We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great clean hotel. Hotel staff was great. Had a very easy check in/ check out. Free breakfast buffet was a hit especially with the kids. Loved the lifeguard at the pool. As a parent, that is a definite plus In my book. Hotel has a shuttle to the metro station so there's no need to drive once you arrive. Also close to shopping and great restaurants! Definitely stay here next time we visit the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpiochik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    144
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
367
84
20
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LANCASTER PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day holiday weekend. Checkin was very fast and we received a king size suite on the fifth floor. The suite was one of the largest we have ever stayed in. It was very clean and the perfect size for a family. We appreciated the fact that the King bed is in a different room than the pullout sleeper. We all enjoyed the free full breakfast that was always refilled. I thought the pool was a little small, but our teenage daughter and her friend loved that the hot tub was open 24 hours. It does have a nice workout room that we did not have time to advantage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for you Labor Day weekend getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your time submitting this review. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was EXCELLENT! We stayed here during our 4 day vacation to Washington, DC. All of the staff was kind to our family.
The room was big, full kitchen, living area, king bedroom with a door that closes! That is super exciting when the kids are with! Bathroom was big...only thing the kids had to go through the bedroom to get to it. The toilet and shower were in one room and the sink and very large vanity outside the bathroom. There was a large closet as well. 2 TV's another exciting thing with kids. The bed was great, soft blankets and comfy! Only problem was the shower had low water pressure.
The breakfast was very good, lots of choices, hot food (changes daily), cereal, yogurt, pastries, and very good muffins!
The meal at night (Mondays-Thursdays) was very good as well, there was a full meal and a full salad bar.
The pool was cute (duck shaped). It was super cold though. The kids were in it a little. The hot tub was nice and it was open 24 hours!
They had a shuttle to the metro, we never used it. We drove to DC and parked when we wanted to go in. It was not too bad. The hotel is close to DC so the drive is not bad.
I will definitely stay at Homewood Suites in the future. Thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: Easy to get to DC! Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experice with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend family getaway to DC. Though the location was a bit far from most attractions...the hotel itself was great! Breakfast was great and well attended to. Lots to choose from!The room was great for a family. Our room was very clean. The kitchen was a great convenience! Pool was small but still nice and the kids had a great time in it. As for the DC area, the Metro is ridiculously expensive! We took one day to go to 2 Smithsonian museums and the zoo, In total that day cost us $45 in metro fares! I wish I looked into parking in DC, wonder if just driving in to the city and parking would have been better. Seemed it took pretty long too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuaFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the accommodations and service you experienced were satisfactory.

We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I stayed there last night and we found a bed bug crawling on the couch. I took it to the front desk and they verified that it was a bed bug. They refunded our night stay, but I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikki8732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were distressed to learn of the bed bug issue. We have taken immediate action both in-house and with an outside pest control company. Please understand that this is an isolated incident as we employ a very rigorous program of both prevention and detection to try and avoid problems of this nature. You may rest assured that in the wake of this occurrence we are redoubling our efforts and doing everything within our power to make sure similar problems do not arise again. We appreciate your bringing this problem to our attention and for the opportunity to respond.
Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to try and restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is just an okay stay, definetely nothing special. Room was just an average size, I have stayed at Doubletree and the rooms were bigger. The living room area was pretty small. Some of the hotel shows the wear and tear. Breakfast had a good variety. Pool was only open 11-9, which doesnt work well with kids, our kids like to swim at night, after returning from sight seeing in DC they couldnt go swimming. There was a life guard at the pool though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Whenever we are traveling, homewood suites is the first thing I look for. The rooms are great, the breakfast is good. Midweek dinners is an added bonus. About 45 min after you arrive, they call to see how things are. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjnmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites as your hotel of choice when traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing