We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bastille

Bastille
Reserve with OpenTable
Bastille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $59
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bashford Lane / Third St
Transit: Braddock Road Metro (closest with cab ride) or King Street Metro (with cab ride)
Description: Since 2006, Chefs Christophe and Michelle Poteaux's award winning brasserie and wine bar located in Old Town Alexandria has continued to offer guests a contemporary spin on French cuisine set within a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere. The Poteaux's creations are sparked by the use of seasonal, locally sourced and farm fresh ingredients. With an expansive wine list, unique draught and bottled beer selections and creative cocktails, Bastille has a little something for everyone
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great lunch and service.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I took advantage of the Restaurant Week and had lunch at the Bastille in Alexandria, VA. We had reservation and were seated immediately upon arrival by a very friendly gentleman who also ended up taking our order. He explained the Restaurant Week lunch menu to us and said that they serve the same food outside of the Restaurant Week for $5 more. There were 5 or 6 appetizers and the same number of entree and desert dishes on the menu. The variation was very good and they also had 2 fish special dishes. We ordered the warm goat cheese appetizer, The hanger steak with fries and the peach tatin. All the dishes were very delicious. The fries were very crispy and a little too brown. It was just fine for us because we love crispy and dark fries. The wait staff was extremely friendly and yet professional. The dining room is a little dark. however it will be renovated in next few weeks. Our lunch was very enjoyable and we will definitely eat at the Bastille again and will recommend it to our friends. Our bill was $60 for two people which included a glass of red wine and tip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    95
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just had an exceptional meal at The Bastille on the north end of Old Town. It was so nice not to be caught up in the touristy part of town and to be at what is one of the locals favorite spots. I told my friend tonight that I have never had a bad meal here in fact the food has always been exceptional and perfectly prepared. The value is incredible too! Tonight I had the branzino with tabouleh, it was perfectly cooked and tasted fantastic, my friend had the lamb chops with mousaka that was just delicious, we both had the tomato and cucumber salad that was also exceptional. We had a very nice Sauvignon Blanc with dinner and excellent sparkling water. Our server Matthew did a fantastic job and we never had to wait or track him down for service. The service was excellent! It seems the people there are very proud of what they are doing and it shows. We are certainly going to become a lot more regular in our visits to the Bastille. It was a really very nice dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming and a culinary delight!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Even with the neighborhood in significant transition (lots of construction) this place manages to provide high quality food without pretension.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OR-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Bastille has Great Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is wonderful. Regarding the food, I liked everything every time we've visited. The atmosphere is very relaxing; it's very pleasant. The service is outstanding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Just the Right Place for Good Food and An Intimate Conversation”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Set in the northern part of Alexandria, away fromt the bustle of King and Washington Streets, Bastille is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing or shopping. The menu provides the full flavor of a French bistro with appretizers, entrees and desserts crafted for the discriminating diner. The sauces set the stage for full enjoyment of the main courses of beef, chicken and fish. A wine list with a full array of choices adds to a tasty dinner. Most important is the ambience with its intimacy, perfect for a serious conversation or a romantic interlude. The portions are surprisingly small and the wait staff a bit on the brusque side, but there is no pressure to "eat and run." Close off the day with coffee and dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastille also viewed

 

Been to Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing