We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay in the DC area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Mercersburg, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn since it was so close to Mt. Vernon (about 9 easy miles) and also to Old Town Alexandria. The front desk staff was very helpful. Our room was exceptionally clean and quiet. Complimentary breakfast was better than I expected. The hotel is also very easy access to Washington, DC sights. I would readily stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
JEO_1973,
Thank you very much for the 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! Your comments about the front desk staff, housekeeping service, breakfast and location are very much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area.
Jim Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    135
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
127
89
29
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were in Alexandria, VA recently for a wedding. We chose to stay at the Carlyle Residence in Marriott after staying at one while traveling on business earlier in the year. We are completely sold now on the whole Residence Inn experience and philosophy. Our stay at the Carlyle Residence Inn was peaceful, comfortable, and in a perfect location. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank a_johnson_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Greetings a_johnson_young!
Thanks for the 5 star review! It's always nice to see such positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area!
Jim Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights.
It's the sort of the hotel that is great for business.
No hussle, no problems. Rooms have all the modcons. Very clean.
The only negative thing I can say is that the elevators take a long time to arrive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend for his brother's wedding. The front desk staff was amazing...went over everything with us and how the shuttle service work versus the metro to go into DC. Going into DC was very easy. The hotel has comp shuttle for the local area and we used it all weekend...saved us so much in taxi fees...the drivers were SO friendly. We upgraded to a deluxe suite and was worth it the extra room and space. The hotel was in excellent condition. The staff and overall service was super!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vickie73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi vickie73_10,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle and our beautiful suites. Your kind words about the front desk and staff service overall are especially appreciated!

Thanks again, and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the DC/Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayshore ny
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

stayed here for a girl's weekend. Room was great. Clean , well stocked with everything you need to cook. Hotel provides a schuttle that will take you to trais station, Old town and anywhere in a reasonable distance. this mad going onto DC a breeze. The entire staff was awesome but a special shout out to Pam & Eric thank you taking the time to answer all our questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and grown daughter spent the weekend and had another wonderful experience. The hotel is a short walk from two metro stations. It is clean inside and out. The rooms are geared to the business traveler and are very nice. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The full kitchen allows us the flexability of preparing a meal ourselves when we choose. The free shuttle to Old-Town is nice for a day of shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions about places to eat near by and activities that might appeal to us. This has become our hotel of choice when visiting the DC/Alexandria area. Its in a safe and quiet area, just nice all around.

Room Tip: The corner suite has a large curved window that has a great view and is very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying in a two bedroom two bath suite. Small but functional. Furniture in hotel is in bad condition. Hotel is in need of renovation or marriott should pull their banner from property. I am suppose to be sleeping on the sofabed, it is in such bad condition that i had to go to walmart and purchase an air mattress. Much more comfortable than the sofabed. When i complained, i was told by the manager megan that it was a sofabed and it was not suppose to be comfortable. I disagree at the rate of $259 plus 18 for parking per night. I know its D C, but that is stretching it. I had better service in NY than here. The chairs have torn places on them, the dining chairs are dirty also. The wall paper is peeling off the wall in the bathroom, the carpet is clean, and maid service such as it is, is daily. There is a complimentary breakfast thats ok and a nightly managers social thats ok. The hotel is close to the yellow line of the metro which makes dc easy by train. Because of the issues with the hotel, i cannot recommend it as one of my favorites.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumdrop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing