We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel rooms, free shuttle, and delicious sushi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel rooms, free shuttle, and delicious sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I took a pleasure trip to Washington DC and since we got a deal through Expedia (buy 2 nights and get the 3rd free), we decided to stay at the Hilton Alexandria. First off, the photos online do this hotel no justice; it's much prettier in person. The room was absolutely beautiful, clean and spacious. We had no issues with the room whatsoever.

Second, the free shuttle service is actually what drew us the most to this hotel. The shuttle does a continuous loop that will bring you to the airport and the Metro subway at Crystal City. This saves you so much on cab fares! The drivers are pleasant and friendly, as well. They make it so convenient to leave the hotel since it leaves the hotel every 30 minutes. Very organized and efficient service.

Third, the restaurant Finn and Porter has an excellent sushi chef who makes the sushi in front of you...and you don't have to leave the hotel.

Overall, this was an excellent and pleasing hotel and if we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    431
    220
    131
    88
See reviews for
290
222
107
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel was not hard to find since Seminary Road is an exit off I-395. Staff was helpful from desk clerks to bell service to valet parking staff. I was upgraded to a king-bed corner room on the 25th of 30 floors. It had great views of Alexandria and Potomac River in the distance from windows on two sides that were 2/3 of the height from floor to ceiling. Fall colors of the trees added to the view. I liked the decor of the room--earth tones of chocolate and lighter brown and beige--everything coordinated from chair upholstery to bedding, to abstract paintings, to curtains, to carpet, and wall paper on one accent wall. (I'm sooo tired of dusty rose and drab green in chain hotel rooms The breakfast buffet or a la carte menu was reasonably priced and tasty. The restaurat also serves lunch and dinner but I only had breakfast there. Public computers were available to hotel guests but the printers weren't operational during my stay. I would consider staying here again since room price and valet parking charge were less than a comparable hotel in District of Columbia.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper floors are spacious, nice and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable and my room was squeaky clean. There are a few details, that if taken care of, would really help. A fresh coat of stain on the bathroom vanity would make a much better impression. The large safe is appreciated and thankfully, the room had many electrical outlets. The bed was comfortable and sheets starched to perfection. For those of us who eat healthy breakfasts, bringing a cereal box of granola is substandard. But my general satisfaction with the room did not spill over to the meeting room. The meeting was held in the retreat building which has guest rooms across the hall. Believe it or not, there was a drug bust across from the meeting room in a guest room. Needless to say, this was most disconcerting. Perhaps the hotel security could not have warned us in advance or evacuated our meeting, but the real fault of the hotel was that they did not make any effort to move the meeting, even though there were plenty of available meeting rooms in the facility and we requested they move us. So our group, when exiting for breaks, had to walk by the room with masked agents, and police outside the door. Just completely unacceptable. In addition, the parking garage could not honor a discount given to us by the hotel and could not offer an explanation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what room you are assigned to in advance because upon checkin, they are inflexible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that your group was disturbed by the arrest that was carried out across the corridor from your meeting; I know that the law enforcement officers did their very best to minimize any disruptions, and that the safety and security of all of our guests was of utmost importance to them.

I trust that your group enjoyed the complimentary refreshments that were provided by the hotel following the disturbance.

We hope to be of service again, and under less eventful circumstances.

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The people were friendly, everyone was smiling which I appreciate, service was good, the grounds were well maintained. And, they are dog friendly! They have shuttle services to make it easier to site see and get around. The rooms have been updated very nicely!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

parking was a bit awkward although adequate and a rather large army officers' event crowded the place a bit. however those were the only down sides. food was good, price was right, location was protected from traffic, pleasant setting and the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the HAMC where my wife was attending a conference. Let's start with the positives: the Hotel is well appointed, generally. The staff is helpful, if not particularly talented. There is a great shuttle bus from National airport to the hotel. The same shuttle also can take you to Pentagon City(shopping mall, Metro stop) and Old Town(tourist district). So, no car is necessary, especially if you can use the Metro(loved it). You don't really want a car because, even though they are not in an inner urban setting, they really like to make you pay for parking. My friends from MD came for a visit while we were there and had to pay even when we ate at the restaurant. They also charge for Wifi, unless you are an Honors club member. The restaurant has good food and the bartender was great. The service in the restaurant was poor. Lots of waiting and asking "where's our order". We ate there multiple times because there isn't alot else nearby.
From a conference point of view, the rooms are old, have poor, sometimes non-working plugs and other items. They charge for Wi-fi to the conference rooms(talk about CHEAP)! While the rest of the hotel seems to have been remodeled, the conference area has not.
Rooms are fine. Remodeled with large TVs, if that's what you like. Elevators are slow to respond but fast once you're in them. Go figure.
If we were to stay in that area again, I'd definitely shop around.

Room Tip: Become an Hilton Honors member to get free wifi(not sure if there are any other perks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the services that the hotel offers, and especially the shuttle services.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the service issues that you experienced in the restaurant; your experience was not a typical one. I have shared your comments with our leadership team so that improvements may be made.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this property several times over the years, and it has always been a convenient base of operations for visiting DC and Alexandria "tourist" sites...of which there are plenty. They run shuttles from the airport and metro, have an efficient front desk staff, ample parking (although pricey), and decent food service.
They also recently completed a MASSIVE renovation, and the room amenities are modern and comfortable, and the hotel common areas are nicely done and functional.
One of the best changes was the reconfiguration of the main lobby, , elegant, adding a bar and multiple flat screens to create a modern, elegant sports-bar feel. But seriously...on this trip I have a family group of over 25 staying at the hotel, and while the lobby bar was open on Friday nite, on Saturday and Sunday with all of the sports games going on there wasn't a bartender in sight, and when we asked inside the restaurant, they told us "it isn't open on weekends!" What's up with that. To make matters worse, when we left the hotel to go pick up some libations and brought them back to the hotel, the bellman told us we couldn't consume them in the lobby, but needed to go to our rooms. This was highly offensive to us as a group, and when we complained to the front desk...the problem went away.
Calling one's self a luxury property is one thing. Operating as one is quite another, and the Hilton Mark Center needs a lesson in proper staffing when groups are in town (we understand the hotel was practically sold out!) so that their guests expectations are met and their revenues increase accordingly!!

Room Tip: The higher the better, with this hotel...there are tall apartments across the way that can paritally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaHorseCrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. While I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilitiy and services, I'm sorry that you were inconvenienced by the hours of operation of the Lobby Bar. Because we have two bars in close proximity to each other, we do from time to time close the lobby bar based on the anticipated needs of our guests. Again, my apologies.

We hope to have you back again soon,

Best regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Property: Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Address: 5000 Seminary Rd, Alexandria, VA 22311-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing