We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed 4 days, during the Scottish Christmas weekend.
The staff was very helpful and friendly during our entire stay. Great service from everyone, starting with the valet service when we arrived.
The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Our room was a bit on the small size, but comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and we like the large shower, I was NOT a fan of the frosted glass barn-style door for the bathroom, for me it seemed to be a privacy issue. Although I thought it was a great look for a more appropriate room.
We enjoyed the special touches in the room, such as the bathrobes and even an umbrella for our use, which got a lot of use that weekend.
The location was perfect, just 2 blocks from the Metro station, and on the quieter end of King Street. Old Town is very walkable, so many great boutique shops and restaurants, when needed, a free trolley runs the length of King St.
Being so close to the Metro made it very easy for our day trips into DC.
I really enjoyed the night time view from our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hi Elizabeth P,

I was pleased to note you found our hotel very well maintained, and found your guest room to be very comfortable, with little touches like the robes and umbrella. I am sorry the modern element of the frosted bathroom door was not to your liking. I am glad you found our location, just two blocks from the Metro station, convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for the Scottish Christmas weekend. The hotel was very nice and clean - you walk through a beautiful brick courtyard to get to the hotel itself, which was a very welcoming entrance. Check-in was fast and efficient, and all staff was very helpful and friendly during our entire stay. We had a smaller hotel room than most others in the hotel, which was fine as we booked the hotel using a TravelZoo voucher. The room was clean and very nice, however, the decor was much simpler than other Kimpton hotels I have stayed at - it felt more like a typical hotel room than most others in the brand. Although it was too cold to enjoy the weekend we were there, we had a balcony that overlooked the courtyard which was a nice touch.

The location was good as it was just a block from the Metro and train station, and right on King Street, with tons of restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed breakfast each morning from a cafe across the street each morning, which was very convenient. However, the Monaco and Morris House Kimptons are more centrally located than the Lorien.

Overall, our stay was very nice, however, I would probably try a different hotel the next time I go to Alexandria.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hi Traveler129212,

I am glad you found our hotel and staff to be very welcoming, and that you liked the balcony feature of your guest room. Wish we could control the weather, but we have our limitations. We are certainly very close to the Metro, and there are an abundance of restaurants and shops nearby.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Can not believe this hotel was rated so highly and For a Kimpton, the Lorien is subpar we booked a king suite which had a large sitting room, very large bathroom but no drawers in bedrooms only closet is in the sitting room. Ugly carpeting and decor and the hotel elevator smelled of sewage, smell of room fresheners on guest floors to mask smell. Will return next year for the Scottish Christmas walk but will never stay at this Kimpton hotel again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkmclei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello Dkmclei,

Please accept my apologies for the unique design of our large suites not always including a closet in the bedroom. I am sorry our modern décor did not suit your taste, and that there was an isolated situation of an odor in the elevator; which has since been corrected. I appreciate your loyalty to Kimpton and hope one of our area hotels will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had grabbed a Travelzoo deal intending to relax at the spa and shop/dine in Old Town for a girl's weekend. The hotel is on the main drag, so it's easy to get around on foot. It's only a couple blocks from the metro or a short ride from DC. My cab back to DC cost me 25$.

The room was a good size - we had the room with 2 doubles - and the bathroom was spacious. Very clean.

The spa was small, but offered the services one would want at a spa. The relaxation room is co-ed and caps out at 8 people. Will gave a great massage. My only complaint is that the steam room had a mildew odor, which made it less enjoyable.

We really enjoyed the Brabo tasting room, which is affiliated with the hotel and located right next door. It's low key and the food we ordered was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello Ellen28,

I am glad you found all that you needed at the Lorien Hotel & Spa for your girl’s weekend. Our location is certainly ideal amongst the hustle and bustle of King St., and right near the Metro stop. I am sorry about the steam room in the spa; we will certainly have that checked out.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with easy access to fine dining. Wine bar was fabulous! Took my sisters dog with me as he was flying to Hawaii. He got red carpet treatment at no added cost to me. Highly recommend this hotel :). Close to fun shops for interesting shopping. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello Kimberly M,

I am glad you enjoyed the excellent and friendly service provided by our staff, as well as to your sister’s dog. Our location on King Street certainly gives you excellent access to all the great boutique shops and restaurants.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice weekend stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. We brought our bikes from home and they were more than welcome to stop everything in the morning to escort us to the garage. Room was nice, no real view. We missed both happy hours. Only thing really confusing to us out of towners was arrival on Friday night. We arrived on the opposite side of the street and there is nowhere to pull in, only curb service. We had to drive around about 10 minutes to arrive on the same side of the street as the hotel. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmgmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear hmgmba,

I am glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us, and found it convenient to retrieve your bikes when needed. I am sorry your arrival experience wasn’t what both of us would have liked. For your next visit, please know our valet staff is always happy to accept your vehicle and assist you with your luggage from across the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice little spa in the hotel. My husband and I both received Swedish massages and scalp massages. Mine was really nice. My husband was in pain the next day because his masseuse did more of a deep tissue massage which is not what he wanted, but he also didn't say anything to her. Overall it was a nice experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank love2travel1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello Marina M,

I am sorry your husband’s spa experience did not align with the description of the treatment he selected. I have shared your feedback with our Spa Director. I was pleased to note you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Cordially,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,452 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $173 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing