We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
KC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently traveled with my rather frail, elderly parents to DC to sightsee. I called the night before to confirm an accessible room. No problem. We had two 1 bedroom suites. They were roomy and well laid out for privacy, with the bathroom separate from bedroom and sink area separate from toilet/shower room. The desk staff was extremely friendly, helpful at every turn and responsive to our needs. My parents were thrilled with the visit and really appreciated the friendly service staff. I'm Platinum and asked for upgrade to 2 bedroom suite on the weekend (not available during week). It was awesome and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. I would especially like to recognize Pam, who seems to work 24 hours a day. I don't remember other names of desk staff, but kudos to all. Breakfast every day and social hour in evenings on Mon-Thurs was better than usual Residence Inn fare.
Warning, there is construction in the area. My GPS was confused a bit. I would recommend taking hotel shuttle to King Street. The driver knew short cuts to bypass the terrible traffic. That service ends at about 9 pm on weekends. We ended up walking back a little late after dinner one night (not the parents) and it was a nice walk. I know there is a metro station within walking distance but we had a car. Parking is rather expensive and the garage was full at times. We had handicap sticker so it didn't matter, but might be an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi MaryannKC!
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. I'm very happy we earned a five star review! I'm also happy to read the positive comments about our staff service and friendliness (I will be sure to let Pam know of your review), our complimentary breakfast/evening social, and the room quality.
Thank you again, and I hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    137
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
128
91
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom suite, family of five, with 3 small children. We usually try to stay at Residence Inns for that reason. This one in particular was especially clean, well kept, and prepared. The shape of the hotel allows for the 2 BR suites to be more spacious than usual. The front desk staff is so very helpful in answering questions in regards to sightseeing the capital, Metro, etc. we chose this location outside of the city for quiet and safety, and the Metro station is only a few blocks away; which the hotel shuttle will gladly take you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mom1Kiddos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi Mom1Kiddoa!
Thank you for the 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town at Carlyle! I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. Safe travels, and I hope to see you again when visiting the DC/Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Okay, so I travel extensively with my job. I also travel frequently with my family. I can honestly say that this hotel is always immaculate. My room is always stocked with towels, a super clean kitchen and is the next best thing to being at home.You can bring pets with a small deposit, and there is a laundry on-site for families or extended stays. There is a metro right near by, and there are plenty of restaurants and even a movie theatre within walking distance. The area is so nice and the location is perfect for Metro riders, people with children, commuters, etc. There is a great breakfast every morning, and there is also a dinner every Monday - Thursday night with cocktails. It is really a wonderful choice whether you are traveling alone or with family and pets. You cannot find a nicer staff that will greet you by name when you walk in the door the second time you stay this Residence Inn Alexandria at the Carlyle. This hotel knows the secret to great customer service.

Room Tip: Second floor is a bit noisier due to the laundry room and exercise room. BUT...it is more convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Hi Dianne J!
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! I am very happy to read such positive comments about the cleanliness, our location, amenities, complimentary breakfast/dinner and the staff service!
Again, thank you very much, and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the area.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRESTVIEW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Great people, spacious rooms, awesome breakfast & mgrs specials. Expensive parking (18/ nite). Only 7/ nite in garage across the street! Awesome stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jv9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Hello Jv9842!
Thanks for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. Your 5 star review is very much appreciated, and I'm glad you had an "Awesome stay!".
We hope to see you again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I recently returned from a quick overnight trip to Washington, DC for a retirement party. I can't say enough about the service at this hotel. I travel frequently and it's not often that the service is this exceptional. Mike, the manager, was helpful from my very first phone call (looking for directions) to parking to helping with my accommodations. Pam was equally helpful with restaurant suggestions and really friendly. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 608. At the end of the hall and was very quiet. Very comfortable bed. If you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Hi Ellen T,
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! I am very happy to to read such a nice review about our hotel rooms, and the exceptional staff service, specifically Mike, Pam and the front desk team!
We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria area! I am also from Boston so I look forward to meeting you!
Thanks again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I just returned from a 2 week stay at the Carlyle St Residence Inn. Here are a few observatiuons:

Negatives:

1. Dining Area

I'm not talking about the rooms, I'm referrung to the communal dining area on the first floor. There are insufficient tables to handle the peak dining needs of the hotel. Consequently, there are people who are forced out into the lobby area to eat in comfy chairs with their food perched precariously on their laps.

Another issue is the buffet setup. The buffet is tucked in a corner, creating chokepoints. I am not sure logistically what can be done about this issue, since they only have so much space to work with.

I would have appreciated it if they had left some fruit out during non meal hours. Apples and oranges would have been fine.

2. Location

I actually liked the location, but it could be considered a negative for some. You will want to call for the shuttle service if you are carrying bags or are mobility challeneged. However, It is not in the heart of olltown, but the new(?) oldtown. For partyers and others who want to be in the heart of the action you are not in it.

3. Rooms

I stayed in a Studio Suite, so can not vouch for the other room types. As you might imagine, this is nothing more than a studio room. There is no separation between living, dining, and bedroom other than a little space on the floor. If you have kids with you and are looking for privacy you will want anbother room choice.

Thats it for the bad, now on to the good!

Positives

1. Dining Area:

I know, I already put down the dining area, but there area also some good things. There are plenty of TVs around for guests to watch while eating. Even the lobby area where overflow ends up has a TV.

Dinner is served Monday - Thursday, not Mon - Wed as som of the other Residence Inns advertise.

2. Location

As I stated earlier, I liked the location. It is a little out of the way though. I managed to walk to King Street station in about 11 minutes. Much more convenient, although with fewer trains, is Eisenhaur Station. There is a shortcut to the station across the street from the hotel, just find the overhead train tracks and follow them away from King St station. This shortcut will also take you to the AMC theaters. Very convenient if you like to watch movies on your down time. They have early pricing of $6 before noon. Alongside the multiplex are a variety of restaurants.

3. Rooms

My Studio Suite was well layed out and the furnishings were comfortable and nice. The TV swivelled so you could watch it wherever you were. I usually only watch TV in the morning but it was nice to wake up with the news and weather without having to go sit in the living area. The kitchen was small but efficient with a full sized refrigerator with built in ice-maker (I had to flip the switch to get the ice to produce). There is no oven but there is a 2 burner stove and microwave. I placed my dishes in the dishwasher and the maid took care of putting in the soap and turning it on. There are plates, silverware, cooking utensils and pans in the room. My room was always kept clean, and none of my stuff was molested.

4. Shuttle Service

I do not know how many shuttles they have running at any one time, but I never had to wait more than 5 min. for a shuttle. I sepdom needed the shuttle as I usually walked to the metro at Eisenhaur station, but I was sure glad to have it when I wanted it. Apart from the Metro stops, they take you to restaurants, the grocery store, bar hopping, or even church. Give them a tip when you ride, they deserve it.

Thats about it as far as I can remember. Overall, I'd give them 4 1/2 stars. It was a good experience. As the title says, the good outweighs the bad.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: I was on the side away from the subway, but could still here it every time it went past. I hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank We_love_to_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

kitchen, free breakfast, buffet dinner, quiet, right near Eisenhower metro stop, clean, great staff ---- I do not get this at my house

Room Tip: some rooms face train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi grandpaBoston!
Thank you very much for your 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and dinner, location, room quality and our "great staff". We take great pride in our hotel, so I'm glad we exceeded your expectations.

Since I'm from Boston, your "grandpaBoston" caught my eye. Next time you're in the Alexandria area, I look forward to meeting you.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#12 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing