We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stormstown, PA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Experience!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Lorien earlier this year and had such a fabulous time that I didn't think about booking anywhere else for our return trip to DC. Everything about the hotel is superb - great vibe, excellent location, phenomenal staff and service, pristine room and most importantly - a lusciously snuggly bed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have lovely light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sseybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear sseybert,

I am glad we stayed top of mind when you booked your return visit to the DC area. I am glad you enjoyed the ambiance, our location near Metro, and our fabulously comfortable bed.

See you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    256
    99
    27
    9
See reviews for
213
489
97
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here in August as a special weekend away with my wife before leaving on long business trip. I had called ahead of time and spoke with Mitch, he ensured that our arrvial was seamless and he went out of his way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. The front desk was helpful in local recommendations, the valet staff was professional and when I got a flat tire changed it for me and found a local shop where I was able to get it repaired. Again, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, it is due to the great service of employees like Mitch that will make us repeat customers. We're planning on coming back for our anniversary - thank you for exceeding all expectations.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilA6981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear PhilA6981,

I am so pleased that Mitch assisted you prior to your arrival to ensure you had a fabulous experience. I am glad you found our Front Desk staff to be helpful with recommendations for things in Alexandria, and that our team assisted you with repairing your unfortunate flat tire.

We look forward to your anniversary visit (or perhaps prior!),

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful Kimpton hotel just a few blocks away from the King St Metro station. Quiet clean, and great staff. Easy walking access to all that Old Town Alexandria has to offer, and just a short metro train ride to Reagan airport and DC! Tried the Brabo restaurant, bar and tasting room; all of which were excellent. Had a massage at the spa and again had an excellent experience. All staff were friendly professional and polite throughout the hotel. This place/staff has their game together! Try room 301 for lots of space and a private and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Room 301 is an awesome space with a large private balcony and no common walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg90036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear kg90036,

Thank you for indulging in all we have to offer! I am glad you had a wonderful spa experience, and excellent cuisine and drinks in BRABO and our other food & beverage outlets. I was nice to note you made the most of our location just two blocks from the King Street Metro stop to pop into DC and to leave from Reagan.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A nice relaxing stay and we really did have a great weekend! We were greeted by staff that was friendly and proactive to our needs. Shane, John, and Brandon were always with a smile, suggestions, and helpful. The complimentary happy hour is lovely and the outdoor fireplace is a comfortable place to meet fellow travelers.

The room was small but pretty and soothing. We were looking forward to the large clawfoot tub as seen on the website for soaking, but we had a regular hotel bathtub. We were 4 in a room and it was a bit crowded, but still nice. I attempted to get an adjoining room to spread out, but none were available. Fortunately, we packed lightly for the weekend as there really isn't a dresser or drawers other than the desk. We were greeted with extra fluffy towels and terry bathrobes for us. Call down for complimentary Keurig coffee maker and housekeeping will restock the coffee daily. Also "chocolate pillows" for a sweet tooth.

Our pet fish we named Herman and he was awaiting us on arrival in the room. The poor little guy had a dirty tank and he was tough to spot in the cloudy water.

We called the spa for a mani/pedi at 6:30pm after reading the spa was open until 8pm, but the nail techs "went home early". A little disappointed, but making an appt on a weekend with 4 was tough.

We would all stay again and recommend for a nice getaway.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear spracr.

I was thrilled to note you received such excellent service from Shane, John, Brandon and the rest our team. I can’t wait to share your feedback with them. I am glad you enjoyed our evening wine reception and the outdoor fire pit; certainly a great place to socialize. Please accept my apologies about the claw foot tub; those are available in our upgraded guest rooms and suites. I am sorry about Herman’s bowl being cloudy. I have reviewed this with our Housekeeping team. Our Spa Staff should have been available to accommodate your request. I am reviewing our staffing levels with our Spa Director.

I hope you will have the opportunity to return soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This Kimpton was very nice. Great location. Great service and great comfort. I was here for business but would stay for pleasure another time. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.
Loved the bathroom. They provide a computer in the room and free wifi if a Kimpton member. Join as it is worth it. I asked for a coffee maker in my room which i promptly received but did not notice there was no coffee cups until morning. Make sure you have one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear dippie,

I am pleased our location was ideal for business, and that would return for a leisure trip sometime. I am glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed, modern bathroom and the in-room computer. Please accept my apologies for coffee cups not being delivered with the coffee maker. I have reviewed this with our Housekeeping staff.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived around 4pm, greeted nicely. Directed to our room no fuss no muss. Invited to the 5pm wine tasting, which was very pleasant. Loved the restaurant, loved the food, staff was very helpful and enthusiastic. Although not always well informed. Spa was quite lovely, I had a facial and my husband had a massage, both were very good. Housekeeping was ok, not perfect....they left dirty wine glasses and towels in the room on one occasion and did not replace the robe we had used.
Overall worth the money and would go again if I was in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snodgrass999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Snodgrass999,

I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our evening wine tasting and experience our wonderful spa, and our restaurant BRABO. Please accept my apologies for our Housekeeping staff not being their usual detailed selves. I have reviewed your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper, so we can eliminate these oversights in the future.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I treated ourselves to an overnight stay at the hotel to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful experience! The hotel staff, and I mean all the staff from housekeeping to valet to front desk personnel were friendly and gracious. A requested DVD player was in the room when we arrived. A referral to Restaurant Eve led to a delightful and delicious dinner and we were surprised to find champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, compliments of the front desk, when we returned to our room. We were even allowed to leave our car at the hotel before the afternoon check-in. This made it possible for us to take the Metro into D.C. to have a docent led tour of the National Gallery. All these factors made this a memorable five star anniversary adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Aubrey P,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate at the Lorien Hotel & Spa! I was thrilled to note you received friendly and thoughtful service from our entire staff and that you had the opportunity to conveniently head up to DC from the Metro stop, just two blocks from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,427 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing