We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for just one night...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for just one night...”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We arrived late (12 midnight) and thankfully our GPS helped us to find the hotel which is hidden on a side road, behind the trees, parallel to the main road. The outside of the hotel was like a pretty, brick carriage house and we found a parking spot right outside the lobby.
The desk attendant unlocked the night door for us and she booked us a room quickly. She was very kind and attentive. The room was on the second floor, facing the back of the hotel (view of the parking spaces in back). That was fine since we were only staying overnight.
The room was average...the 2 double beds were ok -- a bit sagging. The decor was different and more standard traditional than the lobby which was very modern and sleek. Clean room though. Like others have said, the bathroom was very standard and needs an update. Again, we were there for one night so it wasn't a problem at all.
Breakfast was a typical one -- cereals, muffins, make your own waffles. The coffee was AMAZING however and I went back for refills. Made a great morning.
The hotel was very quiet, despite only a couple of doors closing. This made for good sleep and the curtains blocked out the light so it was easy to sleep in late!
The staff were all super friendly and there was a friendly vibe even among the guests.
The hotel is a 5 minute ride from the White House so it's super easy.
We didn't avail of the shuttle since we had a car.
In all, it was an inexpensive stay and this hotel saved the day for two weary travelers!
Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear LP,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay with us. We were happy to have your here and hope you can come back and spend more time with us in the future. We will even make some extra amazing coffee for you.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    231
    84
    36
    21
See reviews for
229
178
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

at first had hard time finding the hotel maybe it was our GPS fault. Hotel is old, room was clean, free wifi, staff are nice, bfast was okay,quiet location and short drive to king street where all the restaurants are, free shuttle and close to airport. All in all nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteH712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed one night while in town for musical entertainment. The hotel has an interesting ambiance, as the corridors twist and turn through the building. The staff was friendly and the room was very clean. We had no problems at all with the facilities and the staff were all friendly. Breakfast was the usual buffet, with both hot scrambled eggs and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
LeeH,
Thank you for taking time to give us a review of our hotel. We are glad you had and good time and enjoyed your stay with us here at Best Western. Please come see us again when you come to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location makes getting to get to Crystal City and Reagan airport a short drive. The rooms are a little older but CLEAN. Clean is important to me. Breakfast had the usual choices including eggs, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Washington St. are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have never written a hotel review before, and we are a family who go for vacation at least 3 times every year. We always look for budget hotels and cleanliness is the top most criteria in our requirement. Our daughter found this one for us for our recent trip to DC. I am so thankful and happy for her find.
It is clean, spacious and has a beautifully preserved old world charm. I loved the white linens. The breakfast was awesome too. There was everything for everybody, and plenty. Spacious dinning area was another great plus point.
The hotel is just few miles from Lincoln Memorial, and there is a beautiful view of DC from a marina close to the hotel.
I will suggest this hotel to everyone who are looking for a pocket friendly feel good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
happytravler142014,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy we could be of service to you and your family. We love it when guest staying with us enjoy their stay as much as we enjoy you being here. Come on back and see us again when you come to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good location with shuttle to Old Town Alexandria and environs. Nice breakfast, hotel dated but clean with helpful staff. No ice machine but bags if ice available in freezer. Internet was fair. Quiet, set back from main road on a little side road.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N6174CXmicheleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I just wanted to say thank you for a great experience after coming to Virginia to lay my father to rest at Arlington Cemetery, the staff here was excellent and very accomodating. during this stressful time, we encountered that we had locked our suitcases and left the key at home, I had called down the night before and they said maintenance will be here at 6am, mike who was on that day was quick to respond with a hack saw which I then was able to retreive my dress cloths for that day, thanks again for being to fast and prompt to respond mike, we greatly appreciate you all!!!
I can't say enough about the staff from the arrival, to our departure, from front desk, maintenance, houskeeping, driver and breakfast attendant, you all did a remarkable job and were very friendly, and I wish you all the best in life, god bless and I hope to stay there again one day.
I hope I did not forget anyone to praise...great job everyone!!!

Sincerely

Brad Childers from Ohio

Room Tip: maybe get a room close to your parking but even on the second floor your still not much futher away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Brad C,
Thank YOU so much for your kind words. We are happy we could be here for you when you needed us most. I am glad Mike could get your suitcase open with out any trouble and you could get to your close and had everything you needed. My staff and I again send our condolences to you and your family. We would be please to have you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Property: Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Cost $10 Per Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing