We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of expensive but a family favorite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Waverly, VA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Kind of expensive but a family favorite.”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for just one night in October. Weeknight rates are quite high due to USG per diem setting the "floor", but my teenagers have stayed here many times over the years of coming and going from overseas assignments and they see it as a second home. The desk staff have been there for years and always welcome us back by name. The suite layout is very good for families. Having a full kitchen is extremely convenient. The breakfast buffet is adequate (I usually pick up some whole-wheat bread at Trader Joes and use the toaster). The "dinner" on the night we stayed was sandwiches, but that was fine for us, and there was the salad bar. Contrary to one review there is dessert after dinner - cookies - but they don't put it out until close to the end. The fitness room has been redone in the past year or so; equipment worked fine but the room is stuffy as ever and would benefit from the addition of a fan or two. Some suites could use better attention to cleaning - nothing huge, but fingerprints on the doors and windows. One of the best things about the location is the proximity to a huge Giant supermarket and a Target - in fact you could walk to both, as well as to an Olive Garden and some kind of South American chicken place. Free wifi is always welcome. The lobby is big and comfortable, and a good place to work or hang out. I'm sure we'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    168
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
420
94
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for three days at Homewood Suites in Alexandria. The room was nice and expansive for a suite. The kitchen area was nice and separate making it easy to do dishes, etc. The breakfast was good with a great choice of items such as eggs, waffles, etc. . The choices of beverages was a little limited but was fine for us -- juices, water, coffee, etc. The parking area is free . Wi-fi is also free and the business center is also convenient. We used the fitness center and it was good. We didn't use the shuttle as we had a car. The staff was pleasant and overall, it was a very satisfying experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0thFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for two days at Homewood Suites in Alexandria. It was a very nice hotel and the kids enjoyed it. Let me list some of the main features of the hotel.

The room was nice and expansive for a suite. The kitchen area was nice and separate making it easy to do dishes, etc. The rooms have been recently remodeled so they feel new and fresh.

The breakfast was really nice too with a great choice of items such as eggs, waffles, etc. What was really great, though, was the evening reception which actually served as dinner for us. On both days, there were kid-friendly items like hot dogs which made it easy to dine there. The choices of beverages was a little limited but was fine for us -- juices, water, coffee, etc.

The parking area is nice and free which is a huge difference from other hotels in the area. In most places, you have to pay around $20-$25 per night for this service but at Homewood, there are plenty of open parking spaces. Wi-fi is also free and the business center is also convenient.

We didn't use the shuttle as we had a car but I think it goes fairly frequently upon request. The staff was pleasant and overall, it was a very satisfying experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asad_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in August while visiting Washington DC. If you have a car its a great value. The suite we were in was spacious, plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 teenagers and very clean. The breakfast buffet had a good variety and the kids enjoyed playing a game of pool in the evening. Its conveniently located 1 mile off 395(?). It only took us 10 minutes to get into DC. We park at the L'Efant Plaza. When leaving the garage the on-ramp to 395 was right there.

Room Tip: we had a suite on the first floor, the first one of the lobby. We didn't hear any noise until t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerWoodstockCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Good morning & thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and your stay with us. We certainly appreciate your comments and feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, except of course the morning breakfast traffic.

We hope you will consider us again on any future visits to the Washington DC area.

Sincerely,

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for business and really appreciated the full breakfast and lite dinner that the hotel offered. You really need a car here because walking is dangerous and the nearest grocery is about 1.5 miles away. Cab fares are high. There is no Metro stop nearby and no shuttle to the Metro. There is a Metro stop about 4 miles away but no parking! So if you are planning to drive into DC, this would be an OK hotel for families but the lack of shuttle is a disadvantage.

Room Tip: ask for the side of building facing the Hampton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zamorna621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We certainly appreciate the feedback our guests provid. We also appreciate your business and look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family stayed four nights during a visit to Washington DC and Alexandria. Our hotel room was clean and we loved that it was a suite to give us more room. The beds were comfy and room stayed cool. Location was good for us as we had a car so getting to either the Ballston or King St. stations was easy. We had the hotel dinner one evening which was ok. Breakfasts were standard fare, no complaints. We didn't swim, but the outdoor pool area looked nice and had a lifeguard on duty. Only downfall we could see was that the hallways were not vacuumed during our stay and they were in need of vacuuming. Overall a pleasant stay and we would recommend the hotel to anyone who also wanted to visit Alexandria during a trip to DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank your for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your recent stay with us. We apprecaite all the feedback and comments our guests provide, it is how we learn of the mistakes we are making.

Please accept my apology for the lack of a vacuumed hallway. There is no excuse for that.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Recently visited with several families visitng a basketball tournament in DC and we all stayed here. The hotel was very clean and the service was great. Very good breakfast buffet with plenty of choices. Dinner was provided if you were hungry and had warm baked cookies every evening. Hotel staff answered any issue swiftly and courteously. They live by their 100% guarantee. Our freezer wasn't working and they replaced entire refrigerator promptly and gave us a credit for all our melted ice cream. They offered we did not have to ask. Great size rooms with plenty of room for a family. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRMNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your business.

I hope your basketball team had a successful tournament.

Again, thank you!

Charles gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing