We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. What a plesant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We picked the Best Western, never having stayed at any of the hotels before, due to t he proximity of Old Town and the excellent price. Having living in Old Town a year before, we knew the location was ideal - a 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops! We were so happy to walk into the hotel, greeted by a nice woman who told us all about the amenities: Free parking, free breakfast, free wifi, a FREE STOCKED KITCHEN!!! This kitchen was AWESOME: tea, coffee, breakfast bars, milk, sodas, water, cookies, chips, popcorn, icecream bars, etc. etc. etc!! It was so nice to come in aroudn 4pm and have some food to hold us over until dinner. We didnt get to enjoy the workout room or pool, but I am certain that it would have been great. The rooms were clean, well furnished, and had brand new appliances / TV / DVD. We will not hesitate to stay here again and try out other Best Westerns!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBibees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Old Colony Inn Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 603 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Can't fault it! Lovely staff, lovely snacks, lovely room. I would not hesitate at all to stay again or would love to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

What a pleasant surprise. Hardly ever stay at Best Western but made reservation on line because prices were affordable for our 10 days and hoped for the best. Home away from home. Can't say enough about Suzanne, Jane and Mary at the front desk and Oliver the van driver. Everyone so helpful for our first trip to Wash. D.C. Only short distance to Metro Station and Old Alexandria and within walking distance to 3 great restaurants we tried. Ten miles from Mt. Vernon. Never waited more than 10 mins. for complimentary van service. Hotel very small and quiet with excellent "snack room" that I have never seen in any hotel. Maid service also very good. Terrific complimentary full breakfast. Only thing lacking is a swimming pool but didn't really miss it and guess that is why it was quiet - not many kids. Felt safe in a lovely neighborhood atmosphere and parking is free.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckeyedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The most remarkable hospitality of this Old Colony Inn is their free 24-Hour Open Snack Kitchen (upstairs), and no less, their full breakfast (downstairs), moreover, complimentary shuttle service to the Metro station or downtown (Old Town) Alexandria -- all for the price of your room. In our case, we paid a week-day + weekend rate of $161 + $89 respectively, which came to a total of $280 including taxes. Being so pleased with their services, we left tips throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EWRHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

stayed to visit family for one night with my mother - no where in these review or on the hotel site does it tell you that there is NO ELEVATOR - so, i was with my 81 year old mother. this is a problem. room was clean - nice TV, adequate bathroom, etc. the snack area on second floor was nice. when we checked in the only avail rooms were on second floor. to get to breakfast you have to go down the basement - no windows. Also, is is ended by 9:30 which I think is kind of early. They had no breakfast pastry of any type. Most of the food was not all that tasty and ourselves and others there decided they would not eat any of it. I had some nice strawberries. My mother did not like any of it at all. I think hampton inn and holiday inn express and hilton garden inn have had nicer complimentary breakfast - better to offer nothing at all. finally, a bit difficult to find this hotel - it is recessed back from the street and no signage.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlenieGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I come here frequently on business. The BW Old Colony Inn has everything that you could ask for plus it is reasonably priced. The full complimentary breakfast is certainly a bonus. The snack room on the second floor is a can't miss for those late night cravings. The staff is the best; always willing to be of assistance. Shulttle service is available from Reagan and the Braddock Metro. They will even take you to the Old Town area. Both the morning and afternoon driver will provide exceptional service and probably the nicest two individuals you will meet in the DC area. If you want an impersonal hotel chain stay go somewhere else. If you want to feel like you are staying with family stay at the Best Western Old Colony Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

This hotel has great staff. The shuttle was always there when I was needing it, the staff always were attentive and friendly. The location was great. Just a few blocks from King Street. The breakfast was good. The workout area had enough machines to get a work out. Hot water with good pressure. The beds were a little hard, but I can sleep on anything. Noise was not bad at all. If you are looking for something basic with tons of extras, this is a great place with a good price. Oh...did I forget, free internet as well as a free stocked snack area? This alone could save you major bucks!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $94 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Cost $10 Per Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing