We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant , super friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant , super friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Kimpton Hotels have a kind of fun quality and the staff are welcoming and informal and really make you feel comfortable. This was no exception. This hotel has very comfortable rooms, good room service and a truly exceptional restaurant. The location is central and a short stroll from the historic centre do Alexandria. The fitness center is small but well equipped. Overall is was an enjoyable stay and I can recommend it as a solid hotel, with engaging staff and a quality restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear airblogger,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for saying with us and for taking the time to write this review. Getting positive feedback means a lot to us especially when it comes from a road worrier such as you. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be engaging and that you enjoyed our central location and out indeed exceptional restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    241
    94
    23
    9
See reviews for
198
463
93
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was stuck in the area because of the winter storm and was able to get an early check-in, a late checkout, and an additional night stay.

The staff is friendly and very helpful, (Shout out to Miss Maryland). The location is awesome. The hotel is about a 5-minute walk to/from the King Street Metro station which you can take to DCA or into DC and Maryland. For about $20 and 20-minutes a taxi will also take you to DCA.

There are several bars, delis, and restaurants in the surrounding area. If you don't want to brave the snow and cold and you are feeling a little hungry the hotel has two restaurants attached to it. Now if you just don't want to get out of your PJs, other options include 24-hour room service and local delivery.

A nice touch and way to end a busy day, just off of the lobby the hotel hosts a daily happy hour for their guests with light snacks. The atmosphere is as cozy and inviting as sitting in a living room with friends.

I can't say enough about the hotel, the staff and the experience.

Try it. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My-own-little-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello My-own-little-world,

I’m sorry to hear that you got stuck due to the winter storm but I’m glad that our team helped you to make the best out of it.
We really appreciate your awesome feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Get walls so I can't hear other rooms, get parking that doesn't cost $30 per night, get more that one chair and one bedside table per room, get employees welcoming guests that do not smoke. Many restaurants within walking distance. They do have complimentary wine (limited selection) 5:00-6:00 pm off the very small lobby area. When we were there it was completely filled with wedding party guests.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonzo8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Simonzo8723,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your important feedback! I’m disappointed that you recent experience with us did not meet your expectations.
It is very rare that we are getting comments about noise coming from other rooms and I like to apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. I have to admit that I’m a little bit confused about your comment about “getting employees welcoming guests that do not smoke” and I would like to get the opportunity to learn more about this. I would appreciate if you could contact me at tobias.arff@lorienhotelandspa.com to discuss your experience in more detail.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I frequently travel to the DC area on business, and as a woman traveling alone am especially interested in safety, convenience and comfort. Extraordinarily professional and welcoming. Great dining options on site. Additional dining/shopping options within walking distance. Metro stop just a few blocks away. Small but well-appointed gym on site. Easy cab ride from DCA. Alexandria is such a charming area, and the Lorien fits into the neighborhood so well. I dread the day when I try to book there and there are no rooms available...

Room Tip: I've stayed here at least 5 times, and haven't had a bad room yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherinejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Katherinejs,

Thank you for the great review and for your loyalty! Please feel free to reach out to me directly at: tobias.arff@lorienhotelandspa.com if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Sincerely,


Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Lorien Hotel was a wonderful getaway destination. Nestled near old town Alexandria, Virginia, it was the perfect location for both intimate privacy and easy access into the greater Washington, DC, area. Being so near a Metro station and Reagan National Airport were the initial attractions to me, but upon arrival I quickly found it's charm and Kimpton amenities very pleasing. The associated restaurants (Brabo and the Brabo Tasting Room) were excellent. And the quiet library lobby was very appealing. Being on King Street in Alexandria, it was easy for me to explore by foot the sites and shops in that interesting historic city. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and that you had the chance to explore our great restaurants. It is great to hear that you took full advantage of our convenient location in the heart of Old Town Alexandria.

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The people who work at the Lorien, especially Chase, are respectful, professional, helpful and especially courteous. Need I really say more?! I appreciate their efforts in assisting whenever I am in need.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Jaye K,

You really don’t need to say more! Thank you for your kind words. I’m fortunate to lead a team that truly cares about our guests. I’m glad that all of them and in particular Chase, the newest addition to our team, took such good care of you.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here this past week-end for the first time. I can say we were impressed and it wont be the last. Even before arriving I was impressed with the customer service. My rate decreased by $40 a night, I called reservations. They matched the new rate without any issues. Upon arrival check in was easy, and professional. Valet was a breeze. Highly recommend. Parking is a bit tough in this area. The room as was comfy. We had a room overlooking the courtyard. The noise level was not issue at all. Be sure to take the time to enjoy the outdoor fire pit with a glass of wine during the FREE Cocktail Hour!!!. I loved the late check-out at 12. Next time we will bring our Boxer. Saw lots of furry friends hanging around the hotel. Very dog friendly, no matter the size!!!.

Room Tip: Be sure to plan ahead on parking if you're not going to take advantage of the Valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis21601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Happy Birthday amlewis21601 ,

We truly appreciate that you picked us to celebrate your birthday and that you took the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your Boxer back.
I promise you that we will take very good care of all of you.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing