We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for the Scottish Christmas weekend. The hotel was very nice and clean - you walk through a beautiful brick courtyard to get to the hotel itself, which was a very welcoming entrance. Check-in was fast and efficient, and all staff was very helpful and friendly during our entire stay. We had a smaller hotel room than most others in the hotel, which was fine as we booked the hotel using a TravelZoo voucher. The room was clean and very nice, however, the decor was much simpler than other Kimpton hotels I have stayed at - it felt more like a typical hotel room than most others in the brand. Although it was too cold to enjoy the weekend we were there, we had a balcony that overlooked the courtyard which was a nice touch.

The location was good as it was just a block from the Metro and train station, and right on King Street, with tons of restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed breakfast each morning from a cafe across the street each morning, which was very convenient. However, the Monaco and Morris House Kimptons are more centrally located than the Lorien.

Overall, our stay was very nice, however, I would probably try a different hotel the next time I go to Alexandria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Traveler129212,

I am glad you found our hotel and staff to be very welcoming, and that you liked the balcony feature of your guest room. Wish we could control the weather, but we have our limitations. We are certainly very close to the Metro, and there are an abundance of restaurants and shops nearby.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    221
    80
    18
    8
See reviews for
181
423
90
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Can not believe this hotel was rated so highly and For a Kimpton, the Lorien is subpar we booked a king suite which had a large sitting room, very large bathroom but no drawers in bedrooms only closet is in the sitting room. Ugly carpeting and decor and the hotel elevator smelled of sewage, smell of room fresheners on guest floors to mask smell. Will return next year for the Scottish Christmas walk but will never stay at this Kimpton hotel again..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkmclei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Dkmclei,

Please accept my apologies for the unique design of our large suites not always including a closet in the bedroom. I am sorry our modern décor did not suit your taste, and that there was an isolated situation of an odor in the elevator; which has since been corrected. I appreciate your loyalty to Kimpton and hope one of our area hotels will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had grabbed a Travelzoo deal intending to relax at the spa and shop/dine in Old Town for a girl's weekend. The hotel is on the main drag, so it's easy to get around on foot. It's only a couple blocks from the metro or a short ride from DC. My cab back to DC cost me 25$.

The room was a good size - we had the room with 2 doubles - and the bathroom was spacious. Very clean.

The spa was small, but offered the services one would want at a spa. The relaxation room is co-ed and caps out at 8 people. Will gave a great massage. My only complaint is that the steam room had a mildew odor, which made it less enjoyable.

We really enjoyed the Brabo tasting room, which is affiliated with the hotel and located right next door. It's low key and the food we ordered was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Ellen28,

I am glad you found all that you needed at the Lorien Hotel & Spa for your girl’s weekend. Our location is certainly ideal amongst the hustle and bustle of King St., and right near the Metro stop. I am sorry about the steam room in the spa; we will certainly have that checked out.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with easy access to fine dining. Wine bar was fabulous! Took my sisters dog with me as he was flying to Hawaii. He got red carpet treatment at no added cost to me. Highly recommend this hotel :). Close to fun shops for interesting shopping. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Kimberly M,

I am glad you enjoyed the excellent and friendly service provided by our staff, as well as to your sister’s dog. Our location on King Street certainly gives you excellent access to all the great boutique shops and restaurants.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice weekend stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. We brought our bikes from home and they were more than welcome to stop everything in the morning to escort us to the garage. Room was nice, no real view. We missed both happy hours. Only thing really confusing to us out of towners was arrival on Friday night. We arrived on the opposite side of the street and there is nowhere to pull in, only curb service. We had to drive around about 10 minutes to arrive on the same side of the street as the hotel. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmgmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear hmgmba,

I am glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us, and found it convenient to retrieve your bikes when needed. I am sorry your arrival experience wasn’t what both of us would have liked. For your next visit, please know our valet staff is always happy to accept your vehicle and assist you with your luggage from across the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice little spa in the hotel. My husband and I both received Swedish massages and scalp massages. Mine was really nice. My husband was in pain the next day because his masseuse did more of a deep tissue massage which is not what he wanted, but he also didn't say anything to her. Overall it was a nice experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank love2travel1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello Marina M,

I am sorry your husband’s spa experience did not align with the description of the treatment he selected. I have shared your feedback with our Spa Director. I was pleased to note you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
295 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed in several Kimpton properties and this is another very nice hotel. They go out of their way to be a little different on many levels, whether this is in the design, the integration of the architecture, etc. They simply are not cookie-cutter hotels and they adapt to their surroundings exceptionally well. Staff, as always, are excellent and accommodating. We had a small reception in the courtyard just off of the check in area and the food was excellent and the wine selection was great. We also had a dinner meeting in an auxiliary room on the main floor and the salmon was perfect. The room was nice and well appointed – but small excluding the enormous bathroom. This seems rather common in other Kiptom properties as well. Overall, a great stay for a business meeting with great rooms, excellent staff, and a nice restaurant to boot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi BoCoMoTiger,

I was pleased to note our staff provided you with wonderful service, and that you enjoyed your banquet reception and dinner with us. We definitely put a lot of effort into making our bathrooms a focal point of our guest’s experience.

I hope you can return for a longer stay next time,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Kimpton Morrison House
#15 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing