We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in D.C. Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in D.C. Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This is a very nice quiet hotel in a nice part of Alexandria. There really isn't much in walking distance but you are only a short two mile or so drive from the main strip in Alexandria with all the shops and restaurants. It's also only a few blocks from the Metro station which is nice. If you're looking for a nice quiet clean place to stay in the D.C. area, I think this is a good bet.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    132
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
124
88
29
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
294 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Hotel is very nice and fairly new. The Gym is much better than most Residence Inns and the Breakfast and Happy Hour Snacks at night are good. The only issue we ran into in the 3 nights we stayed was the parking. They have limited space and it is purchased by you when you check in. If there is not a space available you will have to park 2 city blocks away. The parking is not far, just a hassle especially if you are driving back and forth. I would suggest the hotel try to work something out with the large parking Deck so that people staying at the hotel do not have to pay so much. Overnight parking at the hotel is 15$ a day; at the parking lot down the street it is $10 overnight and varies depending on how long you park during the day. Very nice hotel, there is no pool, but it is a nice hotel to get back and forth to DC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Two friends and I travel to Washington DC every year in march. We have stayed at a lot of different hotels. The residence inn on Mill road in Alexandria VA was beyond all i could hope for. They had spotless rooms, free wi-fi, an amazing aray of food for breakfast, free newspapers, shuttle rides for up to 2 miles around the hotel, close enough to the metro to walk and far enough away not to hear it at night. Their rooms have dishwasher, food disposal, glassware, drink ware, silverware, full fridge and freezer, dinette and chairs, desk and chair king size bed and a couch that pulls out into a bed. The bathrooms are spacious with a seperate area with sink to finish getting ready in. Hair dryers included, plenty of free linens, a closet, big screen tv, and a beautiful view. the decor of the room was beyond gorgeous. They are very close to great restaurants. And its in a safe neighbood. Staff was more than friendly and of assistance when needed. They have elevators that go clear to a gated car garage for . Very very very nice. and will be staying there in march 2011.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cweekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had a great experience at this hotel! Very clean, decent security, and concierge was friendly and helpful. My room was more than what I expected and that is a good thing. I found this hotel very accomodating and no problems. I wish they would honor the price I paid for my room last year and I would come and stay again each year once every two months. Lol. Lets see here, Starbucks, thai, american, italian restaurants five min walk from the hotel along with Metro, couldn't ask for a better hotel.

To the GM, please take me up on my offer. :D

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Not enough room for 2 adults 2 childeren, no rollaways, not enough seating for breakfast -- families wait standing up while singles take up the bigger tables inconsiderate people ... Was told there was pakring but when we showed up I was forced to park in a garage away from the hotel and I had to carry my luggage all the way down there.... I had to ask multiple times for items to be brought up to room... I paid over $200 for this hotel and it was not worth that...

It is a new hotel and the rooms are very nice...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianmayeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We usually stay in Alexandria when visiting DC, due to the great value, beautiful area, and proximity to the metro. We booked a one bedroom suite for two nights at this hotel due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor and the excellent value it afforded. So, when we arrived, I can say we had overly high expectations. On check in, we were told our room had been downgraded to a studio, because a lawyer needed our originally booked room an extra night due to a long case. Apparently this is required by law. They reduced our rate each night by $15, but we think one of the nights should have been comped, or at least attempted to find a similar room at a nearby sister hotel. We then were told there was no more on site parking, and we had to park on the street. However, it does say there is limited parking on the hotel website, so we didn't complain. The hotel was well maintained and very clean, and had a great breakfast area. Our room was very clean and had great views. We enjoyed the free wireless internet as well. Unlike in past reviews, we never found the staff exceptionally helpful during our stay. At one point, I went to the front desk to ask a question, and the two staff there were both on the phone. Another walked out from the office behind the desk, looked up at me, and then picked up a phone. I found this very rude, and I was disappointed because I had heard such high remarks on the staff. Other than the front desk staff, the hotel was perfect for our needs. We would stay here again, however our experience with the staff could prompt us to stay at the Duke Street property instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hevdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were in a one bedroom King Suite, and loved it. The living room and kitchen made the stay so nice, and we were able to stretch out and relax after a few long days of touring DC. The metro is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, so we did not use the free shuttle they offer. The free breakfast was good, better than most. The room was very quiet, and well appointed. Would definitely stay here again. Only one small problem. The room was not made up when we returned at 4:30 pm the first full day. I did find someone, and she quickly made the beds, and replaced towels. The room was again not made up when we returned the second day at 10:30 PM. I was a bit annoyed at this, and called the front desk. They had no explanation, but did send someone up with towels, coffee, etc. All the people who worked at the front desk, day and night were very helpful. The only other downside to this hotel is there not much nearby as far as restaurants or shops, etc. Old Town Alexandria is a cab or short drive away, though. Also there is only street parking, so count on paying the $15 a day parking fee to park in the hotel garage.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing