We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service hotel with excellent promotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Full service hotel with excellent promotions”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband surprised me with a night at La Lorien - we got a luxurious suite, champagne, and breakfast at Brabo (an utterly epic dining experience) for $189/night. The room and sitting area was well appointed and had great amenities like a balcony, flat screen tvs, and comfortable beds, and the bathroom was equally amazing - huge, open shower, serious soaking tub, and Aveda products. We used the gym, which was clean and had a lot of good cardio equipment. I wanted to try the spa...hopefully next time! Consider eating at Brabo the night before as well - they have a restaurant and a tasting room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    251
    98
    26
    9
See reviews for
204
480
96
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

From the moment we checked in until we left our experience was excellent. We loved our room -- it was elegantly furnished, immaculate and quiet. I wanted to take the soaking tub home with me! We will definitely stay again. I can add this hotel to the list of other Kimpton Hotels I have stayed in that were equally wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The Lorien Hotel and Spa is the gem of King Street. I have stayed in this hotel (a Kimpton property) many times since it opended last year and the service has always been first rate all the way - -especially the front desk staff. The hotel is new, and everything is spotless and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I've been lucky enough to stay in one of their suites; a great experience!

The hotel's location is very convernient - a block and a half from the Metro and all Alexandria and DC have to offer. And it's on King Street - - great dining and shopping - -it's hard to get bored here. There is a free trolley that runs up and down King Street from morning until 10PM at night...a great way to see the sights if you don't feel like walking.

I used the spa for the first time last week for a Swedish massage. A one-of-a-kind experience that should not be missed. The spa is beautiful and once you go in, you would not know that you were in a downtown hotel. The spa alone is worth a trip here!

The food is very good at both Brabo (restaurant) and the Tasting Room (lighter fare). I am partial to the Tasting Room.

I highly recommend the Lorien Hotel and Spa - it's a shame I was here on business and not pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingRoadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at the Lorien Hotel just a couple of days after the double snowstorm that still had DC and Alexandria digging out from under. The staff was professional, welcoming, friendly and helpful despite all that they were dealing with. The room was beautifully decorated, comfortable (with the exception of not enough space between the bed and desk) and the King bed was perfect. We really appreciated all the extra amenities. We didn't get to try the restaurant "Brabo" beyond breakfast but did have a superb lunch at "The Brabo Tasting Room." The hotel was only a 5 minute walk to the Metro and proved to be a great base for the sightseeing that we had planned. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justanotheropinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We booked our Washington D.C. vacation through Funjet vacations staying at the Lorien Hotel in Alexandria and prepaid for the trip wiith Funjet. The location was great as it was close to the Metro. The staff was friendly enough and the room was okay but nothing special. The bathroom had a large glass door which was okay unless you wanted privacy. Not tub just a walkin shower.

We originally booked a courtyard view room but was given a room overlooking the back parking lot with the garbage dump underneath our window (garbage pick-up is very early morning). We were told there were no courtyard view rooms available ( no compensation was given for this) . The room smelled and we figured it was a pet room because there was a dog barking next door. Our stay was tolerable as we spent most of our time in D.C. and only came back to the room to sleep.

Upon check-out we were given a receipt showing the room charges and a zero balance and thought nothing of it. After we got home and received our credit card statement, we found that the hotel had charged us for the room again. My husband contacted the hotel and they blamed the mixup on Funjet. When it was finally determined that it was the hotels error they apologized and said they would debit our credit card for the room amount. When we received our next statement, we found that the hotel had charged our card again for the room amount. It took several months and alot of frustration to fix this whole mess up.

We travel alot and have never had this kind of problem before. This hotel was just not that wonderful to have to tolerate all the nonsense that they put us through. I would never recommmend this place to anyone!!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RagedyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The Lorien Hotel & Spa was a great place to escape. The hotel was beautiful but what made the experience was the friendliness of the staff, from the valet to the front desk, every person welcomed you to the hotel. Any requests were quickly and positively responded to. Absolutely will be visiting again...

The Spa was also a great experience if you get a chance to get a massage or other treatment.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewm873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Lorien was the perfect place for our weekend getaway. We booked the date night package, which includes a bottle of champagne and in-room movie - a great value. We were able to wander around Alexandria, get lunch and dinner on our own, and then come back to a cozy room to relax. With late checkout, we weren't rushed in the morning, and it felt like we had been there for an entire week, instead of just one night. And the staff were gracious and accommodating. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing