We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping Place”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Ranked #10 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hopping Place”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Was in Old Alexandria and walk by Hank's on the way back. Saw oyster happy hour (Thurs) for $1 each. The place was hopping and locals kept pouring in. There was a small wait but worth it. Great service and the oysters we very good. Recommend you go there if you like seafood & oysters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    158
    36
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous crab cakes!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

About three blocks from The Lorien in Old Town Alexandria you can find Hank's Oyster Bar and the best crab cakes I have ever tasted! I always stayed away from crab cakes because in the past the ones I have tasted are 70% flour and 30% crab meat. So, my eyes immediately lit up when I tasted the first forkful. This place does not skim on their ingredients! It was 80% crab meat and a light dusting of flour on the surface to hold it all together.

For a place such as this, it gets crowded during meal times so we went there around 4pm to beat the dinner rush. The food was Great, the cocktails Unforgettable and the service Great !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whichcitynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Town Character”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped by for an oyster fix. Small, old town charm with excellent service and friendly staff. A variety of seafood choices with fries, onion rings, etc. There was a choice of six different types of oysters so we had a dozen, two of each. Oysters were good but pretty small. At $2.25 each, price adds up quickly if you had 2-3 dozen. If you are going for the oysters on the half shell, try to go later in the day and hit the $1/oyster special. Will make the trip much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Try the Virginia Oysters!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We always look for local oysters and we were pleased to stop in here. It's a delightful space with friendly staff, great oysters and a good beer selection. If you catch the $1/oyster special it's an extra treat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aterg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Po' Boy!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great Po Boy, usually don't like the bread but it was one of the best put together Po' Boys sandwiches I've had. Nice New England Bun toasted golden brown. Sauce was good and it came with a nice size cole slaw that was good. Was full but couldn't resist the rhubarb desert which was very good. Was hoping to try the chowder but was not on the menu that night. There was 30 minute wait even though it was after 8:00.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threekittyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing