We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, and everyone was still chipper and friendly, so that was nice after a long drive from Boston-- no condescending or tired can't-be-bothered attitude. Check-in was smooth and quick, which was much appreciated. We mentioned the word of the month from the Kimpton InTouch facebook page which got us complimentary valet parking AND breakfast for two at Brabo! That was a huge bonus. Plus, free wi-fi if you're an InTouch member (worth joining for), and I received the Wall Street Journal just as I had requested in my profile. The hotel was immaculate, and the room was nice and spacious, as well as clean. The bathroom had a sliding door, which didn't offer much privacy, but that was fine. The AC did blow directly at the beds, which was a little uncomfortable at night, but not a big deal.
The hotel is really conveniently located at the end of King St, within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Old Town Alexandria. Overall, it was very enjoyable, and the little perks of the loyalty program were way better than the others where you have to collect points, etc. All the attention to detail was much appreciated!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fuzzbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello fuzzbrain,

I was pleased to note you received very friendly and accommodating service from our entire staff, and that you enjoyed so many Kimpton perks. I am sorry about the positioning of the AC vent and the modern design of our bathroom door. It is certainly nice to walk around Old Town and enjoy all the boutique shops, or hop on the Metro just two blocks away.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lorien on a short trip through Washington, DC. The service is impeccable and the simple rooms are well appointed. We opted for the Spa Bathroom with the bear claw tub and highly recommend it. The Lorien also has wonderful dining options and a beautiful spa on premise. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alleydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi alleydw,

I am glad you and your wife received excellent service from our team and enjoyed our upgraded spa bathroom. If you couldn’t make it to each restaurant, please keep up the visits; we feature BRABO, the BRABO Tasting Room & The Butcher’s Block.

See you soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we decided to make the trip by car to FL from the northeast instead of plane, we really wanted something more than the run-of-the-mill Inns... Hampton, Springhill, Residence, etc. -- when traveling with 3 kids, this can be a challenge!
The Lorien was our first stop. What an amazing beginning. The hotel is clean, friendly and very metropolitan. As the kids (10 &under) entered the room, they were oohing and awing the space, most especially the bathroom. It's huge! With a giant walk in shower and no door! We arrived late, ordered room service and were served great dishes at 10PM! Most importantly, the beds...so comfortable! King room with a living room, pull out sofa and a roll-a-way bed, and there was still plenty of room to move around the room. Amazing spa and great gym. We look forward to exploring this town but returning to this hotel or another "Kimpton" brand hotel soon.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. Don't use and online travel site. Tell them your travel needs. Join th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi MMdeluca,

I am thrilled that your family of five enjoyed your stay in one of our suites, and that your children really liked the massive bathroom. It sounds like you had quite the vacation before you ever reached Florida; room service dinner, a trip to the spa…

Perhaps we will see you on the way back up,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel. Very clean, loved the linens and wonderful bathrooms. Nice staff. They even went out of their way to mail my daughter's camera BACK to us, after we accidentally left it there! Overall...we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kebby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Kebby5,

I am happy to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your guest room, and that we were able to reunite your daughter with her camera. Hopefully there are some pictures of the hotel on it!

See you soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Lorian Hotel is the best! Unique, modern, sparkling clean, convenient for Old Town Alexandria strolling. Wine hour icing on the cake! We were there for our wedding anniversary trip and we were treated as very special. Our stay there was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlounc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Mlounc,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for spending it with us. I was pleased to note you were able to enjoy walking around Old Town where you can check out the various boutiques and restaurants. The only thing that might beat a super clean hotel is the complimentary wine reception; I am glad you were able to partake.

Come back and join us before another year is up,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the Lorien. I have never stayed at another one of their properties but I was impressed. I had a business meeting just down the street and it was walking distance, which was the sole decision why I stayed there and I am glad I did. Very clean, modern and fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitworth74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hello whitworth74,

I am glad our location was convenient to your meeting, and that you enjoyed the design elements and fun spirit of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I stayed at the Lorien for 3 nights in February 2012 during a family trip to DC. My daughter absolutely loved the room -- and especially the large walk-in shower. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well decorated -- minimalist and modern, painted a relaxing light blue. The hotel is located about 2 blocks to the Metro and it's about 15 minutes by Metro from central DC. We enjoyed staying in Alexandria as it was a little quieter and a better value than DC. My daughter and I walked the old cobble sidewalks every morning and loved checking out the architecture. The staff was excellent. They were so helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome and would definitely stay again if we return to DC. The Lorien is a great home base for seeing the Capital.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALS-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi ArieSD,

I am pleased to note you and your family enjoyed the décor of your guest room and the well appointed bathroom. It is certainly easy to enjoy all the shops along King Street, or to take a quick two block walk the Metro stop to head up to DC to see all the museums and monuments.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $148 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing