We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel 3 nights a week almost every week as a travelling consultant. I have been travelling like this for 15+ years, and I can truly say that this hotel and staff are tops! Great location and easy access to the DC Beltway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Jon S,
Thank you very much for the great review! Our loyal guests are very important to us so I'm glad you find our property, location and staff top notch!
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    134
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
127
89
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stay here 2-3 times each month. The staff has always made me feel welcome and appreciated. The location is very convenient to the US Patent ad Trademark Office and to the Federal District court in Alexandria. I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadwarrior D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Roadwarrior D!
Thanks for the 5 star review! We value our repeat guests a great deal so to hear you say you wouldn't consider stay anywhere else is fantastic! Your comments about our staff and our location are very much appreciated!
Thanks again, and we'll see you soon.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel. The staff has been very accommodating and the friendly. The amenities, room, and morning breakfast are tops! The rooms are clean and the common areas of the hotel are maintained well. I was able to walk to either the King St. Metro Station or to the Eisenhower Station. Super Location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank ramjet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of the hotel was within walking distance from restaurants, AMC movie theatre. The hotel provides a Shuttle service to/from the airport and to/from Metro/bus station. The room was spacious with a full kitchen(that was a plus for a family). Complimentary Breakfast is provided every morning with a different item in the menu everyday. The fitness center has a state of the art equipment s. Overall it was a good choice.Excellent customer and room service. Staff are very courteous.

Room Tip: higher floors are better as you get to have a spectacular view of some of the area monument and of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myriam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was in town for a training class and stayed at this hotel. I found it rather cold and inpersonal with the staff more or less just doing their job and not making much of a extra step to make you comfortable. In one case more interested in talking on the phone than helping me. It is within walking distance of Duke Street and there are a few restaurants around a little closer. The breakfast is pretty standard with the powered eggs (or so they seemed) and usual breakfast fare you find in most hotels. Interesting was the evening "manager specials" the night I was there was nacho night and was quite good. Besides the $200 per night hotel charge there is the $18 parking which always annoys me. So pretty standard, nothing special.

Room Tip: try to stay away from the train side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

... from Kelvin at the front desk, who tried very hard to help us. Hotel is very handy for the metro, and is very comfortable, especially the mattress. The room ws large and very well furnished. Altogether very good value for money. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

All of the staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is very well maintained. The lobby area is very welcoming and relaxing. The staff go out of their way to take care of you and any needs you may have. The complimentary breakfast offers many choices and the evening social is always a pleasant way to end the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing