We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent DC outskirts hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Barryville, United States
1 review
“Excellent DC outskirts hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I were traveling home from a trip in FL back to NY and decided to stop with the kids for the night at a hotel. We went online while driving and she found this chain of hotels that has 3 of them within 10 miles of each other and called up. got the operator for the brand and she was extremely helpful with finding us a room in one of the 3 hotels since the first one was sold out. even asked if we had AAA for a discount and was greeted by the front desk with everything ready check in was under 2 mins and we were in the room within 5 mins. Clean, well taken care off rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    144
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
367
84
20
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've stayed at many Homewood Suites over the years, and this one was less impressive than others, though there wasn't anything really wrong with it, just some things that could have been a bit better.

On the plus side, it's easy to find, and there are plenty of stores (Target), restaurants, and gas stations nearby. Like any Homewood Suites, the breakfast is generous, and the rooms have kitchens.

We had a nice view of a wooded area from our room, and the room was very quiet. Service was prompt and friendly. Free parking is a bonus. We did not attempt to use the shuttle service to the nearby Metro train station.

On the minus side, the setup of the room (1-bedroom, 2-queen plus sofabed) was awkward for a family of six, much more awkward than usual. Once the sofabed was pulled out, it was very difficult to move from the kitchen side to the bedroom side. The room felt smaller than others we've had with similar setups. In addition, there wasn't a good place to put the suitcase.

The shower was good in pressure and temperature, but very tall (which my husband liked), but unadjustable and not centered so that it was uncomfortable for shorter people. The beds were very soft. Our sink did not hold water.

Overall, the room was ok for the rate paid ($107) and I think it would have been more comfortable for a family of four who is not using the sofabed. It was not a bad hotel experience, but it was not completely satisfying, either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Going to DC? This is the place to stay...large rooms, great hospitality, great breakfast. Don't usually write these things, but taking the time to, so stay here. They even require 200 characters and I don't have that yet and I am taking more time to try and let you people know about a great place to stay. They even have a pool table and checkers/chess table.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank NCStig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visiting family member who is attending college at George Washington University and this was a good spot. This hotel is an interior design master piece .. the lobby is huge, we managed to have a family pizza night in the back that was great ... it is beautiful .. the boys used the work out room and I used the office center.. the beds were great as I have come to expect with the Hilton hotels . the breakfast was plentiful and lots of fresh fruit .. there is a MacDonalds RIGHT across the street and a 7-ll at end of block, so if you need walking distance stores its there .. the parking is free not, something you usally get on east coast .. so that was great and there were lots of resturants and shopping close .. the hotel offered free shuttle, we didn't use it this time but it was busy and people were happy. ... the front desk staff were execeptional with getting us all on the same floor at the last minute .. and great suggestions for dinning .. you must try Clyde's at Mark Center if you go .. Great stay .. Good price ... We will be staying here everytime we make the family visit !!

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor and it was very quiet for us.. we had a family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holtdmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at this Homewood Suites while visiting Washington DC. The rooms are very nice and the staff is very nice. They have a free shuttle to the Metro. The drivers are very nice. Once when we were just getting off the Metro upstairs, he was about to leave to go to the hotel when he saw us and waited for us. He didn't have to do that which was very nice. We never had to wait more than five minutes at the hotel or at the metro. It is nice to tip the drivers! An added special at this Homewood Suite is that they have dinner free Monday-Thursday. It sure helps with the budget. Ther is a good variety of breakfast food.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Staff took great care of us. They were proud of their hotel and it showed ! Breakfast was lovely. The lobby was huge but cozy enough for a pizza and visit with relatives. Very close to everything we wanted to see. I highly recommend this hotel for families!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denoyer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice hotel - convenient to Washington DC and local restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was awesome - everyone in our party enjoyed it the two days we were there. The dining area is spacious and the food area was clean and nicely presented. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Washington DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing