We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites, Alexandria, Va.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homewood Suites, Alexandria, Va.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We always stay at Hilton Hotels so naturally, I expected this one to be on par with the quality of a higher end hotel. Pool staff was great. The lobby is beautiful, first impression was really good till we got to the room. It was clean, but furniture was well worn, sofa was aged looking and dirty, bathtub had cracks in it. When we turned on whirl pool jets, clumps of hair came out into the water and we could not use it. Bed was comfortable. I was told there was an oven in the full kitchen, but there is not.
I could deal with all of this, but the WORST part of the stay was the breakfast staff (with the exception of one woman), breakfast ends at 10, there is plenty of food but if you get there at 9:50 you better be prepared to grab everything you can quickly because they start to take the food just before breakfast ends. If you are making a waffle, you won't be able to go get syrup and butter. They take away the cups for drinks, unplug the waffle maker while your waffle is cooking. They have no regard or respect for the guests. When I mentioned to one staff member that I have never been in a hotel that takes everything away so quickly she responded by saying, "Ten o'clock is ten o'clock." Well for this guest, ten o'clock is never returning to a Homewood Suite, time to check out the Marriot chain instead." So much for my Hilton Honors Gold status.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cabbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. Let me start by thanking you for choosing our location and for being a loyal Hilton HHonors member. However, I would like to apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. Rest assured that I will be addressing your concerns with our team to ensure that the necessary steps are taken so that issues like these are not repeated.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you further regarding this matter. Could you please call the hotel at 703-671-6500 at your convenience?

Again, I am very sorry for the experience you encountered during your stay and I can only hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    137
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
338
75
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

You can't go wrong with this one. Breakfast and dinner (Monday thru Thursday for the dinner). Astoundingly great service. Extremely comfortable beds and very clean. This was the best family vacation ever, due in part by this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank dileotodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for home away from home while on vaction. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to serving you on a future visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire ,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having stayed at several Homewood Suites I would rate this particular hotel as excellent for the following reasons,
On arrival we were greeted by efficient,cheerful,front desk staff .Our suite was spacious,well furnished and the housekeeping during our five day stay was excellent .
At breakfast there was always a hot cooked option,as well as fresh fruit ,yogurt,cereal and a selection of bread and baked goods .A light meal is served in the evening Monday - Thursday and the staff working in the food area were friendly and efficient .Tea and coffee is always available in the lobby
The hotel offer free shuttle rides to King Street metro station,so visiting the museums and sites in DC is an easy stress free journey .Old town Alexandria is delightful.The shuttle always ran to schedule and the drivers were great .There are a few restaurants and two supermarkets bear to the hotel .
This hotel in my opinion is well run with very good staff

Room Tip: Try to book a pool view room.The pool is surrounded by mature trees and the view is pleasant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moberly, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Homewood suites when we took our family to D.C. for our summer vacation. This was a very nice clean hotel and a great value for the money. Their daily breakfast and nightly suppers are a great deal and the food was good as well. With the nightly meals I expected finger food but got a full meal, and fresh hot cookies after dinner. When traveling I will always look for a Homewood suites to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamapapa6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is not close to any Metro Line but the hotel does provide a shuttle to the King Street Metro Station. If one has a car it is significantly easier, but I survived ok without one. The location relative to the Metro, it is within a short walk of several restaurants that I utilized and enjoyed. For military families, including retirees, the hotel provides a special rate that makes it a bargain for the area. A hot breakfast is provided each morning is included without additional charge and they even have a dinner provided without cost from Monday thru Thursday. Quite a bargain, especially for a family. The room was wonderful, comfortable bed, spacious, and a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator and utensils.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We really like Homewood Suites as a rule, and this one was no exception. Friendly staff, clean accommodations and hood breakfasts. Lots of kids here noa matter where you go, including the hotel, so if you prefer a super quiet stay, maybe better to pick an adults-only place. But it wasn't noisy much. Nice indoor whirlpool and outside pool. Great workout room. Fantastic location, close to Old Town ahops and restaurants. Free shuttle to/from Metro to all DC locations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAWildheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a great hotel for our stay in Washington, DC. A complimentary shuttle would take us to the Metro Station. The room was clean, quiet, nice, comfortable and acomodated 4 adults very well. Complimentary breakfast a dinner snack were offered. The only complains: not enough tables to accomodate all guests during breakfasts and the serving staff during breakfast and dinner need instructions to become more pleasant and helpful with guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing