We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love oysters you cannot miss this place!”
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
Ranked #10 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you love oysters you cannot miss this place!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you blink you'll miss it, but if you manage to find it (the blue row house at the intersection of King St and S. Henry St) you won't be disappointed. The bar is tiny, maybe 5 seats, and the place is always packed, but the oysters are first rate and the service is friendly and knowledgeable. They always have a good selection of oysters, both local and from out of town, and the rest of the menu is great too. I've had the Oyster Po Boy and it's the best I've ever had. Despite its diminutive size and popularity the wait is usually not to bad, just don't expect to sit comfortably at the bar while you wait. The last time we went we had a group of 8 people, which is a lot for such a tiny place, but the staff was very accommodating and happily got us a couple of tables together. Definitely a must for any oyster lover in the Washington DC metro area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimthe4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    155
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Easy to walk by and miss it - but good food and prices”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went there for dinner with friends and we walked right by the restaurant several times. Small storefront that is easily missed, but once inside, it’s a great place to meet and have dinner. Food was amazing, had the crabcake dinner and enjoyed two delicious crab cakes with house fries. Prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area but the cozy high energy of the place makes you want to come back.
The only issues we had were with the staff. According to their website, you can call 30 minutes ahead to have a table waiting for you or be added to list. My wife called while we were on our way, but the hostess was rude and told her she had to call back when we were 15 minutes out. Suggest the management update their website to reflect their current call ahead policy. Secondly, order the chocolate mousse dessert but received the dessert item that our waiter discouraged us from ordering. The waiter took it off our bill but didn’t offer to bring out the right dessert we ordered.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormstown, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Absolutely love Hank's in Old Town! The space is small but flows nicely and has a very intimate but high energy. The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and competent. The food -- THE FOOD!!! Sigh...as I remember the briny, luscious oysters; the fat, creamy Ipswitch clams; the bright, refreshing ceviche; the velvety and smokey mozzarella salad...I'm transported right back to our table, big grins on our faces as we thoroughly delight in dinner.

We discovered Friday Oyster Happy Hour, 5:30pm - 6:30pm. Stellar! Oysters for a buck each - really, really good oysters for a buck each. Go early - as in stand outside and wait for the joint to open - so you are assured of getting a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sseybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed, cosy restaurant in Old Town”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Hank's is a favorite spot in Old Town Alexandria. It is tucked away in a cute little town house. The wait staff is friendly and professional. A sampler of the oysters is a must for a starter. The lobster roll is delicious with large chunks of lobster. The salads are also very good. It is an easy walk down from the King Street Metro. Also convenient to the hotels located on King Street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not about the food, this one is about the service.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Nothing makes me more upset with a restaurant than bad service! When you hostess for a restaurant, you need to communicate with your customers. When you send mixed messages, waffle on time for seating and ultimately put people on a pay no mind list without one word of explanation or apology, you are doing the restaurant a disservice . Nothing pisses me off more than the hostess telling you 5 mins for your seating, only to seat group after group ahead of you that arrived well after, and still not seating you a 1/2 hour later? It shows a lack of respect for people and is rude! Hanks has great food, but the building is like trying to eat on a bus! Find the Red Hook truck around DC. Lobster rolls are the best in the area, and you don't have to worry about being crushed in a tiny building, with staff that don't care!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdear666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing