We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service and great food.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a business trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was modern and comfortable. The food (dinner and breakfast) at the restaurant was creative and tasty - try the pistachio dessert waffle!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello AR987,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us for your recent business trip. I am pleased you enjoyed the design of the hotel and had pleasant interactions with our friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experiences in our BRABO restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    249
    98
    26
    9
See reviews for
203
480
95
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful property. Very friendly staff. Incredible pricing relative to competitors. These are the main reasons one would stay at the Lorien. The minimalist, chic, elegant decore is sheathed under a traditional brick façade. It is so nondescript on the street side, that one can easily miss it amongst the wonderful shops of Oldtown Alexandria. Rooms are on the smallish side, and do not include coffeemakers for early risers. I wish that there were coffeemakers, or room service available before 7 AM, as some of us do work for a living. Valet service is excellent, and attentive. The front desk is friendly, however they do not always follow through on guest requests, causing one to have to submit a single request multiple times. All in all, more than worth the price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Jim S,

I am glad you enjoyed the design of the hotel, our friendly staff and your favorable room rate. For your next visit, please know that we do have coffee makers available upon request. I am sorry our Front Desk staff was not consistent with their follow up in regards to your requests. Your feedback is being shared with our team.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back someday,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel right in downtown Alexandria, walking distance to everything. Rooms are clean and bright, staff was super friendly, and beds were comfortable. Also... allows dogs! Actually, it doesn't just allow them, it will really take care of them if you want. I think this is awesome, but for people who don't like dogs, it turns out it's not a big deal, because they have these special collars that zap noisy dogs and to bring your dog you have to sign a waiver permitting the hotel to go in your room and put the collar on your noisy dog. Everybody wins.

I'm giving it 4-stars but it's among the best of them. I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello bodunky,

I am pleased you enjoyed our location, staff and your clean and comfortable room. We are certainly pet friendly, and we actually make “PetSafe” devices available to pet owners, if their dogs bark a lot. We do not provide any type of shock collar.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I usually love small boutique hotels and the Kimpton ones are very nice. The air-conditioning/heating system both in the room and the hall were extremely noisy (and I live in NYC so believe me, it was noisy!), and when I complained about it at checkout, the desk had no response. The desk person also did not know how to get to an address that was literally two blocks away. The room had a bit of a musty smell and was small and drab. The hotel is well located and easy to get to, but there are so many other choices in Alexandria that travelers should skip over this hotel.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imabroadwaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello Imabroadwaybaby,

I am sorry the air conditioning system was noisy and disturbed you, and that our Front Desk staff did not acknowledge your feedback and attempt to make amends. Thank you for your feedback about our agent’s opportunity relative to knowledge of the local area. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s location and that it was easy to navigate to.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Only stayed one night but was very impressed with this hotel. We were on the sixth floor and the room was excellent with a small balcony with a pleasant view over the old town, BUT, this is a review and I have to point out a couple of things which were a bit disappointing, firstly the air conditioning was overly noisey to the point that we had to turn the volume on the TV up quite loud to compensate and secondly, our room was next to the lift and wether it was that or a generator somewhere I don't know but there was a constant loud humming noise which kept my wife awake for some time during the night. On a more positive note we thoroughly enjoyed a hearty breakfast in the Brabo restaurant and overall enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pipman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello pipman55,

I was pleased to note you and your wife enjoyed the balcony off of your 6th floor guest room, as well as the wonderful view of Old Town. I am sorry the air conditioning unit was a little loud and that you were disturbed by a mechanical sound. Breakfast at BRABO is certainly a great way to start off your day.

We look forward to your return,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel and stayed for one evening. The service was friendly and helpful and I enjoyed all of the Kimpton perks: wine hour, free wifi and a $10 raid the mini bar credit.

The hotel fit right in with the surrounding neighborhood: quiet, quaint and charming. The bed was comfy and the room was nicely appointed with many outlets for charging. One negative was that the walls were thin and I could hear my neighbor coughing. Another was that it was hard to regulate the temperature in the room.

The positives of the stay exceeded the negatives and I would stay here again if I was in the area. I would not consider the area a destination, only because I think I experienced the bulk of it while there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J and M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi J and M M,

I am glad you enjoyed the quaint setting of the hotel just off King Street, as well as the comfortable room accommodations. I am sorry about the room disturbance and that you experienced issues with adjusting the room temperature.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I reserved the room at a last- minute rate and upgraded to a suite, which was small but plenty of room for one night. The room was well-decorated if a bit bland and could have used an overhead light in the sitting room. The bed was very comfy and the sheets fantastic. The bathroom was huge and nice. I gave cleanliness 4 out of 5 because there was mold at the base of the shower door, but otherwise it was clean.
Check-in and out we're fast and friendly but somehow felt a bit impersonal. Overall, it's a nice property, although not one of Kimpton's more exciting or funky ones. (I can't speak for the spa as we didn't see it.)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello Wendelfarb,

I am glad you enjoyed the comfortable bedding in your suite and found the bathroom to be large. I am sorry about the cleanliness issue in the bathroom, and that the sleek modern décor of the room left it a little lacking for your taste. I guess our check-in and check-out experiences were a little too efficient and didn’t lead to more personalized interactions. I have reviewed your feedback with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,391 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing