We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Focused on Customer Service and Support” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Focused on Customer Service and Support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great stay at the Old Colony Inn. All of the staff were very helpful and caring. The shuttle driver was very informative about the all of the sites in Alexandria. The staff would send out the shuttle whenever we wanted a ride back from Old Town to the Inn, especially during the threat of inclement weather. The morning breakfast was just as good as the Hampton in Patriot's Point, SC and better than the Country Inn & Suites in Akron, OH. We certainly appreciated their housekeeping staff since we forgot two items at the Inn and when we called back the next day, those items were found by housekeeping and kept safe until we returned two days later. We'll certainly stay at the Old Colony Inn next time we come to Alexandria. BTW: I forgot to mention how reasonably priced they are for all that you get: breakfast, shuttle service, wifi, and parking for their normal room rate. Can't get that package anywhere else in Alexandria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BigZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit. I am glad we helped make your stay a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    215
    79
    32
    18
See reviews for
217
163
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been doing my own research regarding hotels in the washington D.C. area, this hotel had the best customer reviews and it was true.
Clean rooms, DVD library and DVD player in room, lots of TV channels, great free breakfast, free wifi, free parking, free shuttle to D.C. (we had a rental car), great customer service and even the opportunity to buy small gifts.
If you don't care for a brand new hotel, but great service with good pricing. This is it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Tuna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear 5Tuna13,
I am glad you had a chance to stay with us here at the Best Western Old Colony Inn. Yes we do try to have superior customer service and love taking care of our guest. Hope you come back and visit us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days during one of the hottest weeks this spring - temps reached 90 degrees. As other reviewers indicated, this is an older property and is going to have its problems. The AC went out one night but was fixed by the next day. Without asking, we were refunded 1/2 the night's room rate. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was just OK. However, the front desk staff were very helpful in guiding us on where to go shopping and eat. The (free) hotel shuttle was available for almost anywhere we wanted to be taken, which was convenient for the Metro and King Street. Since the high temps were unexpected and we packed for colder weather, one of the drivers offered to take us to a clothing store to get some cooler shirts. Note: If driving in from the South on Washington St., make sure you stay in the far right lane and bear right into the HOV lane when it splits or you won't be able to (legally) turn into the hotel parking lot from Washington. We passed it the 1st time and ended up lost in downtown DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich6310_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during our heat wave. I am so glad that our staff took such good care of you. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and that you come back to visit us soon here at the Best Western Old Colony Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Property is older, but true to the history of the area! While our room was comfortable we could hear hallway and outside noises. The shuttle service was amazing! Drivers were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AnnetteO997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quality hotel; however, minor problems were encountered: Desk lamp did not work, fan in bathroom was noisy and sink stopper did not work. Staff indicated they would make a rate adjustment for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Morton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review for our hotel. I am very sorry you experienced problems. Letting our front desk staff know was a first step in having maintenance take care of the items. Please give us a call when you are coming back to the area and we will be glad to take care of you with a special rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel last June with family. Wife and two kids age 15 and 17. Hotel was older but clean and beds were very comfortable. On On each floor, only three floors, they had a n area with refrigerator and freezer with all kinds of drinks, ice cream, snacks, noodles, cookies, granola bars. WOW! That's what our kids said. That was nice for taking in to DC which we did every day. The Metro was about 20 minute walk, which we did half the time we were there, and the other half we took the shuttle , which was never more than a 5 minute wait. There were a few restaurants nearby to eat, we ate at a pub, and it was good, and a Trader Joe's close by, and also a large grocery store. Great place to stay if visiting DC. We would get off the train in downtown Alexandria, walk thru town and find a nice restaurant to eat , and then walk back to our hotel. Was a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelinmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are located close to so many attractions, Metro and the Airport. Our Free shuttle is a good way to travel if you do not want to walk. It sounds like your family enjoyed the walks around "Old Alexandria". We will look forward to a return visit soon.

Wanda Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing