We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night for my birthday. We have stayed in another Kimpton Hotel in Old Town Alexandria for a staycation night and had the same experience-AWESOME! The staff is super nice, when we checked in they did an automatic upgrade to a suite room for us. Was very cute, the room had a very modern feel but was very cozy, nice neutrals and relaxing. The suite had a clawfoot tub with huge open shower area, two flatscreen tv's, a desk/computer area and sofa set. The bedroom actually has it own room, was like a little apartment. They had free wine tasting when we arrived so after checking in, we went straight down for a few glasses before dinner. We ate at BRABO (we have before and loved it). Great service once again-thank you! They knew it was my birthday which was a nice little touch to the evening. As we were leaving, they even topped off our champagne glasses to take up with us back to the room. The bed was super comfortable and we slept wonderful. The hotel was very quiet and and didn't hear any doors slamming or anything like that, which was nice. We called too late to make spa appointments for that Sunday (totally our fault) so if you are staying on a weekend and want to do any spa appointments, make sure to call early and book before your stay. The girl on the phone did say that the weekends book up fast, but it's much easier to make a last minute appointment during the week. Checkout was easy, valet had are car ready to go and we had a wonderful night stay. We will be back. Thanks for a great birthday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday weekend us, and of course Happy Birthday! I am glad you enjoyed your roomy and luxurious suite as well as your dinner in BRABO. I was pleased to note you received birthday recognition throughout your stay from our staff, and that it made such a difference.

We hope to welcome you back before your next birthday,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    251
    98
    26
    9
See reviews for
204
480
95
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

During the recent storms, we were without power for 5 days. SO THANKFUL for the INCREDIBLE staff and room at the Lorien Hotel. Our room was a perfect layout for our family and the staff provided us with everything we needed to make our stay extremely comfortable and the closest thing to "home." We even had a computer in our room and free Wi-Fi as a Kimpton member, so we could easily work from the hotel. Brandon, Omar and the entire team at the Lorien were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were VERY clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The coffee in the lobby and wine happy hour with wood oven pizza (from The Tasting Room -- one of our favorite local restaurants) were very nice amenities. There is a gym and spa in the hotel as well. We will be sending all of our out-of-town guests to the Lorien (being two blocks away from the Metro is a plus) -- and plan to stop in to say hello to our new friends at the Lorien when we are in Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Melissa M,

I appreciate you taking the time to recognize our team members for their outstanding efforts to make sure any “Derecho” storm victims were made to feel at home while they waited for their power to return. I am glad you enjoyed the size and décor of your guest room, the complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as our other amenities. We appreciate the referrals and look forward to welcoming you back soon, under better circumstances!

Thank you,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location in Alexandria with easy access to the metro for excursions into Washington DC and within comfortable walking distance from the many restaurants and shops within Alexandria itself.
The hotel itself is very stylish and functional. The boutique style is well suited to short stays with the rooms very well appointed and equipped. The 5pm wine tasting sessions were also very well appreciated.
The staff were very helpful and eager to assist when required.
I would not hesitate returning to this hotel with either my wife or on business . . . though it is definately not suitable for families.
The restaurant within the hotel was a little pompous but the area has many restaurants to choose from so this was not really an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Peter K,

I am glad you made excellent use of our ideal location near the King St. Metro stop, as well as our close proximity to all the wonderful shopping and restaurants Alexandria has to offer. I was pleased to note you enjoyed our complimentary wine reception and that you found our team to be very accommodating. I am sorry if our BRABO restaurant was not your style, but hopefully you had an opportunity to visit our BRABO Tasting Room, which is more informal with almost a communal dining atmosphere, with equally great cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I always look up the Lorien whenever I come to DC. It's the only hotel I've ever seen that can genuinely claim to offer a modern, 21st century hotel experience. The room is pristine, the furnishings are futuristic, the spa services menu is longer than than the room service menu, and they even give you a computer in your room. All that and the price is lower than most DC hotels. I don't know how they do it, but I book it every chance I get.

Room Tip: If you like bubble baths, ask for a room with a claw-foot tub for the really authentic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Jack B,

I am thrilled that we are your hotel of choice when you travel to DC because of our modern décor, our extensive spa menu and our reasonable prices. I can’t tell you how we do it, but do look forward to your next visit!

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lorien Hotel. It was truly a whole level above any other hotel I've stayed at. The hotel itself is beautiful and very quiet. The rooms are extremly comfortable and don't feel like a hotel room at all--in a really great way! Lots of space, a nice little fridge, super clean, beautiful bedding. The bathroom was fabulous with a marble and glass walk in shower on one side and a huge center vanity with sparkling clean spa tub on the side. The service was excellent throughout the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect for exploring King Street in Alexandria and close to the Metro as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petunia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Petunia78,

I was pleased to note you really enjoyed your accommodations which didn’t feel like a hotel room to you because of all the high-end finishes and simple touches. Most of all it was nice read you received wonderful service from everyone on our team. I have shared you comments with our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Although one can't blame a hotel for an area-wide blackout, one can criticize this hotel for the fact that the air conditioning system malfunctioned for days after the blackout ended, and the staff didn't seem to know what was going on, or decided or were told not to be frank with the guests. After several period when the AC was and then was not working in the 100-degree heat, we spent a sleepless night without AC and checked out a day early. Management made no attempt to comp the guests for their discomfort. They appeared to believe that ice water in the lobby would do it.

Room Tip: The redeeming feature is the spa, but you can stay a few doors down and visit the spa. Forget privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Richard M,

I am sorry you had to suffer through the recent heat wave without a consistently operating air conditioning system. Please accept my apologies for our staff not offering more substantive explanations regarding the state of repairs to our major air conditioning equipment. I can assure you they were not trying to hold back information. The repairs were extensive and time estimates for completion were difficult to provide. We handled any adjustments with guests on an individual basis.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Super clean rooms and incredibly friendly staff make the Lorien the only place to stay in Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockStarRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear RockStarRealtor,

I am glad you enjoyed our spotless rooms and interacting with our friendly staff.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,395 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing