We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice rooms and great free bkfst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms and great free bkfst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked a one bedroom suite and a two bedroom suite. Both rooms were very clean, with a great layout and very nice overall. The free breakfast is very good. The free shuttles to Old Town make this hotel the best value in the area to enjoy what the area has to offer. Highly recommend. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnowandtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for expressing how very nice our hotel is. It is always very pleasing to see how we have earned another repeat loyal customer through our very clean rooms, elaborate free breakfast, convenient walking distance location, and free shuttle van services. I am extremely proud of my staff for maintaining the consistency of high service levels that makes our hotel the first choice for so many travelers such as yourself. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team. Once again thank you and I look forward to accommodating you again on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    135
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
127
89
29
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a fairly new Residence Inn and offers what most of them do. I find the stock furniture uncomfortable and ugly. Our room had a sofa, but no easy chair. Breakfast very nice-- varied and ample. Not located close to Old Town Alexandria, but there is a shuttle that will take you to nearby restaurants and probably (although I did not ask) a nearby Metro Station. There is no street parking unless you are very, very lucky, so add $18 for that. Staff nice and tries to please. Pretty plain vanilla, overall.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Our complimentary breakfast and evening social meals offers the best variety and quality in the area, I am glad you enjoyed them! Combining this with our close walking distance location to an abundant array of attractions (and the metro); and the convenience of our complimentary shuttle service provides a tremendous value that makes our hotel the first choice for so many Alexandria travelers such as yourself. Thank you very much for being one of the many loyal repeat Marriott customers that enjoys our top notch customer service and Residence Inn’s highly acclaimed nouveau décor. I look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Residence Inn one year ago and while we were satisfied overall it seems there has been a slight lessening in service. Specifically the room cleaning was not up to the expectations we had set from our last visit. We were required to request additonal towels that were not replenished, same with soap and exhausted in room shampoos. Some small trash items were left on the floor (just a couple of water bottle caps inadvertenly dropped). This sounds pretty petty but frankly our last experience was superior and we thought it was worth mentioning some of the minor pitfalls to management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with me the experience you had at my hotel. I find it to be the most generous of deeds because it enables me the ability to sustain the highest level of customer service we are accustomed to providing as demonstrated by the remainder of these tripadvisor postings. To prove my commitment, I welcome you to contact me personally the next time you visit and I will make it right for you. Once again thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at the Residence Inn while in Alexandria for a long weekend. Very nice place. (Wish I had thought to stay here when last visiting DC. Close to Metro & much cheaper than staying in DC) We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. King bed is always comfy. Room was immaculate. This hotel was within a 4 hour drive from home so it was easy to load up the car with all those extras we'd need for a 5 day visit. We've been staying in a lot of Residence Inns in the last 4 years & I feel we're "hooked" on the extra room & full kitchen. Also, free breakfast each morning. Not necessarily a huge selection to choose from but perfect for us.
Parking was $18 daily. But you can always park on the street for free on weekends. We paid the $18. Very secure & worth it.
They also have a free shuttle service to get around town, within a 3 mile radius, which can pretty much get you to any place you plan to go or to a Metro station. We didn't use it because we had our car but, it we didn't, it would've been very convenient.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jersey721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing how “hooked” you are on my hotel. It is always so rewarding to see how our winning recipe of clean comfy rooms, free breakfast and dinner, friendly helpful service, and extremely convenient location is resulting in a growing following of satisfied guests (just like yourself) that “Will definitely stay here again”. Once again thank you and I look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very nice. Stayed in a one bedroom suite. King sized bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast was good with lots of choices - eggs, cereal, waffles. Wish the fruit choices were better. The apples looked like they had been there for days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful rating of my hotel. We pride ourselves on having the most elaborate choices of complimentary breakfast items, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed them. Combined with comfortable beds, clean rooms, and a friendly staff, equates to a "Nice Hotel"! Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First off I will admit that I chose this property as I was able to get my Marriott employee rate here, but boy was I pleased with this decision! We came for my brothers wedding so I had some family with me, the staff was very accomodating with everyone's needs! Every morning at breakfast my grandma would need water and Jenny would make sure my grandma had it by either getting it for her, or checking to make sure my grandma had gotten it herself, as it wasn't in the eating area. Unfortunately I don't remember too many of the front desk agents but they were always so helpful and even got us the shuttle to take us to the metro on the day we decided not to drive into the city. Our driver there was Barry and he was so friendly and made us laugh! We had to iron a lot of wedding chair covers for my brothers wedding and when we started, one of the irons was not working properly, so they were prompt in bringing us up a new one.
The breakfast each day was really good and I have to say I miss it now that I am home!
I really have so many good things to say about this place and will definitely consider staying there in my future stays, and will recommend it when I am booking people to stay in the area.
The only one thing that happened was when we were packing up to leave, my husband checked under the bed and found an old orange juice container, it wasn't ours so I don't know how long it had been there, we were surprised as the rest if the room was so nice and clean!
Also I was worried we would have a noisy room as our bedroom window looked out in the metro tracks(my little brother slept in the living room and had a view if the Masonic temple, which he was really excited about). The noise level was very minimal and didn't bother us at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of my hotel. I am extremely proud of my employees particularly when guests compliment so many of them in various different departments. I am glad that you got to experience the culmination of superb customer service when it is combined with a state of the art sound proof facility conveniently positioned in a great location that is walking distance to everything. It is due to so many customer lodging experiences just like yours which is the reason why our hotel is the first choice for so many travelers when they visit the Washington DC area. Once again thank you, and I look forward to seeing you again when you return for your next visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is outstanding. I have no complaints. It was perfect. So clean you could eat off the floor.
I will stay here every time I'm in the area. You cannot go wrong with this place. I can't not say enough about this place. I was there on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review you gave of my property. I too cannot get enough of this exceptional staff that consistently does a remarkable job with the cleanliness of the hotel along with friendly and helpful customer service too. It also helps that we are conveniently located in the heart of walking distance to both local shops and the metro station. Thank you for being a loyal repeat customer and making our hotel your first choice when you come to the DC area. I look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Westin Alexandria
#12 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing