We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price, Great Location, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place was a winner. My wife and I stayed here during a weekend getaway to tour D.C. during the Cherry Blossom festival. The free hotel shuttle bus made it very, very convenient to get to and from the Metro subway system. The rooms were clean and very nice. The rooms are older and the HVAC is accomplished through ducting and a central chilled water plant - which was down because it was still early spring. However, it happened to be a mild weekend, so the room was warm and stuffy and of course the windows cannot be opened. But the hotel staff was truly remarkable - providing us complimentary breakfast tickets and an upgrade to a very nice suite with a patio and sliding glass doors. So at least we had natural ventilation! And it cooled down at night so this was great. Very nice place. The views of D.C. are not all they seem to be from the website and the breakfast left little to be desired. If we had to pay for it, we would have been disappointed. But overall, this is a good place.

Room Tip: Go ahead and spend a bit more and go for the suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mack00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

nice property, a little off the tourist path but not far from Alexandria, not convenient for Metro. clean modern property, good room service, nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was a great place to stay for the price. We found it accomodating and clean. The staff was nice and the shuttle was good for getting back and forth to the metro. We stayed there with four children and found everything we needed. No breakfast, which was a downer, but the pool was nice after a long day of walking through the attractions in DC. We would stay here again if we return to the area. Much better price than anything in DC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinneroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here twice on business in the summer of 2011. Staff quite accommodating. Clean room, I was given a lovely suite on both occasions. This hotel is nowhere, and I do mean nowhere, near the Metro although they provide a regular shuttle (they could run it a bit more often - every half hour is just not enough for a business hotel). Nice grounds behind the hotel, adequate pool (under repair while I was there) and fitness center, although there are probably too few cardio machines for the size of the hotel - I was there for a military conference, and you can be sure that 250+ active duty military folks filled up the machines in a hurry at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view toward DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfisherphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I recently stayed at this property by default, however, if I am in the area once again I will stay there by choice.

To keep it short, I encountered some of the best staff in the area, inclusive of the PBX operator by the name of Peggy. She went out of her way to assist with a plethora of questions I had referencing the property and this was my first experience with the hotel, which was fantastic. In the sushi area within Finn and Porter Restaurant, Chef Kim, Baschir and Paul were absolutely superb staff and made my stay very enjoyable to the point I actually ate in a hotel restaurant two nights in a row. By the way, the sushi was spectacular and extremely fresh.

I found the rooms (I had a corner king) to be above average although some of the wallpaper and fixtures certainly need attention but the hotel is not brand new. The soft goods were nice and were in acceptable condition. If there is any downside to the property it is they do not have HD TV in the rooms. They have 42" flat screens with analog cable and a poor selection of channels.

The location to DCA Airport is about 6 miles and due to the high occupancy vehicle lane the free shuttle service bypasses all of the traffic, thank goodness. Excellent service and worth your while to try out the Hilton Alexandria Mark.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Shuttle was free and on time. I used it to get to the airport and the metro.
Bath towels are large, like bath sheets, and new.
AV was exactly as I had requested, and the pricing was as expected for a business hotel in the metro dc market.
Room was clean, bright, big, and had many plugs for today's business needs.
HHonors included wifi connectivity. Added Bonus.
Room service was fast and priced right.
Bar staff were friendly, quick and hd great service.
Happy hour menu was great and tasty.
Lobby was quiet enough to get work done or recharge and relax.
Gym was not crowded and had what I needed at 6am.

Best chicken cesar salad of my life.

Room Tip: Ask for what you would like. And don't be a jerk about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julezpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I had to change our plans litterally at the last moment as our son who was scheduled to be in DC had an accident and could not make it. We had bought a package deal for four days. Some friends of ours were visiting at the same time so we were going to give our 4 day reservation to them. They were only going to use 2 days. We were going to eat the other two. Sounds like an easy deal, right ? No way.
Their attitude; tough !
Stayed on hold for hours trying to be a good Samatine for our friends and the management at the Hilton knew they had us by the hook so they could care less.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel, which I am sorry was not a more pleasant one.

Advance purchase packages are available from time to time at a deep discount, but are unfortunately non-refundable and non-transferrable. We of course would have been able to be much more flexible changing a non-restricted reservation.

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $99 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing