver was behind and we left 15 minutes late and with the knowledge that we needed to be at the train at this time, he went to the airport first and dropped us off l;ate. The train was not even in site when we arrived. To top it all off it cost me another $60 dollars to get us on the next train, which was running 30 minutes late. Go figure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. We have addressed your review with our management team. Our shuttle is first come first serve and although we try very hard to stay on schedule. The traffic around D.C. and the airport does get backed up at times. Again, We apologize for the inconvenience.

Ralph Priesing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,542 reviews
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
885 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $102 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing