We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspect hotel room, bathroom for cleanliness first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Blacksburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspect hotel room, bathroom for cleanliness first!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For a 3star rated hotel, the Hilton Alexandria needs to step it up to earn this rating. Check your hotel room, bathroom before your unpack to ensure it's clean! Several complaints with our 4 day stay. Most prevalent issue was the cleanliness of the room, especially bathroom, and how long it took to get that issue remedied. Of course, we know others stay in hotel rooms before us, but we NEVER want to see evidence of this, especially in a 3star hotel. The amenities are 3star, but the cleanliness is 2star. After 2 days of our stay, we finally got a clean room, bathroom, and a slew of freebies before that to encourage us to stay with them and Hilton chain in future. I wrote a letter encouraging them to train, retrain, revamp their training to live up to the 3star rating in all areas of the hotel...not just some. Hopefully that helps future guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Erin S
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations and experience. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Your comments indicate that you had an issue with housekeeping for which I sincerely apologize. I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper, who is certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve in this area.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Regards
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    463
    236
    139
    95
See reviews for
311
242
115
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel to the area on busness and frequently stay in this hotel. It's always clean and the staff have never been rude. I'm on a per diem and I do get frustrated with this hotel. When the tourists are not around the hotel accepts the amount paid for my travel, but during the high season the hotel requires a minimum nights stay. It's somewhat frustrating for the business person not having any consistant rules for travel expenses until you attempt to make a reservation. Many that come from the west coast with travel no longer take the time to check to see if the rate is available and simply opt for another chain.

For personal travel it's a good location and always clean. For a per diem trip I'd try another hotel and not waste your time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pitt_twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Pitt_twins
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Your comments indicate that you had an issue with length of stay requirements for which I sincerely apologize. Please know we do not target "per diem" guest with length of stay requirements. We do reserve rooms for people who will be staying at the hotel for longer periods of time when we are close to being sold out. Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.


Regards
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in Hilton Alexandria Mark Center very recently and the hotel is beautiful inside out.
I had a high floor and corner room and had one of the most amazing views of the Capital Hill. The room was nice, updated and spacious; the bathrooms were a little old looking but still nice and clean.
The staff at the front desk was very courteous and knowledgeable. I
forgot my tooth brush and called down to ask for one and the housekeepers brought me one in no time.
The only thing that surprised me was that we were charged for 2 cars since we had 2 rooms but once i told the front desk agent that I only had one car she removed the charges from my bill without any questions.
Overall it was a great stay and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: High Floor and Corner Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satikabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Checked into this hotel after a horrendous experience at another local hotel. The experience at the HIlton Alexandria Mark Center couldn't have been better.

Starting with a smooth and quick check-in process. We were in our room in 10 minutes. The room was well laid out and had a spacious feel. We had a corner room and they are worth the extra money.

Our room faced East-ish, but we had could see the city. The view from the 24th floor was impressive. The hotel seems to be in a green-belt and watching the combination of cars and trees was quite relaxing.

The only issue was the air was a bit on the cool side.

Bed was comfortable.

I'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for a corner room on a higher floor. The room layout and views will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent one Friday night here when I came to Alexandria recently for a show related to my hobby. Good points: Front desk staff was very courteous and helpful during check-in and check-out. They paid attention to my request for a high floor room which, as a light sleeper, I appreciated (I was on the 28th floor; there are 30 floors in the main tower). Views are great even if you're not facing DC.The room was quite clean, only fault I found was a stain on the bed sheets. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet. Restaurant had good food & good service for dinner as was breakfast room service. I had no contact with housekeeping since I was only there one night, but I didn't see anybody in the halls when I left at around 8:30 Saturday morning.

Bad points: Parking is a tad pricey ($24 for self-park is about what I'd pay in a much bigger city than Alexandria - what's the deal?). They do mention it on their site so it was no surprise, but it's still irritating. And as another reviewer pointed out, there are steps in the hotel you have to climb up or down to get to the lobby from the garage. Though I think you can park on the lowest level of the garage to avoid them and keep your car covered.

Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room - very spacious and bright. If doing self-park, use the lowest level to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear CBM64
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future!
Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Views and location is unbeatable and though price is reasonable and on the higher side but be aware of hidden unnecessary charges like 28$ for self parking in an area where the hotel can afford to offer free self parking as well as internet which is not free!!!
Most front disk staff are very friendly and helpful except for one lady whom I will diffidently avoid if I have to stay in the hotel again.
The rooms are specious and if you are anywhere above 12th floor then you will enjoy the views and if you are lucky to stay on the 25th floor like me then you are in for the ultimate view of the Potomac and D.C
House keeping is a real pain with dirty towels (spots of makeup and dirt on them), spoiled creamer for the coffee, opening door without knocking at 8:30 in the morning and when we complained they got meaner and things got worse so be careful.
Over all and except for the house keeping I am sure you will enjoy your stay at this very busy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUV2FLY747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear LUV2FLY747
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and observatioons. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Your comments indicate that you had an issue with housekeeping for which I sincerely apologize. I am taking steps to make sure the team is properly trained so we can make the guest experience much better.
Again, thank you for your review and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.
Regards
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Unlike another traveller, we had great service from the get go. The gentleman at the front desk let us check in 2 hours early. When I went back out to get my bags I was followed, unknowingly, by a bellhop that wouldn't let us carry anything in ourselves. By the time I parked the car and got to my room our bags were set nearly by the window, not in the way as if they were tossed in a rush. The concierge was pleasant and helpful.

Yes, the parking is $24 per night... You will have that anywhere in the city. It is shown on their website so don't be surprised.

There is a free shuttle service to the airport and metro stations. Use it... Then pay the paltry fees to use the metro. It's well worth not having to park in the street in DC or sit in traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear fcoon
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the HIlton Alexandria Mark Center. I am very pleased that the bell man did such a wonderful job and meet your expectations.

Again, thank you for your review and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Property: Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing