We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love botique hotels, you'll love this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love botique hotels, you'll love this one!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I couldn't imagine driving back to Baltimore after an even that was scheduled to start at 10 pm and end at 2 am, so I looked for a room in Old Town Alexandria and found a gem. I love the Kimpton Hotels so I was confident this one would be great. I wasn't disappointed. The room was sweet, the service was fantastic, and the price was right. I couldn't take advantage of the spa this time but will definitely schedule a get-away to do so sometime in the future. Walking thru the streets of Old Town Alexandria on a sunny Sunday morning made it even more special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoyedtheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Enjoyedtheday,

Thank you for choosing us for your late night crash pad. Something ending at 2am has to be difficult to recover from, but you chose the right place. I am glad you enjoyed your Sunday morning stroll along King Street. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and be sure to squeeze in a wonderful treatment at our Spa.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    241
    95
    25
    9
See reviews for
199
468
94
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location in old town alexandria. walking distance t the Metro, shops and restaurants. Adjacent Brabo Restaurant is very good. Kimpton hotels provides great service and the property is in great condition. Late afternoon wine is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Richinitaly,

I am glad you enjoyed our location in Old Town near the Metro, as well as our BRABO restaurant. I was pleased you received excellent service and of course a glass of wine or two.

See you next time,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lorien on King st. We love the location in Old Town Alexandria . The area is charming , lots of independent boutiques , book stores and restaurants.
All are within walking distance . We stopped here because the Lorien allows dogs .( Ours appreciated the warm welcome and treat upon arrival.)
Overall it is VERY clean and comfortable.
We also enjoyed the complimentary wine hour in the living room area . The valet parking is expensive but convenient . Also , the metro station was less about a four block walk.
We found the location to be easy on /off route 95.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glebegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Glebegirl,

Thank you for returning to the Lorien Hotel & Spa so you and your dog could enjoy all that Old Town Alexandria has to offer. I am glad you found our location convenient to the interstate, as well as to the Metro station for heading up to DC.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I decided that we desperately needed a respite from all the stress and hustle and bustle of the holidays going into the new year, but did not want to spend time in the car travelling for hours for our getaway so we decided to look for a DC Metro area that had a spa. What a delight when we discovered the Lorien Hotel and Spa. Beautifully appointed. Amazingly friendly and accommodating staff who upgraded our room when we found that our original room did not have a tub, but only a shower. We were greeted with a welcome wine hour shortly after we checked in and then had a wonderful night exploring Old Town on foot. Our room was inviting and comfortable and the next day we treated ourselves to a massage at the Spa. Everything was perfect from start to finish and we had the clear impression that the staff was there to make sure that this was so. Superb. We'll definitely come back and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We were initially told that we would have to pay for parking (at $29 per night) but we arrived on Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Laura H,

I am thrilled you and your husband discovered us and our convenient location on King Street, two blocks from the Metro and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants Alexandria has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed our evening wine reception and had the opportunity to indulge in our spa.

When you need to get away again, we’ll be here for you.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of my friends suggested 8 of us spend a New Years eve dinner and night at the Lorien. It was my first exposure to your hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. From the moment of our arrival at the registration desk (being reminded of certain discounts received when we first registered) through the dining experience (promptly seated at the precise hour of our reservation) to our checkout the following day (our car being immediately available) we fully enjoyed our experience at your hotel (creatively named, we learned, after a forest in the Lord of the Rings). We were also impressed with the food knowledge of your waiters who seemed to be intimately familiar with all of the ingredients of your restaurant's cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Jim L,

Thanks for choosing to ring in the New Year at the Lorien Hotel & Spa and our BRABO restaurant. I am glad you received an informative and friendly check-in, and encountered our knowledgeable wait staff in BRABO.

Hopefully we will see you again before it is time to welcome in 2014!

Thanks,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great boutique hotel with friendly, welcoming staff. Very clean room with great, comfortable bed, linens and pillows! Great bar/restaurant, excellent cocktails and customer service. Would definitely return but would get a larger room with more windows. We stayed in a standard king bed room (325 sq feet) and it is small. So, if you are bothered by small room size, definitely upgrade to the next size room. This is an excellent hotel, close to everything, so it will be well worth it to upgrade if that is important to you. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 858msal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello 858msal,

I was pleased to note you received a warm welcome from our staff and enjoyed the cuisine and service from our BRABO bar and restaurant. As you indicated we certainly have rooms of varying size in case you want a little more room to spread out. I am glad you found our location on King Street to be convenient to the Metro and all the things to see and do in Alexandria.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kimpton hotels remind me of my children - they're all different, and they're all wonderful.

Every Kimpton hotel I've stayed at has its own special qualities that make them special. The Lorien has an overall calm atmosphere that is extremely relaxing. We had breakfast in their cafe - the service was friendly and gracious, the food was delicious and fresh. We had one meal packed up to take with us, and the food was packed beautifully.

The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Metro station and is a beautiful area for visiting - lots of history, interesting culture and stores.

Also, it was my birthday month, and as a complete surprise, I found champagne and chocolate-dipped strawberries in our room - hoohoo!

The thing about Kimpton hotels is that, the surprises at Kimpton are always good surprises!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRothschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear SRothschild,

I am thrilled you appreciate the little surprises and delights we do for our guests. Happy Birthday from one January baby to another! I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast in BRABO, and that you found our location convenient to the Metro station on King Street.

We look forward to surprising again,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing