We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$101
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$198
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$188
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$162
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,367)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveler rating
944
273
110
31
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
273
110
31
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting roombrabo restaurantterrace suiteclaw foot tubking streetold town alexandriarain showerwine hourbathroom doorwine receptioncomplimentary winedc areamini barhappy hourvalet parkingshops and restaurantsevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,160 - 1,165 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I recently celebrated by enjoying a romantic getaway at the Lorien. Many of the staff remembered us personally from our last stay and all greeted us warmly. Our serene rainshower spa room overlooked the courtyard where an outdoor happy hour was taking place - we could see the people but could not hear them - good windows! We enjoyed a delicious meal at the restaurant - BRABO - our favorite in Alexandria. The food is at once familiar and inventive,like something you wish you had the talent, ingredients and ingenuity to make, but know you never could. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and took the meal to the next level with his recommendations. After dinner we hung the "Do not Disturb" sign outside and fell into a deep sleep on the plush bed in the spa-blue room. In the morning we luxuriated in the wonderfully scented bath products which enjoying the overhead and side-wall shower heads, then raided the well stocked mini-bar or the way out to get our car from the valet, who also remembered us from a previous visit and bid us Adieu! We will be back soon! In fact, next week I am going back to enjoy a day at the spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllAroundtheWorld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear AllAroundthe World,

What a thrill to hear about your special romantic getaway! Our rain shower room definitely provides a special feeling of luxury and comfort. Brabo does an amazing job and our Sommelier truly has the ability to make your dining experience exquisite. Please let me know when you plan on returning so I can say hello and ensure your stay is phenomenal!

Best,

Lee Seiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Everything about the Lorien is fantastic! The rooms, the staff, and the pet friendly policy that made my dog feel like the queen she thinks she is. We stayed during a stressful move, and the staff could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. I picked the Lorien for its location and its pet friendly policy. It costs more than some other hotels that allow pets, but they do not charge the high pet fee that many lower cost hotels charge so it really was a wash. In addition, the website was offering valet parking for $1 more when we booked, which was quite a deal in Old Towne Alexandria where parking is at a premium. When we got there, I knew we had made an excellent choice. The hotel is beautiful and modern with incredibly comfortable beds and linens and fantastic baths. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a suite which was a very pleasant surprise. The desk staff told us we had missed the complimentary happy hour, but got my husband and I a glass of wine to enjoy in our room. When I realized we did not have a dish for the dog food, they lent me one of those as well. All of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly and went the extra mile for us. We have always loved Kimpton hotels, and the Lorien made us remember why! Thank you Lorien staff for making us feel special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmff2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear jmff2011,


Thank you for spending time with us during your recent move! We are becoming a home away from home more and more. Our pet friendly policy definitely helps making your stay as comfortable as possible knowing that your pets are welcome too! I am so pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and that our team here was gracious and attentive. Thank you for the nice words and we hope to see you in the near future!


Warm regards,


Lee Seiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

It's difficult to find enough superlatives to describe the service at a Kimpton hotel, and the Lorien is no different. The staff are attentive and helpful at all times, and do their best to ensure your every need is met. As at all Kimptons, pets are welcome and there is free wine in the lobby or courtyard areas from 5-6 pm, and the Lorien's lounging areas are superb. The hotel does not have a large lobby but does have a very nice "living room" that serves coffee in the morning, and two courtyards provide plenty of room for socializing. The rooms are sleek and modern with glass doors to the bathroom and a white and aqua color scheme. The Lorien is right on King street and an easy walk to both the Metro and Amtrak station, as well as plenty of great restaurants and businesses. Can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kswygert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Greetings kswygert,


Thank you so much for the nice comments regarding your stay with us! It is great to hear you found our property comfortable and that our lounging areas were conducive for your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the great team we have to take care of our guests; it’s great to hear we were attentive and made your stay enjoyable. Please keep us in mind for when you return to the area. We would all love to make the Lorien Hotel and Spa your home away from home!


Warm regards,

Lee Seiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Loved this hotel.It is beautiful, very clean and the staff are wonderful. Every room in this hotel smells so good! I don't know how they do it.
Beds are very comfortable and the TVs are nice flat screens on the wall. Great location in heart of old town. Price was great too
We will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethecowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Islandman46,

Thank you so much for sharing your experince with your time spent with us! It is really a pleasure to hear that our team made your stay with us a success. We have great restaurants to choose from and the rooms are great to head back to after a great dinner. Great to hear that when it’s all wrapped for you that we made your stay a memorable one. Mission accomplished!

Warm regards,

Lee Seiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Ive stayed at most of the local Old Town hotels, and the Lorien is easily the best of the Kimpton group. Although not as strategically located as the Monaco or Morrison, Lorien's front desk and valet service, room comfort and quality, and on site restaurants make up for that small disadvantage.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews