We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Clean, friendly, and a good value. Free breakfast was satisfying and varied. The shuttle was very convenient and the driver had helpful suggestions. Easy shuttle to Metro station to DC. Service was excellent. Giant grocery store, restaurants within easy walk/shuttle ride. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd floor, so specify 1st floor if this would be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    231
    84
    35
    20
See reviews for
229
176
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Price wasn't bad for mid-July and the fact that parking, in room Wifi and breakfast were all free! Staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to King Street was quick & convenient. Traveling alone with the kids I doubt I'll come back to this hotel. No elevator to the 2nd floor, no pool and it was a little tricky to find. Wouldn't be bad for business travel or a couple who wants a clean place to stay while vacationing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kimberly S,
I am glad to hear you had a nice time at our hotel. I see you also enjoyed the Shuttle to King Street where I am sure you had a nice time. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for giving us your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed the decor, and charm of this "Old style" Alexandria hotel. The service and the amenities make it appealing. The information& map we received upon leaving were excellent. I would definitely recommend Old Colony Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 973marys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Older hotel that is very well maintained. Very clean hallway and room carpet. Nice paint. Small sink area and old style toilet, but clean bathroom and very manageable for three of us. Dbl beds. Beds clean and comfortable. No microwave or frig. Great shuttle service to metro station. Really nice hot breakfast, each day changing b/t eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, etc. Only problem for us was that there were no fast food restaurants at all w/in walking distance, and didn't find any near us when driving either. Plenty of small specialty restaurants w/in walking distance. Were glad we had extra apples and snacks on hand.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kathleen C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate hearing your response regarding our hotel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Old Colony Inn for 5 nights in May, 2014. The location was excellent. We parked the car and didn't need it until we left. The shuttle took us to and from the Metro station which we used to sightsee and go to a Nationals ballgame. The hotel is a little dated, by that I mean small room, no fridge, and very cramped bathroom. But, it was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay there again. I only gave it 4 stars because I think it could use a cosmetic remodel and it is on a service road, which did make it kind of hard to find. The price was also good, as the area is quite expensive. No elevator, which didn't bother us; it might some. No pool, either, or much lounging area in general.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sue B,
I am so glad you came and stayed with us while visiting Washington DC. I am happy to hear that our staff made you stay pleasant and was giving you the kind of service you deserve. We are a older hotel as is most the buildings down here in Old Town Alexandria. But just to let you know we are starting on renovations to make improvements. So yes, please come back and visit again and see what we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My son and I had a great trip to Washington D.C. The hotel staff and drivers were very friendly and helpful. They picked me up from airport, they took me to the subway and it was very convenient. from the subway i went to King Street, Pentagon, Arlington Cemetary and to Smithonians. My flight was later that day and they still took care of us. Even though we checked out. They let me keep my bags and gave me a ride to the subway and they picked us up and took us to the airport upon departure. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed four night in the Best Western Old Colony Inn on my trip to the D.C. area. The hotel is conveniently located just 5 Miles from the National Mall. A scheduled shuttle bus connects the hotel with Braddock Road Metro station; on the way back I had to call the hotel for a shuttle, which arrived minutes after the call.
Breakfast is above Best Western standard. The offered a good choice of juices, coffee, cereals, bread and hot items (changing daily).
The room was clean and quiet. As the hotel is located on a bypass of Washington Parkway, traffic is not too noisy.
Internet connection was fast and stable. Parking is free; some lots are even covered. I will definitely stay here again on my next D.C. trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayVonArbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Property: Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing