We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I have been staying at the Homewood Suites for many years and it is always a pleasure to return. The staff at the hotel are some of the best I have ever met. They are so friendly and helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, exercise facility good, and breakfast is excellent.

Weekend rates are best! You can get a suite for low $100s vs regular rate that is over $200 generally.

Great value for families!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank hortonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 821 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2007

Just spent 7 nights in one of the suites with a fireplace which was well equipped, cozy, clean and very comfortable. The inclusive breakfasts, all day coffee and evening reception were all very good. But what made our stay at this establishment was the reception staff and managment who were very helpful, friendly, efficient and genuinely interested in our well being. Unfortunately we lost the key to the safety deposit box, but the staff were excellent in sorting this problem out (although we had to pay for the services of the locksmith ourselves, as the loss was our fault, this was not really an issue) This was our first time at "homewood suites" and based on our experiences at the suites in Alexandria, will be choosing homewood suites again. I hope the management at Hilton get to read these comments as the staff at this place really do deserve recognition.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank mwt7161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I stay in the Washington DC metro area one week each month. As a member of Hilton Honors I have found the Homewood Suites to be an exceptional value and this property fits that model perfectly. It is spotlessly cleaned and the room size and bed comfort as well as shower power were greatly appreciated. Breakfast and the evening manager's reception meal are plentiful and good tasting and help keep my travel allowance low. The linens are clean and proximity to Reagan Airport allows a few extra minutes sleep in the morning. Things that management need to look into improving include televisions that are too small for a $210 per night property, television remote controls that have old batteries, and towels/wash cloths that appear to be second hand from higher cost Hilton properties. You can tell by looking at the tags to see what hotel chain they came from. Business travelers will love the high speed broadband service in the rooms. It is free and it is very fast. I will continue staying here until they raise rates which I hope does not happen soon.

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank pittston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

I don't know what it is, but Homewood Suites definitely has a formula to create that 'home away from home' feel. From the minute you walk in, you really feel like you've walked into your best friend's living room. One might complain that there are no surprises...everything is exactly the same as every other Homewood Suites, but that also means you can depend on the suites being spacious, clean, fully stocked kitchen, super comfy bed, large bath, and a full free hot breakfast.
The indoor jacuzzi was spotlessly clean, large and open 24 hours.
It's a 10 minute drive to the Old Town scene, but in my opinion the Hilton - which is lauded for it's location - was still a 'drive' from the hot spots. If you run into an emergency as we did (forgot to pack underwear), there is a Target almost within walking distance.
Wonderful service, immaculately clean room. The pool closes at Labor Day but it looked nice for the warm season.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Londonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We choose this hotel based on its location and after reading earlier reviews here. And we're glad we did. This was our first visit to DC and we took the Metro three days into the Capital. We have two teenage boys and loved the room the suite offered us. The breakfast fed all of us well and the evening reception was our evening meal two out of the four nights we were there (we ate out other two). In getting to the Metro, we highly recommend the short drive to Ballston Mall parking lot (only $8 all day). It's about a 10 minute walk through the Mall to the Metro station (all labelled, easy to follow for us first time Metro users). By the way, the Mall parking lot is off of Glebe Road. The only real issue that annoyed us about the Hotel was that the staircase doorway to the back parking lot was always ajar; this is not a keyed entryway and it bothered us as a security issue that it was always open.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

This hotel was outstanding for our family. The suite was sparkling clean and the carpet felt clean and fresh walking on it with bare feet. The bathroom was sparkling as well. The bed was extremely comfortable and plush. The suite had a small refrigerator and freezer, stove and dishwasher. The outside pool was delightfully located in a sheltered area in the rear of the hotel. The morning breakfast buffet offered many choices and the quality was very good. There is also an evening reception offering food for the guests. We checked in the wee hours of the morning and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The ladies during the day at the front desk were also very friendly. The lobby is wonderfully decorated in a cozy style and had an ample amount of seating area. The hotel also offers a business room complete with internet access with a printer and fax machine for their guests. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gltravelerIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

This was our second stay at the Homewood in Alexandria, and both have been good experiences. The rooms are nice & in good condition, the staff is helpful, and for a family our size (mom + dad + 2 large boys), it is the best place I've found so far that we fit into comfortably, is not horribly expensive like most hotels in the DC area, and is still close enough to DC and Alexandria to be convenient. I expect we will stay here again if we make another visit to the DC area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,355 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $128 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing