We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful cupcakes, excellent service”

Lavender Moon Cupcakery
Ranked #1 of 27 Bakeries in Alexandria
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful cupcakes, excellent service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

what an amazing little cupcake shop in Old Town! the taste compositions are unique, the interior of the store is tasteful and well-organized, and the staff is helpful and nice altogether. always a treat, especially compared to other - overrated - cupcake bakeries in the DC area (including in Old Town).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wakanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    43
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than all the rest”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I am still dreaming of the chocolate blackberry cabernet cupcake I had earlier today. I cant even describe it, it was out of this world. my son had chocolate with peanut butter mousse. My son is 5 and did not appreciate the sophisticated mousse so I scraped it off and happily ate it myself. I had a very hard time deciding which flavor to try, they all looked yummy. This is my second time at the shop and it is quickly becoming a favorite.

Helpful?
Thank momopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Rated a 91”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everywhere we travel my 17 year old daughter, who has been baking cupcakes since about 10 years old, tries and rates cupcakes. These must have been very good as she gave them a 91.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Love this little place!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Try the red velvet. The frosting was delicious. Also loved the chocolate truffle. Cute seating area. I was told all cupcakes are organic as well. I've been twice and both times had yummy cupcakes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decadent and *so* worth it.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The quintessential cupcake shop with traditional and inventive options that change daily. The ladies are always gracious with their descriptions and soo pleasant. I never miss it when in town and can't walk out with out 'one for the road'. It isn't often that something looks that perfect and tastes even better.
The red velvet, vanilla and triple cholocate were our birthday celebration order but the peanut butter chocolate tasted like a Reese cup dream and the coconut macaroon didn't make it out of the store - it called for an emergency to sit down and immediately indulge! It was a tough call as there were several options for the day and the sweet potato chocolate chip and smores cupcakes looked gorgeous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Moon Cupcakery also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Lavender Moon Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing